Home / Dog food / Purina Pro Plan / Purina Pro Plan Development 30/20 Chicken & Rice Formula Dog Food

product photo
coming soon
no verified photo yet — never a mockup

Purina Pro Plan · brand facts & recall history →

Purina Pro Plan Development 30/20 Chicken & Rice Formula Dog Food

Dry food · puppy dogs · made by Nestlé Purina PetCare Company

A feeding-trial-validated, chicken-first dry food that's denser than 94% (you feed fewer cups). We don't have a cost per day for this food yet.

THE FACTS, ONE SENTENCE — data as JSON · reference dog 40 lb · updated 2026-07-11

Tell us about your dogevery number on this page updates live ↓
40 lb
For a 40-lb adult: 2 cupsper day not pricedper day —bag lasts passes 2 fit checks ↓

Joint, kidney, dental or heart concerns? Labels can't honestly answer those — that's vet territory. Why we don't checkmark them →

The evidence

The Verified Label

Every food on this site gets this exact panel — same fields, same order, sourced from the official label — so brands finally become comparable. Dots show where this food sits among all 494 dry foods we've verified.

Verified LabelThe standardized pet-food panel
VPFD № PURINA
verified 2026-07-11

Composition — dry-matter basis

why dry matter
Kibble is ~10% water, canned food ~78%, so as-fed numbers are on two different scales. As-fed values shown small. How the conversion works →
Protein 34.1%label: 30% min higher than 80% of dry foods
Fat 22.7%label: 20% min higher than 97% of dry foods
Fiber 3.4%label: 3% max lower than 94% of dry foods
Est. carbohydrates ash not disclosed → 8% assumed, so this is an estimate ≈30.7%computed anchor available once more brands disclose ash
Calcium / Phosphorus extended guarantees: Ca 1.1% · P 0.9% · EPA 0.1% · DHA 0.1% 1.22 : 1ratio, as fed within the AAFCO adult range (1:1 – 2:1)

Calories & cost — for your 40-lb adult dog

Calorie density 472 kcal/cup4374 kcal/kg denser than 94% of dry foods (median 388) — you feed fewer cups
Daily serving2 cups
Cost per day—
Bag lasts—

No cost per 1,000 kcal yet: we haven't matched this food to a current Amazon listing. Serving math uses standard veterinary energy formulas — see the formula.

Standards & ingredients

AAFCO statement
what this means
Two claims exist: formulated to meet a profile, or fed to real dogs in an AAFCO trial. Which is stronger, and how rare it is →
Feeding trials ✓ · all_life_stages
First five ingredients (by pre-cooking weight)Chicken · rice · poultry by-product meal · corn protein meal · whole grain corn
Named animal protein first; named meals onlyYes
Legumes in first 10 (FDA DCM inquiry)None
BHA / BHT preservativesNone on label
Carrageenan (thickener)None
Ethoxyquin
why unknown
A preservative added by a fish-meal supplier need not appear on the finished label, so no label can prove its absence. Why we show gaps →
Can't be determined from label

Safety

FDA recalls — Purina Pro Plan, since 20232 on record — see recall history
ManufacturerNestlé Purina PetCare Company, St. Louis, MO 63164 USA
Label transparency 13 of 15 standard fields
Green = verified favorable · amber = gap in the record · red = verified unfavorable · gray = not disclosed / neutral fact.
Source: official label source (official) · anchors: 494 verified dry dog foods (360 priced) · how to read this label

The fit

For your dog, specifically

Checked for a 40-lb adult with a sensitive stomach — the same published criteria our finder uses. Change your dog above and these update.

✓
Validated for adult dogsAAFCO statement covers adult maintenance.
✓
Passes our sensitive-stomach checksNamed animal protein first, and no unnamed by-products in the ingredient list.
·
Contains chickenNot selected as a concern for your dog — shown here for reference.

The source material

The full ingredient list

Every flag above is computed from this list. Why order is by pre-cooking weight, and how splitting bends it →

Chicken, rice, poultry by-product meal, corn protein meal, whole grain corn, beef fat preserved with mixed-tocopherols, dried egg product, corn germ meal, fish meal, natural flavor, fish oil, soybean oil, mono and dicalcium phosphate, calcium carbonate, potassium chloride, salt, choline chloride, VITAMINS [Vitamin E supplement, niacin (Vitamin B-3), Vitamin A supplement, calcium pantothenate (Vitamin B-5), thiamine mononitrate (Vitamin B-1), Vitamin B-12 supplement, riboflavin supplement (Vitamin B-2), pyridoxine hydrochloride (Vitamin B-6), folic acid (Vitamin B-9), menadione sodium bisulfite complex (Vitamin K), Vitamin D-3 supplement, biotin (Vitamin B-7)], MINERALS [zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, manganese sulfate, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite], taurine, magnesium sulfate, DL-Methionine, L-Lysine monohydrochloride, L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (Vitamin C), garlic oil

5 ingredients in this list are ones we hold sourced evidence on , and none of them is contested in the veterinary literature.

  • Mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin E) · ingredient 6Well supportedA blend of vitamin E forms (alpha-, beta-, gamma-, delta-tocopherol) used as a natural-source antioxidant to slow fat rancidity, commonly chosen as an alternative to synthetic preservatives. EFSA concluded that tocopherol-rich extracts are safe for all animal species and the consumer and are efficacious antioxidants in feed.
  • Named Meat/Poultry Meal (e.g., Chicken Meal, Lamb Meal) · ingredient 9Well supportedA rendered, water- and fat-reduced concentrate from a named species (AAFCO, e.g., 'chicken meal'). Because most moisture is removed it is a dense protein source (poultry meals commonly around 57-69% crude protein) and it names the species for allergy avoidance.
  • Fish oil (EPA + DHA omega-3) · ingredient 11Well supportedMarine-source omega-3 fatty acids (EPA and DHA) from fish oil. A randomized, double-blinded controlled trial (Roush 2010) found improved weight-bearing in dogs with osteoarthritis, and a 2022 meta-analysis identified clear clinical analgesic efficacy for omega-3-enriched diets and supplements.
  • By-Product Meal (Meat / Poultry By-Product Meal) · ingredient 3NeutralA rendered concentrate made from clean, non-muscle parts of the carcass (organs, necks, feet, and similar), defined by AAFCO. It is more variable and lower-transparency than a named muscle meal, but it is not inherently unsafe or low-nutrition: controlled feeding trials in dogs report high protein digestibility (roughly 92-95%) for poultry by-product-based diets, and some by-product organs are nutrient-dense.
  • Taurine (supplemental) · ingredient 20NeutralA sulfur amino acid that dogs can normally synthesize from methionine and cysteine, so it is not classically essential for them. However, some breeds (e.g., golden retrievers) and some diets are linked to low taurine status and dilated cardiomyopathy: an observational study (Ontiveros 2020) associated non-traditional, largely grain-free diets with taurine deficiency and DCM-consistent echocardiographic changes in golden retrievers, though causation and mechanism remain under investigation.

Wet ingredients like fresh chicken shrink once cooked — which is why named meals appearing high on the list matter: they keep meaningful animal protein after moisture is removed.

Nutritional twins

Priced close matches

This food has no verified price yet — these are the closest label matches that do.

34.4% protein (DM)$0.62 / 1,000 kcal
33.3% protein (DM)$2.09 / 1,000 kcal
34.6% protein (DM)$6.25 / 1,000 kcal

Label-composition matches only: same species, form, and growth stage; same primary protein where both are known; grain-free preserved; protein within 4 points and fat within 4 points, and estimated carbs within 8 points, on a dry-matter basis. Not a medical or quality recommendation.

The maker

Who makes this — and how they back it up

The five questions the WSAVA nutrition guidelines tell you to ask a pet-food company. Every answer is sourced or marked as an undisclosed gap — never guessed. This is the "is it made competently?" axis that star-rating sites skip.

Owns its manufacturing Owns its plants

Nestlé Purina owns and operates its own U.S. factories (21+ as of 2019).

source →
Employs a qualified nutritionist Yes — sourced

Arleigh Reynolds, DVM, Purina Senior Research Scientist, described as board-certified in veterinary nutrition. Source is Nestlé Purina PetCare (maker of Pro Plan).

source →
AAFCO feeding trials Yes — sourced

40 of 59 labels we checked carry an AAFCO feeding-trial substantiation statement.

source →
Publishes quality-control testing Not checked

The company website blocked our automated check, so we could not read its quality-control page. This is not a "no".

Peer-reviewed research Yes — sourced

144 PubMed papers (animal/pet filtered) list Nestlé Purina in an author address; we checked 144 and 143 really name the company. A floor, not a total.

source →
Parent company Nestlé Purina PetCare ↗ Founded 1986 ↗ Headquarters / plant St. Louis, Missouri, USA ↗ FDA recalls on record 3 on record

Full company scorecard, sources, and every SKU we've verified for this brand: Purina Pro Plan brand page →