Open Farm Harvest Chicken Freeze Dried Raw Morsels for Cats
Freeze-dried food · all cats
A formulated-to-meet, g.a.p.-first freeze-dried food from Open Farm. Cat-food pricing isn't in our corpus for this SKU yet, so cost-per-day isn't shown — the composition numbers below are fully verified.
THE FACTS, ONE SENTENCE —data as JSON· reference cat 10 lb · updated 2026-07-12
Your catupdates every number on this page
10 lb
Joint, kidney, dental or heart concerns? Labels can't honestly answer those — that's vet territory. Why we don't checkmark them →
The evidence
The Verified Label
Every food on this site gets this exact panel — same fields, same order, sourced from the official label — so brands finally become comparable. Corpus dot-anchors currently cover wet and dry cat food only — this is a freeze-dried food, so anchors are omitted below as the corpus grows.
Verified LabelThe standardized pet-food panel
VPFD № OPEN-F verified 2026-07-12
Composition — dry-matter basis
why dry matter
Dry food is ~5-10% water, wet food ~75-82%, so as-fed numbers are on two different scales. As-fed values shown small. How the conversion works →
Protein49.5%label: 47% minanchor coming as corpus grows
Fat42.1%label: 40% minno corpus anchor for fat yet
Fiber5.3%label: 5% maxanchor coming as corpus grows
Est. carbohydrates ash not disclosed → 8% assumed, so this is an estimate · this estimate came out negative — a known artifact of the flat ash assumption on very lean/high-protein foods; read as "very low," not literallynot determinablediabetic-check target <10%anchor coming as corpus grows
Magnesium as fed: not yet verified why 0.12% DM
A commonly cited veterinary target for helping manage struvite-crystal (urinary) risk in cats is magnesium under roughly 0.12% on a dry-matter basis. This is a general, label-checkable guideline — not a diagnosis, and not a substitute for your vet, especially for cats with a history of urinary issues.
Not yet verifiedmagnesiumno threshold to check — magnesium not in our verified record
Ash 8% assumed — not disclosed on label8%as used in carb estimateno corpus anchor for ash yet
Calories & cost — for your 10-lb adult cat
Calorie density5203 kcal/kgper-serving value not disclosedanchor coming as corpus grows
Daily serving—
Cost per day—
Bag lasts—
Cost per 1,000 kcal not available yet — this cat food isn't price-matched to a retail listing in our corpus yet. Serving math uses standard veterinary energy formulas — see the formula.
First five ingredients (by pre-cooking weight)G.A.P. Step 2 Chicken with Ground Bone · G.A.P. Step 2 Chicken Livers · G.A.P. Step 2 Chicken Necks · Montmorillonite Clay · Organic Dandelion Greens
Named animal protein first; named meals onlyYes
Legumes in first 10 (FDA DCM inquiry)None
BHA / BHT preservativesNone on label
Carrageenan (thickener)None
Ethoxyquin
why unknown
A preservative added by a fish-meal supplier need not appear on the finished label, so no label can prove its absence. Why we show gaps →
None — no fish meal in this recipe
Safety
FDA recalls — Open Farm, since 2023None on record
ManufacturerNot confirmed from label
Label transparency 7 of 15 standard fields
Green = verified favorable · amber = gap in the record · red = verified unfavorable · gray = not disclosed / neutral fact.
Source: official label source (official) · anchors: coming as our fresh/freeze-dried corpus grows · how to read this label
The fit
For your cat, specifically
Checked for a 10-lb adult cat with urinary health + a low-carb goal — the same published criteria our finder uses. Change your cat above and these update.
✓
Validated for adult catsAAFCO statement covers adult maintenance.
·
Urinary fit — can't assessMagnesium is not disclosed on this label, so the urinary/struvite check cannot be run — most cat food labels omit it entirely (only a small share of the cat foods we've verified disclose magnesium at all).
·
Fiber 5.3% DMNot selected as a concern for your cat — shown here for reference.
·
Sensitive stomachNot selected for your cat — but shown here for reference.
·
Contains chickenNot selected as a concern for your cat — shown here for reference.
✓
Estimated carbs fit a low-carb targetnot determinable carbohydrate (dry-matter, estimated) is under the ~10% DM target some vets use for diabetic/low-carb cats. (this specific estimate came out negative — a known artifact of the flat ash assumption on very lean, high-protein/fat foods; read it as "very low," not as the literal number) Estimate only — not a lab measurement, and ash was assumed rather than disclosed on this label.
The four questions the WSAVA nutrition guidelines tell you to ask a pet-food company. Every answer is sourced or marked as an undisclosed gap — never guessed. This is the "is it made competently?" axis that star-rating sites skip.
Owns its manufacturingCo-packed
Uses third-party co-manufacturing partners; R&D, formulation and distribution are in-house in Toronto but production is outsourced.
Dr. Moran Tal-Gavriel is Open Farm's Head of Veterinary Nutrition (in-house). 'Dip. ECVCN' = Diplomate of the European College of Veterinary and Comparative Nutrition.
No feeding-trial AAFCO statement found on the 37 labels we’ve verified for this brand, and no company-wide claim was found either. Most pet foods are only "formulated to meet" AAFCO profiles (a paper calculation) rather than fed to real animals in trials — this is common, not necessarily a red flag.
Peer-reviewed researchNone found
A reproducible PubMed search (author-affiliation field, animal/pet-domain filtered) returns zero indexed papers for this brand name. Not proof no research exists — only that none is PubMed-indexed under this exact name.