Home / Dog food / Hill's Science Diet / Adult 7+ Senior Vitality Small & Mini Chicken & Vegetable Stew Dog Food

product photo
coming soon
no verified photo yet — never a mockup

Hill's Science Diet · brand facts & recall history →

Hill's Science Diet Adult 7+ Senior Vitality Small & Mini Chicken & Vegetable Stew Dog Food

Wet food · senior dogs

A feeding-trial-validated, chicken-first wet food from Hill's Science Diet. Pricing and/or calorie data haven't been independently confirmed for this SKU yet, so cost-per-day isn't shown.

THE FACTS, ONE SENTENCE — data as JSON · reference dog 40 lb · updated 2026-07-11

Tell us about your dogevery number on this page updates live ↓
40 lb
For a 40-lb adult: 7¾ cansper day not pricedper day —bag lasts passes 2 fit checks ↓

Joint, kidney, dental or heart concerns? Labels can't honestly answer those — that's vet territory. Why we don't checkmark them →

The evidence

The Verified Label

Every food on this site gets this exact panel — same fields, same order, sourced from the official label — so brands finally become comparable. Corpus dot-anchors currently cover dry food only — this is a wet food, so anchors are omitted below rather than compared across forms.

Verified LabelThe standardized pet-food panel
VPFD № HILL-S
verified 2026-07-11

Composition — dry-matter basis

why dry matter
Kibble is ~10% water, canned food ~78%, so as-fed numbers are on two different scales. As-fed values shown small. How the conversion works →
Protein 20%label: 3% min no corpus anchor for this food form
Fat 13.3%label: 2% min no corpus anchor for this food form
Fiber 13.3%label: 2% max no corpus anchor for this food form
Est. carbohydrates ash not disclosed → 8% assumed, so this is an estimate ≈33.3%computed no corpus anchor for this food form
Calcium / Phosphorus extended guarantees: none verified yet Not yet verifiedcalcium/phosphorus no ratio to anchor

Calories & cost — for your 40-lb adult dog

Calorie density 126 kcal/can— kcal/kg no corpus anchor for this food form
Daily serving7¾ cans
Cost per day—
Bag lasts—

No cost per 1,000 kcal yet: we haven't matched this food to a current Amazon listing. Serving math uses standard veterinary energy formulas — see the formula.

Standards & ingredients

AAFCO statement
what this means
Two claims exist: formulated to meet a profile, or fed to real dogs in an AAFCO trial. Which is stronger, and how rare it is →
Feeding trials ✓ · maintenance
First five ingredients (by pre-cooking weight)Chicken Broth · Chicken · Pork Liver · Rice · Carrots
Named animal protein first; named meals onlyYes
Legumes in first 10 (FDA DCM inquiry)None
BHA / BHT preservativesNone on label
Carrageenan (thickener)None
Ethoxyquin
why unknown
A preservative added by a fish-meal supplier need not appear on the finished label, so no label can prove its absence. Why we show gaps →
None — no fish meal in this recipe

Safety

FDA recalls — Hill's Science Diet, since 2023None on record
ManufacturerNot confirmed from label
Label transparency 6 of 15 standard fields
Green = verified favorable · amber = gap in the record · red = verified unfavorable · gray = not disclosed / neutral fact.
Source: official label source (official) · anchors: 494 verified dry dog foods (360 priced) · how to read this label

The fit

For your dog, specifically

Checked for a 40-lb adult with a sensitive stomach — the same published criteria our finder uses. Change your dog above and these update.

✓
Validated for adult dogsAAFCO statement covers adult maintenance.
✓
Passes our sensitive-stomach checksNamed animal protein first, and no unnamed by-products in the ingredient list.
·
Contains chickenNot selected as a concern for your dog — shown here for reference.

