Terms of Use

Last updated 29 August 2026

Plain version first: this site publishes pet-food label data and the arithmetic we run on it. It is not veterinary advice, prices and recall records go out of date, and you are welcome to reuse the figures we publish if you say where they came from. The rest of this page is the same thing said carefully.

What the data is

Every nutrition figure here is read from an official product label or a manufacturer’s published material, and each product page links its source. Computed values — dry-matter basis, estimated carbohydrate, cost per 1,000 kcal — are derived from those figures using the formulas set out in our methodology, and are labelled as computed rather than stated. Where a manufacturer does not disclose something we show it as not disclosed; we do not substitute a typical value and present it as fact.

We currently hold 2,354 verified labels. Manufacturers reformulate, and a guaranteed analysis that was correct when we read it can be wrong later. If a figure here does not match the bag in front of you, the bag wins — please tell us and we will correct the data rather than the single page.

What it is not

This is not veterinary advice and it is not a diagnostic tool. Our calculators and the diet analyser compute nutritional arithmetic from label data and standard energy formulas; they do not know your animal. Feeding decisions for a pet with a diagnosed condition — kidney disease, pancreatitis, diabetes, urinary disease, food allergy, or any illness under investigation — belong to your veterinarian, who can examine the animal and run tests that a label cannot replace.

We deliberately refuse to score several things that other sites will happily rate, including joint, renal, dental and cardiac support, and allergy diagnosis. Why we refuse them is published in full.

Prices, availability and recalls

Retail prices are dated snapshots from a retailer’s listing at the moment we recorded them, and every price on this site displays the date it was verified. Prices change constantly, listings disappear, and pack sizes are substituted. Always check the current price at the retailer before buying.

Recall records come from the FDA’s public feed and are refreshed on a schedule, so this site is a convenience rather than the authority. For a live answer, and for anything urgent, go to the FDA’s own recall page. If your pet has eaten a recalled product and is unwell, contact your vet rather than reading further here.

Affiliate links

Some links to retailers earn us a commission if you buy. They never affect what appears on this site or how anything is ranked — every ranking is computed from verified data, and the arithmetic does not know which products pay. The full affiliate disclosure sets out the programmes involved.

Using our data

The datasets we publish through our JSON endpoints, and the figures in our reports and ingredient pages, are offered under CC BY 4.0. Use them commercially or otherwise; the licence asks only for attribution to Verified Pet Food Data and a link. Site design, written analysis and editorial copy are not covered by that licence and remain ours.

Automated access to the published endpoints is fine and is what they exist for. Please do not scrape at a rate that degrades the site for other people, and please respect robots.txt.

Liability, in the ordinary way

The site is provided as is. We take real care with accuracy — it is the entire point of the project — but we cannot warrant that every figure is correct or current, and we are not liable for decisions made on the basis of the information here. Where the law gives you rights that this paragraph cannot remove, it does not remove them.

Changes and contact

These terms may change; the date at the top shows when they last did. Questions, corrections and licensing enquiries all go through the contact page, which reaches a person rather than a queue.