Home / Cat food / Fancy Feast / Gems Mousse Paté with Salmon and a Halo of Savory Gravy

product photo
coming soon
no verified photo yet — never a mockup

Fancy Feast · brand facts & recall history →

Fancy Feast Gems Mousse Paté with Salmon and a Halo of Savory Gravy

Wet food · adult cats · distributed by Nestlé Purina PetCare Company

A formulated-to-meet, chicken-first wet food from Fancy Feast, lighter per can than 90% of the wet cat foods we've verified. Price-matched at $20.06 per 1,000 kcal, verified 2026-07-12.

THE FACTS, ONE SENTENCE — data as JSON · reference cat 10 lb · updated 2026-07-12

$15.67 $5.24/day as of 2026-07-12 Check price →
Your catupdates every number on this page
10 lb

Joint, kidney, dental or heart concerns? Labels can't honestly answer those — that's vet territory. Why we don't checkmark them →

The evidence

The Verified Label

Every food on this site gets this exact panel — same fields, same order, sourced from the official label — so brands finally become comparable. Dots show where this food sits among all 732 wet cat foods we've verified.

Verified LabelThe standardized pet-food panel
VPFD № FANCY-
verified 2026-07-12

Composition — dry-matter basis

why dry matter
Dry food is ~5-10% water, wet food ~75-82%, so as-fed numbers are on two different scales. As-fed values shown small. How the conversion works →
Protein 47.1%label: 8% min lower than 66% of wet cat foods
Fat 17.6%label: 3% min no corpus anchor for fat yet
Fiber 8.8%label: 1.5% max no corpus anchor for wet-food fiber yet
Est. carbohydrates computed from disclosed ash ≈8.8%diabetic-check target <10% typical — the median wet cat food is 4.6%
Magnesium as fed: not yet verified
why 0.12% DM
A commonly cited veterinary target for helping manage struvite-crystal (urinary) risk in cats is magnesium under roughly 0.12% on a dry-matter basis. This is a general, label-checkable guideline — not a diagnosis, and not a substitute for your vet, especially for cats with a history of urinary issues.
Not yet verifiedmagnesium no threshold to check — magnesium not in our verified record
Ash disclosed on label · label: 3% max 3%as used in carb estimate no corpus anchor for ash yet

Calories & cost — for your 10-lb adult cat

Calorie density 49 kcal/can861 kcal/kg lighter than 90% of wet cat foods (median 74)
Daily serving5¼ cans
Cost per day$5.24
Bag lasts

Cost per 1,000 kcal: $20.06 — price-matched to a current retail listing, verified 2026-07-12. Serving math uses standard veterinary energy formulas — see the formula.

Standards & ingredients

AAFCO statement
what this means
Two claims exist: formulated to meet a profile, or fed to real cats in an AAFCO trial. Which is stronger, and how rare it is →
Formulated to meet · maintenance
First five ingredients (by pre-cooking weight)Chicken broth · chicken · meat by-product · liver · salmon
Named animal protein first; named meals onlyYes
Legumes in first 10 (FDA DCM inquiry)None
BHA / BHT preservativesNone on label
Carrageenan (thickener)Yes
Ethoxyquin
why unknown
A preservative added by a fish-meal supplier need not appear on the finished label, so no label can prove its absence. Why we show gaps →
None — no fish meal in this recipe

Safety

FDA recalls — Fancy Feast, since 2023None on record
ManufacturerNestlé Purina PetCare Company, St. Louis, MO 63164 USA
Label transparency 9 of 15 standard fields
Green = verified favorable · amber = gap in the record · red = verified unfavorable · gray = not disclosed / neutral fact.
Source: official label source (official) · anchors: 732 verified wet cat foods · how to read this label

The fit

For your cat, specifically

Checked for a 10-lb adult cat with urinary health + a low-carb goal — the same published criteria our finder uses. Change your cat above and these update.

Validated for adult catsAAFCO statement covers adult maintenance.
·
Urinary fit — can't assessMagnesium is not disclosed on this label, so the urinary/struvite check cannot be run — most cat food labels omit it entirely (only a small share of the cat foods we've verified disclose magnesium at all).
·
Fiber 8.8% DMNot selected as a concern for your cat — shown here for reference.
·
Sensitive stomachNot selected for your cat — but shown here for reference.
·
Contains chickenNot selected as a concern for your cat — shown here for reference.
Estimated carbs fit a low-carb target≈8.8% carbohydrate (dry-matter, estimated) is under the ~10% DM target some vets use for diabetic/low-carb cats. Estimate only — not a lab measurement.