The source material

The full ingredient list

Every flag above is computed from this list. Why order is by pre-cooking weight, and how splitting bends it →

Chicken Broth, Chicken, Pork Liver, Rice, Carrots, Rice Starch, GreenPeas, Dextrose, Egg Product, Sugar, Soybean Oil, Egg Whites, Hydrolyzed Chicken Liver, Hydrolyzed Chicken Flavor, Potassium Alginate, Calcium Chloride, Powdered Cellulose, Flaxseed, Choline Chloride, FishOil, Guar Gum, vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement,L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of Vitamin C), Thiamine Mononitrate,Niacin Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin B12 Supplement,Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Biotin, Riboflavin Supplement, Vitamin D3Supplement, Folic Acid), Dried Tomato Pomace, Dried Citrus Pulp, Spinach, Monosodium Phosphate, Dicalcium Phosphate, Calcium Lactate, Calcium Gluconate, Lipoic Acid, Sodium Tripolyphosphate, MagnesiumOxide, Taurine, minerals (Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Copper Sulfate,Manganese Sulfate, Calcium Iodate), L-Carnitine, Natural Flavors

4 ingredients in this list are ones we hold sourced evidence on , and none of them is contested in the veterinary literature.

  • Powdered Cellulose · ingredient 17NeutralPurified plant cell-wall fiber (typically from wood pulp) used as an insoluble-fiber source, bulking agent, and anti-caking aid, often in weight-management diets. It is not absorbed and is poorly fermentable, so it firms stool and dilutes calories but yields little of the short-chain fatty acids that more fermentable fibers produce; EFSA's 2018 re-evaluation found no safety concern and no need for a numerical ADI.
  • Flaxseed (ALA omega-3) · ingredient 18NeutralA plant source of the short-chain omega-3 ALA. Dogs convert ALA to the long-chain omega-3s inefficiently: a controlled feeding study (Dunbar 2010) found flaxseed raised serum EPA but produced no measurable DHA.
  • Guar Gum · ingredient 21NeutralA soluble, viscous fiber from the guar bean used in small amounts to thicken and stabilize foods, mostly wet formulas. At higher dietary inclusion it can lower the digestibility of dry matter and protein in dogs, but it also produces metabolic effects such as reduced post-meal insulin and cholesterol; at the low levels used as a thickener these effects are minor.
  • Taurine (supplemental) · ingredient 33NeutralA sulfur amino acid that dogs can normally synthesize from methionine and cysteine, so it is not classically essential for them. However, some breeds (e.g., golden retrievers) and some diets are linked to low taurine status and dilated cardiomyopathy: an observational study (Ontiveros 2020) associated non-traditional, largely grain-free diets with taurine deficiency and DCM-consistent echocardiographic changes in golden retrievers, though causation and mechanism remain under investigation.

The maker

Who makes this — and how they back it up

The five questions the WSAVA nutrition guidelines tell you to ask a pet-food company. Every answer is sourced or marked as an undisclosed gap — never guessed. This is the "is it made competently?" axis that star-rating sites skip.

Owns its manufacturing Owns its plants

Same source: 'Hill's is currently building a new canned pet food manufacturing facility in Kansas... and in May completed the acquisition of a canned pet food plant in Italy from Nutriamo.' Indicates Hill's owns and operates its own manufacturing plants.

source →
Employs a qualified nutritionist Yes — sourced

Hill's explicitly employs four ACVN Diplomates (board-certified veterinary nutritionists) plus PhD nutritionists per same page ('Our staff of PhD nutritionists, food scientists, flavorists and veterinarians').

source →
AAFCO feeding trials Yes — sourced

167 of 212 labels we checked carry an AAFCO feeding-trial substantiation statement.

source →
Publishes quality-control testing Yes — sourced

covers: finished-product nutrient analysis (page also says each ingredient is examined and final safety checks run daily on every product; no Salmonella/batch detail on this page). Hill's company-wide page. NOTE: hillspet.com returns HTTP 403 to plain scripted requests; quote confirmed in-session via WebFetch only.

source →
Peer-reviewed research Yes — sourced

179 PubMed papers (animal/pet filtered) list Hill's Pet Nutrition in an author address; we checked 179 and 178 really name the company. A floor, not a total.

source →
Parent company Colgate-Palmolive Company ↗ Founded 1968 ↗ Headquarters / plant Overland Park, Kansas ↗ FDA recalls on record 3 on record

Full company scorecard, sources, and every SKU we've verified for this brand: Hill's Science Diet brand page →