Home / Dog food / Blue Buffalo / BLUE Natural Veterinary Diet Dry Low Fat Dog Food GI Gastrointestinal Support Low Fat

product photo
coming soon
no verified photo yet — never a mockup

Blue Buffalo · brand facts & recall history →

Blue Buffalo BLUE Natural Veterinary Diet Dry Low Fat Dog Food GI Gastrointestinal Support Low Fat

Dry food · adult dogs

A feeding-trial-validated, whitefish-first dry food that's denser than 6% (you feed fewer cups). We don't have a cost per day for this food yet.

THE FACTS, ONE SENTENCE — data as JSON · reference dog 40 lb · updated 2026-07-11

Tell us about your dogevery number on this page updates live ↓
40 lb
For a 40-lb adult: 3¼ cupsper day not pricedper day 9 daysbag lasts passes 2 fit checks ↓

Joint, kidney, dental or heart concerns? Labels can't honestly answer those — that's vet territory. Why we don't checkmark them →

The evidence

The Verified Label

Every food on this site gets this exact panel — same fields, same order, sourced from the official label — so brands finally become comparable. Dots show where this food sits among all 494 dry foods we've verified.

Verified LabelThe standardized pet-food panel
VPFD № BLUE-B
verified 2026-07-11

Composition — dry-matter basis

why dry matter
Kibble is ~10% water, canned food ~78%, so as-fed numbers are on two different scales. As-fed values shown small. How the conversion works →
Protein 26.7%label: 24% min lower than 77% of dry foods
Fat 6.7%label: 6% min lower than 100% of dry foods
Fiber 6.7%label: 6% max higher than 83% of dry foods
Est. carbohydrates ash not disclosed → 8% assumed, so this is an estimate ≈51.1%computed anchor available once more brands disclose ash
Calcium / Phosphorus extended guarantees: Ca 0.7% · P 0.5% · Ω-3 0.5% 1.40 : 1ratio, as fed within the AAFCO adult range (1:1 – 2:1)

Calories & cost — for your 40-lb adult dog

Calorie density 301 kcal/cup3307 kcal/kg lighter than 94% of dry foods (median 388) — you feed more cups
Daily serving3¼ cups
Cost per day—
6-lb bag lasts9 days

No cost per 1,000 kcal yet: we haven't matched this food to a current Amazon listing. Serving math uses standard veterinary energy formulas — see the formula.

Standards & ingredients

AAFCO statement
what this means
Two claims exist: formulated to meet a profile, or fed to real dogs in an AAFCO trial. Which is stronger, and how rare it is →
Feeding trials ✓ · maintenance
First five ingredients (by pre-cooking weight)Whitefish · Chicken Meal · Pea Protein · Potatoes · Tapioca Starch
Named animal protein first; named meals onlyYes
Legumes in first 10 (FDA DCM inquiry)3 (pea protein, pea starch, peas)
BHA / BHT preservativesNone on label
Carrageenan (thickener)None
Ethoxyquin
why unknown
A preservative added by a fish-meal supplier need not appear on the finished label, so no label can prove its absence. Why we show gaps →
None — no fish meal in this recipe

Safety

FDA recalls — Blue Buffalo, since 2023None on record
ManufacturerNot confirmed from label
Label transparency 11 of 15 standard fields
Green = verified favorable · amber = gap in the record · red = verified unfavorable · gray = not disclosed / neutral fact.
Source: official label source (official) · anchors: 494 verified dry dog foods (360 priced) · how to read this label

The fit

For your dog, specifically

Checked for a 40-lb adult with a sensitive stomach — the same published criteria our finder uses. Change your dog above and these update.

✓
Validated for adult dogsAAFCO statement covers adult maintenance.
✓
Passes our sensitive-stomach checksNamed animal protein first, and no unnamed by-products in the ingredient list.
·
Contains chickenNot selected as a concern for your dog — shown here for reference.

The source material

The full ingredient list

Every flag above is computed from this list. Why order is by pre-cooking weight, and how splitting bends it →

Whitefish, Chicken Meal, Pea Protein, Potatoes, Tapioca Starch, Pea Starch, Peas, Natural Flavor, Potato Starch, Dried Plain Beet Pulp, Flaxseed (source of Omega 3 Fatty Acids), Pea Fiber, Canola Oil (source of Omega 6 Fatty Acids), Apple Pomace, Calcium Carbonate, Salt, Cranberries, Pumpkin, Dried Dehydrated Alfalfa Meal, Potassium Citrate, DL-Methionine, L-Threonine, Choline Chloride, Alfalfa Nutrient Concentrate, Dried Kelp, Hydrolyzed Yeast, Fructooligosaccharides, Citric Acid, Taurine, Vitamin E Supplement, L-Tryptophan, Sweet Potatoes, Carrots, preserved with Mixed Tocopherols, Zinc Amino Acid Chelate, Iron Amino Acid Chelate, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of Vitamin C), L-Carnitine, Dicalcium Phosphate, Vegetable Juice for color, Blueberries, Barley Grass, Parsley, Turmeric, Dried Kelp, Yucca Schidigera Extract, Copper Amino Acid Chelate, Manganese Amino Acid Chelate, Niacin (Vitamin B3), Calcium Pantothenate (Vitamin B5), L-Lysine, Biotin (Vitamin B7), Vitamin A Supplement, Dried Yeast, Zinc Sulfate, Dried Enterococcus faecium fermentation product, Dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product, Dried Aspergillus niger fermentation extract, Dried Trichoderma longibrachiatum fermentation extract, Ferrous Sulfate, Dried Bacillus subtilis fermentation extract, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Vitamin D3 Supplement, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Calcium Iodate, Copper Sulfate, Folic Acid (Vitamin B9), Manganese Sulfate, Sodium Selenite, Oil of Rosemary

