Home / Dog food / Freshpet / Freshpet Select Slice & Serve Roll - Tender Chicken Recipe with Carrots, Peas & Brown Rice

product photo
coming soon
no verified photo yet — never a mockup

Freshpet · brand facts & recall history →

Freshpet Select Slice & Serve Roll - Tender Chicken Recipe with Carrots, Peas & Brown Rice

Fresh food · adult dogs

A formulated-to-meet, chicken-first fresh food from Freshpet. Pricing and/or calorie data haven't been independently confirmed for this SKU yet, so cost-per-day isn't shown.

THE FACTS, ONE SENTENCE — data as JSON · reference dog 40 lb · updated 2026-07-11

Tell us about your dogevery number on this page updates live ↓
40 lb
For a 40-lb adult: not pricedper day 0 daysbag lasts passes 2 fit checks ↓

Joint, kidney, dental or heart concerns? Labels can't honestly answer those — that's vet territory. Why we don't checkmark them →

The evidence

The Verified Label

Every food on this site gets this exact panel — same fields, same order, sourced from the official label — so brands finally become comparable. Corpus dot-anchors currently cover dry food only — this is a fresh food, so anchors are omitted below rather than compared across forms.

Verified LabelThe standardized pet-food panel
VPFD № FRESHP
verified 2026-07-11

Composition — dry-matter basis

why dry matter
Kibble is ~10% water, canned food ~78%, so as-fed numbers are on two different scales. As-fed values shown small. How the conversion works →
Protein 43.2%label: 9.5% min no corpus anchor for this food form
Fat 31.8%label: 7% min no corpus anchor for this food form
Fiber 6.8%label: 1.5% max no corpus anchor for this food form
Est. carbohydrates ash not disclosed → 8% assumed, so this is an estimate ≈-18.2%computed no corpus anchor for this food form
Calcium / Phosphorus extended guarantees: none verified yet Not yet verifiedcalcium/phosphorus no ratio to anchor

Calories & cost — for your 40-lb adult dog

Calorie density 1394 kcal/kgper-serving value not disclosed no corpus anchor for this food form
Daily serving—
Cost per day—
1-lb bag lasts0 days

No cost per 1,000 kcal yet: we haven't matched this food to a current Amazon listing. Serving math uses standard veterinary energy formulas — see the formula.

Standards & ingredients

AAFCO statement
what this means
Two claims exist: formulated to meet a profile, or fed to real dogs in an AAFCO trial. Which is stronger, and how rare it is →
Formulated to meet · maintenance
First five ingredients (by pre-cooking weight)Chicken · carrots · chicken broth · peas · eggs
Named animal protein first; named meals onlyYes
Legumes in first 10 (FDA DCM inquiry)1 (peas)
BHA / BHT preservativesNone on label
Carrageenan (thickener)Yes
Ethoxyquin
why unknown
A preservative added by a fish-meal supplier need not appear on the finished label, so no label can prove its absence. Why we show gaps →
None — no fish meal in this recipe

Safety

FDA recalls — Freshpet, since 2023None on record
ManufacturerNot confirmed from label
Label transparency 7 of 15 standard fields
Green = verified favorable · amber = gap in the record · red = verified unfavorable · gray = not disclosed / neutral fact.
Source: official label source (official) · anchors: 494 verified dry dog foods (360 priced) · how to read this label

The fit

For your dog, specifically

Checked for a 40-lb adult with a sensitive stomach — the same published criteria our finder uses. Change your dog above and these update.

✓
Validated for adult dogsAAFCO statement covers adult maintenance.
✓
Passes our sensitive-stomach checksNamed animal protein first, and no unnamed by-products in the ingredient list.
·
Contains chickenNot selected as a concern for your dog — shown here for reference.

The source material

The full ingredient list

Every flag above is computed from this list. Why order is by pre-cooking weight, and how splitting bends it →

Chicken, carrots, chicken broth, peas, eggs, chicken liver, brown rice, rice bran, carrageenan, natural flavors, potassium chloride, celery powder, salt, spinach, Vitamins (Choline chloride, vitamin E supplement, niacin, calcium pantothenate, biotin, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, vitamin B12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, folic acid), Minerals (Zinc proteinate, iron proteinate, copper proteinate, manganese proteinate, sodium selenite, calcium iodate)

2 ingredients in this list are ones we hold sourced evidence on , and 2 of them are genuinely contested rather than merely unpopular online.

  • Peas · ingredient 4ContestedA pulse (legume) used in many grain-free foods as a plant protein and carbohydrate source. Peas are central to an open FDA investigation, begun in July 2018, into a possible link between diets high in peas, other pulses, and potatoes and canine dilated cardiomyopathy (DCM); 93% of reported products contained peas and/or lentils.
  • Carrageenan · ingredient 9Worth knowingA seaweed-derived (Chondrus crispus) thickener and gelling agent used mainly in some wet and canned dog foods. Low-molecular-weight 'degraded' carrageenan (poligeenan) is inflammatory in lab-animal studies and is not permitted as a food additive, but food-grade undegraded carrageenan (E 407) is authorized by regulators; EFSA's 2018 re-evaluation kept only a temporary group ADI of 75 mg/kg body weight per day pending better data, and its specific effect in dogs is unresolved.

The maker

Who makes this — and how they back it up

The five questions the WSAVA nutrition guidelines tell you to ask a pet-food company. Every answer is sourced or marked as an undisclosed gap — never guessed. This is the "is it made competently?" axis that star-rating sites skip.

Owns its manufacturing Owns its plants

10-K states Freshpet owns and operates its own 'Freshpet Kitchens' facilities in Bethlehem, PA and Ennis, TX.

source →
Employs a qualified nutritionist Yes — sourced

Names Lisa Weeth, DVM, DACVIM (Nutrition), a full-time Freshpet employee. Page also lists PhD-holding staff scientists including Gerardo Pérez-Camargo, DVM, PhD and Eden Ephraim, PhD.

source →
AAFCO feeding trials Claims trials, no label shows one

says: Freshpet conducts AAFCO feeding trials (not stated whether all or some foods). Vet page (fp2) adds 'we do both' lab analysis and feeding trials, 'often complementing lab analysis with feeding trials to measure palatability and digestibility'. None of the 4 AAFCO statements we read on its labels says "animal feeding tests".

source →
Publishes quality-control testing Yes — sourced

covers: finished-product pathogen testing; same bullet list also says 'Rigorous ingredient testing for nutrients, contaminants, and pathogens' (ingredient testing, toxin/contaminant testing). Freshpet vet-facing page.

source →
Peer-reviewed research Yes — sourced

3 PubMed papers (animal/pet filtered) list Freshpet in an author address; we checked 3 and 3 really name the company. A floor, not a total.

source →
Parent company Freshpet, Inc. ↗ Founded 2006 ↗ Headquarters / plant Bedminster, New Jersey, USA ↗ FDA recalls on record 2 on record

Full company scorecard, sources, and every SKU we've verified for this brand: Freshpet brand page →