Home / Dog food / Pedigree / PEDIGREE® Small Dog Dry Food – Grilled Steak & Veg

product photo
coming soon
no verified photo yet — never a mockup

Pedigree · brand facts & recall history →

PEDIGREE® Small Dog Dry Food – Grilled Steak & Veg

Dry food · adult dogs

A dry food that's denser than 14% (you feed fewer cups). We don't have a cost per day for this food yet.

THE FACTS, ONE SENTENCE — data as JSON · reference dog 40 lb · updated 2026-07-11

Tell us about your dogevery number on this page updates live ↓
40 lb
For a 40-lb adult: 3 cupsper day not pricedper day 5 daysbag lasts 0 pass, 1 fail fit checks ↓

Joint, kidney, dental or heart concerns? Labels can't honestly answer those — that's vet territory. Why we don't checkmark them →

The evidence

The Verified Label

Every food on this site gets this exact panel — same fields, same order, sourced from the official label — so brands finally become comparable. Dots show where this food sits among all 494 dry foods we've verified.

Verified LabelThe standardized pet-food panel
VPFD № PEDIGR
verified 2026-07-11

Composition — dry-matter basis

why dry matter
Kibble is ~10% water, canned food ~78%, so as-fed numbers are on two different scales. As-fed values shown small. How the conversion works →
Protein 23.9%label: 21% min lower than 92% of dry foods
Fat 12.5%label: 11% min lower than 86% of dry foods
Fiber 4.5%label: 4% max typical — the median dry food is 5.4%
Est. carbohydrates ash not disclosed → 8% assumed, so this is an estimate ≈50%computed anchor available once more brands disclose ash
Calcium / Phosphorus extended guarantees: Ca 1% · P 0.8% 1.25 : 1ratio, as fed within the AAFCO adult range (1:1 – 2:1)

Calories & cost — for your 40-lb adult dog

Calorie density 332 kcal/cup3469 kcal/kg lighter than 86% of dry foods (median 388) — you feed more cups
Daily serving3 cups
Cost per day—
3.5-lb bag lasts5 days

No cost per 1,000 kcal yet: we haven't matched this food to a current Amazon listing. Serving math uses standard veterinary energy formulas — see the formula.

Standards & ingredients

AAFCO statement
what this means
Two claims exist: formulated to meet a profile, or fed to real dogs in an AAFCO trial. Which is stronger, and how rare it is →
Not yet verified from label
First five ingredients (by pre-cooking weight)Ground Whole Grain Corn · Chicken By-Product Meal (Source Of Glucosamine & Chondroitin Sulfate) · Corn Gluten Meal · Animal Fat (Source Of Omega 6 Fatty Acids [Preserved With BHA/Citric Acid]) · Meat And Bone Meal
Named animal protein first; named meals onlyNo
Legumes in first 10 (FDA DCM inquiry)1 (soybean meal)
BHA / BHT preservativesYes — see ingredient list
Carrageenan (thickener)None
Ethoxyquin
why unknown
A preservative added by a fish-meal supplier need not appear on the finished label, so no label can prove its absence. Why we show gaps →
None — no fish meal in this recipe

Safety

FDA recalls — Pedigree, since 20232 on record — see recall history
ManufacturerNot confirmed from label
Label transparency 8 of 15 standard fields
Green = verified favorable · amber = gap in the record · red = verified unfavorable · gray = not disclosed / neutral fact.
Source: official label source (official) · anchors: 494 verified dry dog foods (360 priced) · how to read this label

The fit

For your dog, specifically

Checked for a 40-lb adult with a sensitive stomach — the same published criteria our finder uses. Change your dog above and these update.

·
Life-stage coverage not disclosedNo AAFCO nutrient-adequacy statement was found on the label for this SKU, so we cannot confirm adult-maintenance coverage.
✕
Does not pass our sensitive-stomach checksDoes not lead with a named animal protein. Contains an unnamed by-product. See sensitive-stomach qualifiers →
·
Contains chickenNot selected as a concern for your dog — shown here for reference.

The source material

The full ingredient list

Every flag above is computed from this list. Why order is by pre-cooking weight, and how splitting bends it →

Ground Whole Grain Corn, Chicken By-Product Meal (Source Of Glucosamine & Chondroitin Sulfate), Corn Gluten Meal, Animal Fat (Source Of Omega 6 Fatty Acids [Preserved With BHA/Citric Acid]), Meat And Bone Meal, Soybean Meal, Ground Whole Grain Wheat, Natural Flavor, Brewers Rice, Salt, Calcium Carbonate, Monocalcium Phosphate, Potassium Chloride, Choline Chloride, Dried Peas, DL-Methionine, Natural Grilled Steak Flavor, Vitamin E Supplement, Zinc Sulfate, L-Tryptophan, Red 40, Yellow 6, Dried Carrots, Niacin [Vitamin B3], Blue 2, Yellow 5, D-Calcium Pantothenate [Source Of Vitamin B5], Copper Sulfate, Sodium Selenite, Potassium Iodide, Vitamin A Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement [Vitamin B2], Vitamin B12 Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate [Vitamin B1], Vitamin D3 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride [Vitamin B6], Folic Acid.