14 ingredients in this list are ones we hold sourced evidence on , and 3 of them are genuinely contested rather than merely unpopular online.

  • Pea protein · ingredient 3ContestedA concentrated protein fraction extracted from peas, used to raise a food's protein content without added meat. As a pea-derived pulse ingredient it falls within the group of legume ingredients examined in the FDA's open 2018 investigation into diet-associated canine DCM; metabolomic work has flagged pea-related compounds, but causation has not been shown.
  • Potato · ingredient 4ContestedA starchy tuber used as the carbohydrate base in many grain-free foods (it is a vegetable, not a cereal grain). The FDA's open 2018 investigation into diet-associated canine DCM listed potatoes 'in various forms' as main ingredients of interest alongside pulses such as peas and lentils.
  • Peas · ingredient 6ContestedA pulse (legume) used in many grain-free foods as a plant protein and carbohydrate source. Peas are central to an open FDA investigation, begun in July 2018, into a possible link between diets high in peas, other pulses, and potatoes and canine dilated cardiomyopathy (DCM); 93% of reported products contained peas and/or lentils.
  • Named Meat/Poultry Meal (e.g., Chicken Meal, Lamb Meal) · ingredient 2Well supportedA rendered, water- and fat-reduced concentrate from a named species (AAFCO, e.g., 'chicken meal'). Because most moisture is removed it is a dense protein source (poultry meals commonly around 57-69% crude protein) and it names the species for allergy avoidance.
  • Beet Pulp · ingredient 10Well supportedThe fibrous material left after sugar is extracted from sugar beets, included as a moderately fermentable fiber source (commonly around 5 to 7.5% of the diet). Controlled feeding studies show it supports firm, good-quality stools and short-chain fatty acid production without impairing overall nutrient digestibility, so the 'cheap filler' characterization is not supported by the evidence.
  • Mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin E) · ingredient 34Well supportedA blend of vitamin E forms (alpha-, beta-, gamma-, delta-tocopherol) used as a natural-source antioxidant to slow fat rancidity, commonly chosen as an alternative to synthetic preservatives. EFSA concluded that tocopherol-rich extracts are safe for all animal species and the consumer and are efficacious antioxidants in feed.

Nutritional twins

Priced close matches

This food has no verified price yet — these are the closest label matches that do.

Label-composition matches only: same species, form, and growth stage; same primary protein where both are known; grain-free preserved; protein within 4 points and fat within 4 points, and estimated carbs within 8 points, on a dry-matter basis. Not a medical or quality recommendation.

The maker

Who makes this — and how they back it up

The five questions the WSAVA nutrition guidelines tell you to ask a pet-food company. Every answer is sourced or marked as an undisclosed gap — never guessed. This is the "is it made competently?" axis that star-rating sites skip.

Owns its manufacturing Mixed

Same source also states: 'Blue Buffalo sources and produces everything from its own facilities or from partners across the United States.' Indicates a mix of own facilities plus third-party co-manufacturers.

source →
Employs a qualified nutritionist Yes — sourced

Blue Buffalo's professional site states doctorate-level animal nutritionists on staff. Gaylord, DVM, DACVIM (Nutrition) — a board-certified veterinary nutritionist — and Matt Panasevich, PhD, work at Blue Buffalo.

source →
AAFCO feeding trials Yes — sourced

10 of 312 labels we checked carry an AAFCO feeding-trial substantiation statement.

source →
Publishes quality-control testing Yes — sourced

covers: pathogen/bacteriology (microbiology), finished-product nutrient analysis, shelf-life. Blue Buffalo veterinary site. bluebuffalo.com/why-choose-blue/quality-and-safety/ also describes a 6-point check incl. supplier ingredient testing per shipment, not quoted.

source →
Peer-reviewed research Yes — sourced

15 PubMed papers (animal/pet filtered) list Blue Buffalo Co. (General Mills) in an author address; we checked 15 and 13 really name the company. A floor, not a total.

source →
Parent company General Mills, Inc. ↗ Founded 2002 ↗ Headquarters / plant Wilton, CT ↗ FDA recalls on record 1 on record

Full company scorecard, sources, and every SKU we've verified for this brand: Blue Buffalo brand page →