Home / Cat food / Weruva / Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Kitty Gone Wild Salmon Au Jus Wet Cat Food

product photo
coming soon
no verified photo yet — never a mockup

Weruva · brand facts & recall history →

Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Kitty Gone Wild Salmon Au Jus Wet Cat Food

Wet food · adult cats

A wet food from Weruva, lighter per can than 79% of the wet cat foods we've verified. Price-matched at $21.79 per 1,000 kcal, verified 2026-07-12.

THE FACTS, ONE SENTENCE — data as JSON · reference cat 10 lb · updated 2026-07-12

$58.08 $5.69/day as of 2026-07-12 Check price →
Your catupdates every number on this page
10 lb

Joint, kidney, dental or heart concerns? Labels can't honestly answer those — that's vet territory. Why we don't checkmark them →

The evidence

The Verified Label

Every food on this site gets this exact panel — same fields, same order, sourced from the official label — so brands finally become comparable. Dots show where this food sits among all 732 wet cat foods we've verified.

Verified LabelThe standardized pet-food panel
VPFD № WERUVA
verified 2026-07-12

Composition — dry-matter basis

why dry matter
Dry food is ~5-10% water, wet food ~75-82%, so as-fed numbers are on two different scales. As-fed values shown small. How the conversion works →
Protein 58.8%label: 10% min typical — the median wet cat food is 53.3%
Fat 9.4%label: 1.6% min no corpus anchor for fat yet
Fiber 2.9%label: 0.5% max no corpus anchor for wet-food fiber yet
Est. carbohydrates computed from disclosed ash ≈17.1%diabetic-check target <10% higher than 88% of wet cat foods
Magnesium as fed: 0.03% max
why 0.12% DM
A commonly cited veterinary target for helping manage struvite-crystal (urinary) risk in cats is magnesium under roughly 0.12% on a dry-matter basis. This is a general, label-checkable guideline — not a diagnosis, and not a substitute for your vet, especially for cats with a history of urinary issues.
0.2%dry-matter above the ~0.12% DM urinary-health threshold
Ash disclosed on label · label: 2% max 2%as used in carb estimate no corpus anchor for ash yet

Calories & cost — for your 10-lb adult cat

Calorie density 59 kcal/can653 kcal/kg lighter than 79% of wet cat foods (median 74)
Daily serving4½ cans
Cost per day$5.69
Bag lasts

Cost per 1,000 kcal: $21.79 — price-matched to a current retail listing, verified 2026-07-12. Serving math uses standard veterinary energy formulas — see the formula.

Standards & ingredients

AAFCO statement
what this means
Two claims exist: formulated to meet a profile, or fed to real cats in an AAFCO trial. Which is stronger, and how rare it is →
Not yet verified from label
First five ingredients (by pre-cooking weight)Fish Broth · Salmon · Tuna · Sardine · Mackerel
Named animal protein first; named meals onlyNo
Legumes in first 10 (FDA DCM inquiry)None
BHA / BHT preservativesNone on label
Carrageenan (thickener)None
Ethoxyquin
why unknown
A preservative added by a fish-meal supplier need not appear on the finished label, so no label can prove its absence. Why we show gaps →
None — no fish meal in this recipe

Safety

FDA recalls — Weruva, since 2023None on record
ManufacturerNot confirmed from label
Label transparency 7 of 15 standard fields
Green = verified favorable · amber = gap in the record · red = verified unfavorable · gray = not disclosed / neutral fact.
Source: official label source (official) · anchors: 732 verified wet cat foods · how to read this label

The fit

For your cat, specifically

Checked for a 10-lb adult cat with urinary health + a low-carb goal — the same published criteria our finder uses. Change your cat above and these update.

·
Life-stage coverage not disclosedNo AAFCO nutrient-adequacy statement was found on the label for this SKU, so we cannot confirm adult-maintenance coverage.
Magnesium above our urinary-health threshold0.2% magnesium (dry-matter) is over the ~0.12% DM level commonly cited for struvite-risk management. See lower-magnesium options →
·
Fiber 2.9% DMNot selected as a concern for your cat — shown here for reference.
·
Sensitive stomachNot selected for your cat — but shown here for reference.
·
Chicken-free recipeNot selected for your cat — but relevant if chicken sensitivity ever comes up.
Too many estimated carbs for a low-carb target≈17.1% carbohydrate (dry-matter, estimated) is over the ~10% DM target some vets use for diabetic/low-carb cats. Estimate only — not a lab measurement. See lower-carb options →

The source material

The full ingredient list

Every flag above is computed from this list. Why order is by pre-cooking weight, and how splitting bends it →

