Home / Dog food / Canidae / Grain Free Pure Lamb Recipe

product photo
coming soon
no verified photo yet — never a mockup

Canidae · brand facts & recall history →

Canidae Grain Free Pure Lamb Recipe

Wet food · all dogs

A formulated-to-meet, lamb-first wet food from Canidae. Pricing and/or calorie data haven't been independently confirmed for this SKU yet, so cost-per-day isn't shown.

THE FACTS, ONE SENTENCE — data as JSON · reference dog 40 lb · updated 2026-07-11

Tell us about your dogevery number on this page updates live ↓
40 lb
For a 40-lb adult: 2½ cansper day not pricedper day —bag lasts passes 2 fit checks ↓

Joint, kidney, dental or heart concerns? Labels can't honestly answer those — that's vet territory. Why we don't checkmark them →

The evidence

The Verified Label

Every food on this site gets this exact panel — same fields, same order, sourced from the official label — so brands finally become comparable. Corpus dot-anchors currently cover dry food only — this is a wet food, so anchors are omitted below rather than compared across forms.

Verified LabelThe standardized pet-food panel
VPFD № CANIDA
verified 2026-07-11

Composition — dry-matter basis

why dry matter
Kibble is ~10% water, canned food ~78%, so as-fed numbers are on two different scales. As-fed values shown small. How the conversion works →
Protein 31.8%label: 7% min no corpus anchor for this food form
Fat 27.3%label: 6% min no corpus anchor for this food form
Fiber 4.5%label: 1% max no corpus anchor for this food form
Est. carbohydrates ash not disclosed → 8% assumed, so this is an estimate ≈22.7%computed no corpus anchor for this food form
Calcium / Phosphorus extended guarantees: none verified yet Not yet verifiedcalcium/phosphorus no ratio to anchor

Calories & cost — for your 40-lb adult dog

Calorie density 397 kcal/can— kcal/kg no corpus anchor for this food form
Daily serving2½ cans
Cost per day—
Bag lasts—

No cost per 1,000 kcal yet: we haven't matched this food to a current Amazon listing. Serving math uses standard veterinary energy formulas — see the formula.

Standards & ingredients

AAFCO statement
what this means
Two claims exist: formulated to meet a profile, or fed to real dogs in an AAFCO trial. Which is stronger, and how rare it is →
Formulated to meet · all_life_stages
First five ingredients (by pre-cooking weight)Lamb · Lamb Broth · Vegetable Broth · Lamb Liver · Pea Flour
Named animal protein first; named meals onlyYes
Legumes in first 10 (FDA DCM inquiry)2 (pea flour, pea protein)
BHA / BHT preservativesNone on label
Carrageenan (thickener)None
Ethoxyquin
why unknown
A preservative added by a fish-meal supplier need not appear on the finished label, so no label can prove its absence. Why we show gaps →
None — no fish meal in this recipe

Safety

FDA recalls — Canidae, since 2023None on record
ManufacturerNot confirmed from label
Label transparency 6 of 15 standard fields
Green = verified favorable · amber = gap in the record · red = verified unfavorable · gray = not disclosed / neutral fact.
Source: official label source (official) · anchors: 494 verified dry dog foods (360 priced) · how to read this label

The fit

For your dog, specifically

Checked for a 40-lb adult with a sensitive stomach — the same published criteria our finder uses. Change your dog above and these update.

✓
Validated for adult dogsAAFCO statement covers adult maintenance.
✓
Passes our sensitive-stomach checksNamed animal protein first, and no unnamed by-products in the ingredient list.
·
Chicken-free recipeNot selected for your dog — but relevant if chicken sensitivity ever comes up.

