Home / Cat food / Open Farm / Wild-Caught Salmon & Cod Freeze Dried Raw Morsels for Cats

product photo
coming soon
no verified photo yet — never a mockup

Open Farm · brand facts & recall history →

Open Farm Wild-Caught Salmon & Cod Freeze Dried Raw Morsels for Cats

Freeze-dried food · all cats

A formulated-to-meet, salmon-first freeze-dried food from Open Farm. Cat-food pricing isn't in our corpus for this SKU yet, so cost-per-day isn't shown — the composition numbers below are fully verified.

THE FACTS, ONE SENTENCE — data as JSON · reference cat 10 lb · updated 2026-07-12

Your catupdates every number on this page
10 lb

Joint, kidney, dental or heart concerns? Labels can't honestly answer those — that's vet territory. Why we don't checkmark them →

The evidence

The Verified Label

Every food on this site gets this exact panel — same fields, same order, sourced from the official label — so brands finally become comparable. Corpus dot-anchors currently cover wet and dry cat food only — this is a freeze-dried food, so anchors are omitted below as the corpus grows.

Verified LabelThe standardized pet-food panel
VPFD № OPEN-F
verified 2026-07-12

Composition — dry-matter basis

why dry matter
Dry food is ~5-10% water, wet food ~75-82%, so as-fed numbers are on two different scales. As-fed values shown small. How the conversion works →
Protein 48.4%label: 46% min anchor coming as corpus grows
Fat 19.5%label: 18.5% min no corpus anchor for fat yet
Fiber 3.2%label: 3% max anchor coming as corpus grows
Est. carbohydrates ash not disclosed → 8% assumed, so this is an estimate ≈20.5%diabetic-check target <10% anchor coming as corpus grows
Magnesium as fed: not yet verified
why 0.12% DM
A commonly cited veterinary target for helping manage struvite-crystal (urinary) risk in cats is magnesium under roughly 0.12% on a dry-matter basis. This is a general, label-checkable guideline — not a diagnosis, and not a substitute for your vet, especially for cats with a history of urinary issues.
Not yet verifiedmagnesium no threshold to check — magnesium not in our verified record
Ash 8% assumed — not disclosed on label 8%as used in carb estimate no corpus anchor for ash yet

Calories & cost — for your 10-lb adult cat

Calorie density 3750 kcal/kgper-serving value not disclosed anchor coming as corpus grows
Daily serving
Cost per day
Bag lasts

Cost per 1,000 kcal not available yet — this cat food isn't price-matched to a retail listing in our corpus yet. Serving math uses standard veterinary energy formulas — see the formula.

Standards & ingredients

AAFCO statement
what this means
Two claims exist: formulated to meet a profile, or fed to real cats in an AAFCO trial. Which is stronger, and how rare it is →
Formulated to meet · all_life_stages
First five ingredients (by pre-cooking weight)Salmon with Ground Bone · Cod · Sweet Potatoes · Montmorillonite Clay · Fenugreek Seeds
Named animal protein first; named meals onlyYes
Legumes in first 10 (FDA DCM inquiry)None
BHA / BHT preservativesNone on label
Carrageenan (thickener)None
Ethoxyquin
why unknown
A preservative added by a fish-meal supplier need not appear on the finished label, so no label can prove its absence. Why we show gaps →
None — no fish meal in this recipe

Safety

FDA recalls — Open Farm, since 2023None on record
ManufacturerNot confirmed from label
Label transparency 7 of 15 standard fields
Green = verified favorable · amber = gap in the record · red = verified unfavorable · gray = not disclosed / neutral fact.
Source: official label source (official) · anchors: coming as our fresh/freeze-dried corpus grows · how to read this label

The fit

For your cat, specifically

Checked for a 10-lb adult cat with urinary health + a low-carb goal — the same published criteria our finder uses. Change your cat above and these update.

Validated for adult catsAAFCO statement covers adult maintenance.
·
Urinary fit — can't assessMagnesium is not disclosed on this label, so the urinary/struvite check cannot be run — most cat food labels omit it entirely (only a small share of the cat foods we've verified disclose magnesium at all).
·
Fiber 3.2% DMNot selected as a concern for your cat — shown here for reference.
·
Sensitive stomachNot selected for your cat — but shown here for reference.
·
Chicken-free recipeNot selected for your cat — but relevant if chicken sensitivity ever comes up.
Too many estimated carbs for a low-carb target≈20.5% carbohydrate (dry-matter, estimated) is over the ~10% DM target some vets use for diabetic/low-carb cats. Estimate only — not a lab measurement. See lower-carb options →

The source material

The full ingredient list

Every flag above is computed from this list. Why order is by pre-cooking weight, and how splitting bends it →

Salmon with Ground Bone, Cod, Sweet Potatoes, Montmorillonite Clay, Fenugreek Seeds, Tricalcium Phosphate, Organic Dandelion Greens, Salt, Choline Chloride, Niacin Supplement, Vitamin E Supplement, Vitamin A Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate

1 ingredient in this list is ones we hold sourced evidence on , and none of them is contested in the veterinary literature.

  • Sweet potato · ingredient 3NeutralA starchy root used as a carbohydrate source and a source of fiber and beta-carotene in grain-free foods (a vegetable, not a cereal grain). The FDA's 2018 DCM investigation grouped 'potatoes (including sweet potatoes)' within its ingredients of interest, but the reported cases were dominated by pulses and white potato, and evidence isolating sweet potato specifically is limited.

The maker

Who makes this — and how they back it up

The four questions the WSAVA nutrition guidelines tell you to ask a pet-food company. Every answer is sourced or marked as an undisclosed gap — never guessed. This is the "is it made competently?" axis that star-rating sites skip.

Owns its manufacturing Co-packed

Uses third-party co-manufacturing partners; R&D, formulation and distribution are in-house in Toronto but production is outsourced.

source →
Employs a qualified nutritionist Yes — sourced

Dr. Moran Tal-Gavriel is Open Farm's Head of Veterinary Nutrition (in-house). 'Dip. ECVCN' = Diplomate of the European College of Veterinary and Comparative Nutrition.

source →
AAFCO feeding trials Undisclosed

No feeding-trial AAFCO statement found on the 37 labels we’ve verified for this brand, and no company-wide claim was found either. Most pet foods are only "formulated to meet" AAFCO profiles (a paper calculation) rather than fed to real animals in trials — this is common, not necessarily a red flag.

Peer-reviewed research None found

A reproducible PubMed search (author-affiliation field, animal/pet-domain filtered) returns zero indexed papers for this brand name. Not proof no research exists — only that none is PubMed-indexed under this exact name.

source →
Parent company Open Farm Inc. (independent) Founded 2014 Headquarters / plant Toronto, Ontario, Canada FDA recalls on record None on record

Full company scorecard, sources, and every SKU we've verified for this brand: Open Farm brand page →