Fish Broth, Salmon, Tuna, Sardine, Mackerel, Sunflower Seed Oil, Locust Bean Gum, Guar Gum, Xanthan Gum, Potassium Chloride, Fish Oil, Choline Chloride, Taurine, Zinc Sulfate, Vitamin E Supplement, Nicotinic Acid (Vitamin B3), Calcium Pantothenate, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Manganese Proteinate, Vitamin A Supplement, Ferrous Sulfate, Riboflavin Supplement (Vitamin B2), Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Folic Acid, Copper Sulfate, Menadione Sodium Bisulfite Complex (Source Of Vitamin K), Potassium Iodide, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement

4 ingredients in this list are ones we hold sourced evidence on , and none of them is contested in the veterinary literature.

  • Fish oil (EPA + DHA omega-3) · ingredient 11Well supportedMarine-source omega-3 fatty acids (EPA and DHA) from fish oil. A randomized, double-blinded controlled trial (Roush 2010) found improved weight-bearing in dogs with osteoarthritis, and a 2022 meta-analysis identified clear clinical analgesic efficacy for omega-3-enriched diets and supplements.
  • Guar Gum · ingredient 8NeutralA soluble, viscous fiber from the guar bean used in small amounts to thicken and stabilize foods, mostly wet formulas. At higher dietary inclusion it can lower the digestibility of dry matter and protein in dogs, but it also produces metabolic effects such as reduced post-meal insulin and cholesterol; at the low levels used as a thickener these effects are minor.
  • Xanthan Gum · ingredient 9NeutralA fermentation-derived polysaccharide used as a thickener and stabilizer, mainly in wet and gravy-style foods. EFSA's 2017 re-evaluation found no safety concern and concluded no numerical ADI was needed; direct studies in dogs are limited, but at the small amounts used it acts as a non-absorbed, largely fermentable fiber.
  • Taurine (supplemental) · ingredient 13NeutralA sulfur amino acid that dogs can normally synthesize from methionine and cysteine, so it is not classically essential for them. However, some breeds (e.g., golden retrievers) and some diets are linked to low taurine status and dilated cardiomyopathy: an observational study (Ontiveros 2020) associated non-traditional, largely grain-free diets with taurine deficiency and DCM-consistent echocardiographic changes in golden retrievers, though causation and mechanism remain under investigation.

Nutritional twins

Cheaper close matches

Verified foods with a closely matching label at a meaningfully lower cost per 1,000 kcal.

57.1% protein (DM)$12.42 / 1,000 kcal43% less per 1,000 kcal
55.0% protein (DM)$13.28 / 1,000 kcal39% less per 1,000 kcal
55.0% protein (DM)$16.43 / 1,000 kcal25% less per 1,000 kcal

Label-composition matches only: same species, form, and growth stage; same primary protein where both are known; grain-free preserved; protein within 4 points and fat within 4 points, and estimated carbs within 8 points, on a dry-matter basis. Not a medical or quality recommendation.

The maker

Who makes this — and how they back it up

The four questions the WSAVA nutrition guidelines tell you to ask a pet-food company. Every answer is sourced or marked as an undisclosed gap — never guessed. This is the "is it made competently?" axis that star-rating sites skip.

Owns its manufacturing Co-packed

Weruva's foods are produced at a third-party human-food cannery (Songkla Canning Company, Thailand) rather than a Weruva-owned plant. Some aggregators allege family/ownership ties to the plant, but that was not verifiable on any fetched source; based on verifiable sources this is a co-packer arrangement.

source →
Employs a qualified nutritionist Undisclosed

No fetched source (official About/Family page, FAQ, or trade press) names a board-certified veterinary nutritionist (ACVN/ECVCN Diplomate) or a PhD in animal nutrition on staff. Could not verify; not asserting false since absence was not exhaustively confirmed.

source →
AAFCO feeding trials Undisclosed

No feeding-trial AAFCO statement found on the 466 labels we’ve verified for this brand, and no company-wide claim was found either. Most pet foods are only "formulated to meet" AAFCO profiles (a paper calculation) rather than fed to real animals in trials — this is common, not necessarily a red flag.

Peer-reviewed research None found

A reproducible PubMed search (author-affiliation field, animal/pet-domain filtered) returns zero indexed papers for this brand name. Not proof no research exists — only that none is PubMed-indexed under this exact name.

source →
Founded 2006 Headquarters / plant Natick, Massachusetts, USA FDA recalls on record None on record

Full company scorecard, sources, and every SKU we've verified for this brand: Weruva brand page →