The source material

The full ingredient list

Every flag above is computed from this list. Why order is by pre-cooking weight, and how splitting bends it →

Lamb, Lamb Broth, Vegetable Broth, Lamb Liver, Pea Flour, Pea Protein, Brewer's Yeast, Dicalcium Phosphate, Salmon Oil, Agar-Agar, Sunflower Oil, Calcium Carbonate, Potassium Chloride, Salt, Choline Chloride, Zinc Proteinate, Iron Proteinate, Threonine, Copper Proteinate, Manganese Proteinate, Vitamin E Supplement, Sodium Selenite, Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, D-Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin A Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Ethylenediamine Dihydroiodide, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Biotin, Folic Acid, Vitamin D3 Supplement

3 ingredients in this list are ones we hold sourced evidence on , and 2 of them are genuinely contested rather than merely unpopular online.

  • Peas · ingredient 5ContestedA pulse (legume) used in many grain-free foods as a plant protein and carbohydrate source. Peas are central to an open FDA investigation, begun in July 2018, into a possible link between diets high in peas, other pulses, and potatoes and canine dilated cardiomyopathy (DCM); 93% of reported products contained peas and/or lentils.
  • Pea protein · ingredient 6ContestedA concentrated protein fraction extracted from peas, used to raise a food's protein content without added meat. As a pea-derived pulse ingredient it falls within the group of legume ingredients examined in the FDA's open 2018 investigation into diet-associated canine DCM; metabolomic work has flagged pea-related compounds, but causation has not been shown.
  • Fish oil (EPA + DHA omega-3) · ingredient 9Well supportedMarine-source omega-3 fatty acids (EPA and DHA) from fish oil. A randomized, double-blinded controlled trial (Roush 2010) found improved weight-bearing in dogs with osteoarthritis, and a 2022 meta-analysis identified clear clinical analgesic efficacy for omega-3-enriched diets and supplements.

Nutritional twins

Priced close matches

This food has no verified price yet — these are the closest label matches that do.

31.8% protein (DM)$10.07 / 1,000 kcal
31.8% protein (DM)$10.78 / 1,000 kcal

Label-composition matches only: same species, form, and growth stage; same primary protein where both are known; grain-free preserved; protein within 4 points and fat within 4 points, and estimated carbs within 8 points, on a dry-matter basis. Not a medical or quality recommendation.

The maker

Who makes this — and how they back it up

The five questions the WSAVA nutrition guidelines tell you to ask a pet-food company. Every answer is sourced or marked as an undisclosed gap — never guessed. This is the "is it made competently?" axis that star-rating sites skip.

Owns its manufacturing Owns its plants

Brownwood, Texas has been Canidae’s own long-standing manufacturing facility since 2012 (now also producing for merger partner Natural Balance) — recorded as owns.

source →
Employs a qualified nutritionist Undisclosed

CANIDAE did not respond to the Pet Nutrition Alliance’s 2023 manufacturer questionnaire (petnutritionalliance.org/wp-content/uploads/2023/04/Pet-Nutrition-Alliance-Pet-Food-Manufacturer-Report-2023.pdf, listed under "Manufactures that did not respond").

AAFCO feeding trials Undisclosed

No feeding-trial AAFCO statement found on the 64 labels we’ve verified for this brand, and no company-wide claim was found either. Most pet foods are only "formulated to meet" AAFCO profiles (a paper calculation) rather than fed to real animals in trials — this is common, not necessarily a red flag.

Publishes quality-control testing Yes — sourced

covers: pathogen testing, toxin testing, finished-product nutrient analysis. Applies to the Pure Farm to Bowl line only, not the whole brand; canidae.com/faq has no concrete QC statement.

source →
Peer-reviewed research Yes — sourced

1 PubMed paper (animal/pet filtered) list CANIDAE Pet Food Company in an author address; we checked 1 and 1 really name the company. A floor, not a total.

source →
Parent company Ethos Pet Brands (co-owned 50/50 by L Catterton and Nexus Capital Management, following Canidae’s 2023 merger with Natural Balance Pet Foods) ↗ Founded 1996 ↗ FDA recalls on record 1 on record

Full company scorecard, sources, and every SKU we've verified for this brand: Canidae brand page →