6 ingredients in this list are ones we hold sourced evidence on , and 2 of them are genuinely contested rather than merely unpopular online.

  • BHA (butylated hydroxyanisole) · ingredient 4ContestedA synthetic antioxidant that slows fat oxidation (rancidity) in dry and fatty pet foods. Regulators permit it: EFSA judged BHA safe for most animal species up to 150 mg/kg complete feed, though it could not set a safe level for cats due to insufficient data.
  • Peas · ingredient 15ContestedA pulse (legume) used in many grain-free foods as a plant protein and carbohydrate source. Peas are central to an open FDA investigation, begun in July 2018, into a possible link between diets high in peas, other pulses, and potatoes and canine dilated cardiomyopathy (DCM); 93% of reported products contained peas and/or lentils.
  • By-Product Meal (Meat / Poultry By-Product Meal) · ingredient 2NeutralA rendered concentrate made from clean, non-muscle parts of the carcass (organs, necks, feet, and similar), defined by AAFCO. It is more variable and lower-transparency than a named muscle meal, but it is not inherently unsafe or low-nutrition: controlled feeding trials in dogs report high protein digestibility (roughly 92-95%) for poultry by-product-based diets, and some by-product organs are nutrient-dense.
  • Corn Gluten Meal · ingredient 3NeutralThe dried protein fraction of corn, used as a concentrated plant protein (roughly 60% protein) rather than a filler. Its amino acids are highly digestible in dogs (reported up to about 95%), though lysine is the first-limiting amino acid, so complete diets balance it with other protein sources.
  • Meat and Bone Meal · ingredient 5NeutralA rendered concentrate of mammal tissue that also includes bone, giving it high mineral/ash content and lower crude protein (roughly 39-46%) than clean meat meals. Amino-acid availability varies substantially with rendering temperature and pressure — studies show good digestibility is achievable but not guaranteed across processing methods.
  • Brewers Rice · ingredient 9NeutralAn AAFCO-defined ingredient consisting of the small, broken fragments of rice kernels separated during milling. It is a digestible carbohydrate and energy source nutritionally similar to other rice; the 'brewers' name reflects how the fragments are sourced, not lower nutritional quality.

Nutritional twins

Priced close matches

This food has no verified price yet — these are the closest label matches that do.

24.4% protein (DM)$1.65 / 1,000 kcal
24.4% protein (DM)$2.05 / 1,000 kcal

Label-composition matches only: same species, form, and growth stage; same primary protein where both are known; grain-free preserved; protein within 4 points and fat within 4 points, and estimated carbs within 8 points, on a dry-matter basis. Not a medical or quality recommendation.

The maker

Who makes this — and how they back it up

The five questions the WSAVA nutrition guidelines tell you to ask a pet-food company. Every answer is sourced or marked as an undisclosed gap — never guessed. This is the "is it made competently?" axis that star-rating sites skip.

Owns its manufacturing Owns its plants

Mars Petcare owns/operates the Mattoon plant that produces Pedigree; Mars operates 14+ owned US plants.

source →
Employs a qualified nutritionist Yes — sourced

Official brand FAQ explicitly states PhD nutritionists on staff; also states formulators include 'PhD/MS animal nutritionists, as well as PhD/MS food scientists.' No individual named, but credential class (PhD nutritionist) is stated. Backed by Mars' Waltham Petcare Science Institute.

source →
AAFCO feeding trials Undisclosed

No feeding-trial AAFCO statement found on the 70 labels we’ve verified for this brand, and no company-wide claim was found either. Most pet foods are only "formulated to meet" AAFCO profiles (a paper calculation) rather than fed to real animals in trials — this is common, not necessarily a red flag.

Publishes quality-control testing Yes — sourced

covers: finished-product testing, toxicological review of ingredients. Pedigree FAQ answering WSAVA's QC question.

source →
Peer-reviewed research Yes — sourced

666 PubMed papers (animal/pet filtered) list Waltham Petcare Science Institute (Mars Petcare) in an author address; we checked 200 and 200 really name the company. A floor, not a total.

source →
Parent company Mars, Incorporated (Mars Petcare) ↗ Founded 1934 ↗ Headquarters / plant McLean, Virginia, U.S. ↗ FDA recalls on record 7 on record

Full company scorecard, sources, and every SKU we've verified for this brand: Pedigree brand page →