The source material

The full ingredient list

Every flag above is computed from this list. Why order is by pre-cooking weight, and how splitting bends it →

Chicken broth, chicken, meat by-product, liver, salmon, tapioca starch-modified, glycine, sodium tripolyphosphate, natural flavors, MINERALS [potassium chloride, magnesium sulfate, zinc sulfate, iron sulfate, manganese sulfate, copper sulfate, calcium iodate], locust bean gum, guar gum, caramel color, carrageenan, taurine, methyl cellulose, L-ascorbic acid, VITAMINS [Vitamin E supplement, niacin (Vitamin B-3), thiamine mononitrate (Vitamin B-1), calcium pantothenate (Vitamin B-5), riboflavin supplement (Vitamin B-2), pyroxidine hydrochloride (Vitamin B-6), folic acid (Vitamin B-9), Vitamin A supplement, menadione sodium bisulfite complex (Vitamin K), biotin (Vitamin B-7), Vitamin B-12 supplement, Vitamin D-3 supplement], choline chloride

6 ingredients in this list are ones we hold sourced evidence on , and 2 of them are genuinely contested rather than merely unpopular online.

  • Generic "Meat" (unspecified species) · ingredient 3Worth knowingThe unqualified term 'meat' names no species. AAFCO defines 'meat' as the clean flesh of slaughtered mammals but does not identify which mammal, so the source can differ between batches and the ingredient cannot be used to avoid a specific-species allergy.
  • Carrageenan · ingredient 14Worth knowingA seaweed-derived (Chondrus crispus) thickener and gelling agent used mainly in some wet and canned dog foods. Low-molecular-weight 'degraded' carrageenan (poligeenan) is inflammatory in lab-animal studies and is not permitted as a food additive, but food-grade undegraded carrageenan (E 407) is authorized by regulators; EFSA's 2018 re-evaluation kept only a temporary group ADI of 75 mg/kg body weight per day pending better data, and its specific effect in dogs is unresolved.
  • Tapioca · ingredient 6NeutralA nearly pure starch extracted from the cassava root, used as a carbohydrate base and binder in grain-free foods (it is a root starch, not a cereal grain). Because it is almost entirely starch with little protein, tapioca contributes essentially no amino acids and is not implicated in the taurine hypothesis; it was not a highlighted ingredient in the FDA's DCM investigation, which focused on pulses and potatoes.
  • Guar Gum · ingredient 12NeutralA soluble, viscous fiber from the guar bean used in small amounts to thicken and stabilize foods, mostly wet formulas. At higher dietary inclusion it can lower the digestibility of dry matter and protein in dogs, but it also produces metabolic effects such as reduced post-meal insulin and cholesterol; at the low levels used as a thickener these effects are minor.
  • Taurine (supplemental) · ingredient 15NeutralA sulfur amino acid that dogs can normally synthesize from methionine and cysteine, so it is not classically essential for them. However, some breeds (e.g., golden retrievers) and some diets are linked to low taurine status and dilated cardiomyopathy: an observational study (Ontiveros 2020) associated non-traditional, largely grain-free diets with taurine deficiency and DCM-consistent echocardiographic changes in golden retrievers, though causation and mechanism remain under investigation.
  • Powdered Cellulose · ingredient 16NeutralPurified plant cell-wall fiber (typically from wood pulp) used as an insoluble-fiber source, bulking agent, and anti-caking aid, often in weight-management diets. It is not absorbed and is poorly fermentable, so it firms stool and dilutes calories but yields little of the short-chain fatty acids that more fermentable fibers produce; EFSA's 2018 re-evaluation found no safety concern and no need for a numerical ADI.

Nutritional twins

Cheaper close matches

Verified foods with a closely matching label at a meaningfully lower cost per 1,000 kcal.

45.5% protein (DM)$10.14 / 1,000 kcal49% less per 1,000 kcal
45.5% protein (DM)$15.29 / 1,000 kcal24% less per 1,000 kcal
50.0% protein (DM)$14.92 / 1,000 kcal26% less per 1,000 kcal

Label-composition matches only: same species, form, and growth stage; same primary protein where both are known; grain-free preserved; protein within 4 points and fat within 4 points, and estimated carbs within 8 points, on a dry-matter basis. Not a medical or quality recommendation.

The maker

Who makes this — and how they back it up

The four questions the WSAVA nutrition guidelines tell you to ask a pet-food company. Every answer is sourced or marked as an undisclosed gap — never guessed. This is the "is it made competently?" axis that star-rating sites skip.

Owns its manufacturing Owns its plants

Nestlé Purina owns and operates its own U.S. factories.

source →
Employs a qualified nutritionist Yes — sourced

Arleigh Reynolds, DVM, board-certified in veterinary nutrition, employed by Nestlé Purina PetCare (maker of Fancy Feast).

source →
AAFCO feeding trials Undisclosed

No feeding-trial AAFCO statement found on the 60 labels we’ve verified for this brand, and no company-wide claim was found either. Most pet foods are only "formulated to meet" AAFCO profiles (a paper calculation) rather than fed to real animals in trials — this is common, not necessarily a red flag.

Peer-reviewed research Yes — sourced

157 PubMed-indexed papers carry "Nestlé Purina" in an author affiliation (animal/pet-domain filtered) — a reproducible floor, not a total.

source →
Parent company Nestlé Purina PetCare Founded 1982 Headquarters / plant St. Louis, Missouri, USA FDA recalls on record None on record

Full company scorecard, sources, and every SKU we've verified for this brand: Fancy Feast brand page →