Dog Food, Read Off the Label
We do not rate dog food. We read the label, record what it says, compute the numbers the bag does not print — dry-matter basis, estimated carbohydrate, cost per 1,000 kcal — and show you the source for every figure. Where a brand does not disclose something, the page says not disclosed rather than guessing.
One number worth carrying around before you read anything else: of the 822 dog foods here whose AAFCO statement we could verify, 16% were substantiated by an actual feeding trial. The rest were formulated to meet a nutrient profile on paper. Both are legal; only one involved feeding the food to dogs. Every guide below tells you which of its picks is which.
Buying guides
Each one publishes its qualifying criteria before it names a winner.
-
Best dry dog food
Canidae All Life Stages. Clears every quality check at ~$0.81/1,000 kcal — about half the premium price.
-
Best high-protein dog food
Purina Pro Plan Sport 30/20. Feeding-trial proven, grain-inclusive, recall-clean, and the best value of the group.
-
Best grain-free dog food
Wellness CORE. Low legume load — the ingredient pattern the FDA’s open DCM inquiry actually centres on.
-
Best puppy food
Wellness Complete Health Puppy. The best-value formula proven in real feeding trials, with the DHA figure shown.
-
Best large-breed puppy food
Purina ONE Large Breed Puppy. The cheapest food that clears every large-breed growth-safety check.
-
Best senior dog food
Blue Buffalo Wilderness Senior. High protein to hold muscle, plus guaranteed glucosamine for joints.
-
Best small-breed dog food
Fromm Gold Small Breed. The most calorie-dense quality option, from a confirmed-nutritionist brand.
-
Best dog food for a sensitive stomach
Purina Pro Plan Sensitive Skin & Stomach. The cheapest feeding-trial-proven formula in the category.
-
Best dog food for allergies
Merrick Limited Ingredient Salmon. One single fish protein, grain-inclusive, and the fewest ingredients we could verify.
-
Best dog food for weight loss
Blue Buffalo True Solutions Weight Control. Low calories with high protein to keep muscle, plus high fibre for satiety.
Foods that clear a specific check
The rubric pages: a threshold, its source, then every food that passes.
-
Best value
Cheapest per 1,000 kcal among foods that clear the quality floor.
-
Sensitive stomach
Short ingredient list, one named protein, no generic by-products.
-
Chicken avoidance
No chicken anywhere in the verified ingredient list.
-
Weight management
AAFCO “light” calorie ceiling with fat held to 7–12% dry matter.
-
Low fat
Under 10% fat on a dry-matter basis.
-
Puppy
AAFCO statement covers growth or all life stages.
-
Large-breed puppy
Calcium 1.2–1.8% DM and a Ca:P ratio inside the growth-safe band.
-
Grain-free, with the caution
Grain-free by ingredient scan, shown with the FDA DCM context.
Browse the data
Dog food cost database
Every priced dog food ranked by cost per 1,000 kcal — the only comparison that survives different bag sizes and moisture levels.
Food finder
Filter by life stage, size and label-checkable concerns. Criteria are shown with the results.
Cost calculator
Enter a weight, get the daily calorie need, serving size and real cost per day for any priced food.
How to read a label
Dry-matter basis, the two AAFCO claims, estimated carbohydrate and what a bag is legally allowed to leave out.
What is actually in pet food
Ingredient prevalence counted across every verified label, with the evidence and the sources.
Brand scorecards
Who employs a board-certified nutritionist, owns their plants, runs feeding trials and publishes research — each cell sourced.
FDA recall records
Current recall, withdrawal and safety-alert records, linked to the official FDA notice.
Custom diet report
Enter a weight, body condition and any diagnosed conditions to get calorie targets, a pass/fail audit of the current food, and the foods that actually meet the constraint.
The State of Pet Food
What the whole corpus says about price, composition and transparency across the industry.
Comparisons
-
Is fresh dog food worth it?
What fresh actually costs per 1,000 kcal against kibble, computed from verified labels.
-
The Farmer’s Dog vs Ollie
Two fresh subscriptions compared on composition and real cost per day.
How to read anything on this site
The bag prints crude protein as fed, which includes the water, so a wet food showing 10% and a kibble showing 30% can carry almost identical protein once moisture comes out. Everything here is also shown on a dry-matter basis for that reason. The label guide walks through the conversion, and the refusals page explains which claims we will not check off at all — joint, renal, dental, cardiac and allergy diagnosis are vet territory, not label territory.
Cat owner? The same corpus, read the same way, is at cat food data.