Home / Dog food / Royal Canin / Royal Canin Starter Mother & Babydog Ultra Soft Mousse In Sauce Canned Dog Food

product photo
coming soon
no verified photo yet — never a mockup

Royal Canin · brand facts & recall history →

Royal Canin Starter Mother & Babydog Ultra Soft Mousse In Sauce Canned Dog Food

Wet food · puppy dogs

A formulated-to-meet wet food from Royal Canin. Pricing and/or calorie data haven't been independently confirmed for this SKU yet, so cost-per-day isn't shown.

THE FACTS, ONE SENTENCE — data as JSON · reference dog 40 lb · updated 2026-07-11

Tell us about your dogevery number on this page updates live ↓
40 lb
For a 40-lb adult: 7 cansper day not pricedper day —bag lasts 0 pass, 1 fail fit checks ↓

Joint, kidney, dental or heart concerns? Labels can't honestly answer those — that's vet territory. Why we don't checkmark them →

The evidence

The Verified Label

Every food on this site gets this exact panel — same fields, same order, sourced from the official label — so brands finally become comparable. Corpus dot-anchors currently cover dry food only — this is a wet food, so anchors are omitted below rather than compared across forms.

Verified LabelThe standardized pet-food panel
VPFD № ROYAL-
verified 2026-07-11

Composition — dry-matter basis

why dry matter
Kibble is ~10% water, canned food ~78%, so as-fed numbers are on two different scales. As-fed values shown small. How the conversion works →
Protein 43.6%label: 8.5% min no corpus anchor for this food form
Fat 23.1%label: 4.5% min no corpus anchor for this food form
Fiber 7.7%label: 1.5% max no corpus anchor for this food form
Est. carbohydrates ash not disclosed → 8% assumed, so this is an estimate ≈10.3%computed no corpus anchor for this food form
Calcium / Phosphorus extended guarantees: DHA 0.03% Not yet verifiedcalcium/phosphorus no ratio to anchor

Calories & cost — for your 40-lb adult dog

Calorie density 141 kcal/can972 kcal/kg no corpus anchor for this food form
Daily serving7 cans
Cost per day—
Bag lasts—

No cost per 1,000 kcal yet: we haven't matched this food to a current Amazon listing. Serving math uses standard veterinary energy formulas — see the formula.

Standards & ingredients

AAFCO statement
what this means
Two claims exist: formulated to meet a profile, or fed to real dogs in an AAFCO trial. Which is stronger, and how rare it is →
Formulated to meet · lifestage not yet verified
First five ingredients (by pre-cooking weight)Water sufficient for processing · chicken · pork by-products · chicken liver · brewers rice flour
Named animal protein first; named meals onlyNo
Legumes in first 10 (FDA DCM inquiry)None
BHA / BHT preservativesNone on label
Carrageenan (thickener)Yes
Ethoxyquin
why unknown
A preservative added by a fish-meal supplier need not appear on the finished label, so no label can prove its absence. Why we show gaps →
None — no fish meal in this recipe

Safety

FDA recalls — Royal Canin, since 2023None on record
ManufacturerNot confirmed from label
Label transparency 8 of 15 standard fields
Green = verified favorable · amber = gap in the record · red = verified unfavorable · gray = not disclosed / neutral fact.
Source: official label source (official) · anchors: 494 verified dry dog foods (360 priced) · how to read this label

The fit

For your dog, specifically

Checked for a 40-lb adult with a sensitive stomach — the same published criteria our finder uses. Change your dog above and these update.

·
Life-stage coverage not disclosedNo AAFCO nutrient-adequacy statement was found on the label for this SKU, so we cannot confirm adult-maintenance coverage.
✕
Does not pass our sensitive-stomach checksDoes not lead with a named animal protein. See sensitive-stomach qualifiers →
·
Contains chickenNot selected as a concern for your dog — shown here for reference.

The source material

The full ingredient list

Every flag above is computed from this list. Why order is by pre-cooking weight, and how splitting bends it →

Water sufficient for processing, chicken, pork by-products, chicken liver, brewers rice flour, gelatin, powdered cellulose, fish oil, casein, calcium carbonate, glycine, sodium tripolyphosphate, pork plasma, sodium aluminosilicate, hydrolyzed yeast, natural flavors, carrageenan, taurine, guar gum, vitamins[L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), niacin supplement, biotin, D-calcium pantothenate, riboflavin supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin B12 supplement, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement], potassium chloride, citric acid, choline chloride, sodium carbonate, trace minerals[zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, zinc proteinate, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, sodium selenite, calcium iodate], magnesium oxide, marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), carotene

6 ingredients in this list are ones we hold sourced evidence on , and 1 of them is genuinely contested rather than merely unpopular online.

  • Carrageenan · ingredient 17Worth knowingA seaweed-derived (Chondrus crispus) thickener and gelling agent used mainly in some wet and canned dog foods. Low-molecular-weight 'degraded' carrageenan (poligeenan) is inflammatory in lab-animal studies and is not permitted as a food additive, but food-grade undegraded carrageenan (E 407) is authorized by regulators; EFSA's 2018 re-evaluation kept only a temporary group ADI of 75 mg/kg body weight per day pending better data, and its specific effect in dogs is unresolved.
  • Fish oil (EPA + DHA omega-3) · ingredient 8Well supportedMarine-source omega-3 fatty acids (EPA and DHA) from fish oil. A randomized, double-blinded controlled trial (Roush 2010) found improved weight-bearing in dogs with osteoarthritis, and a 2022 meta-analysis identified clear clinical analgesic efficacy for omega-3-enriched diets and supplements.
  • Brewers Rice · ingredient 5NeutralAn AAFCO-defined ingredient consisting of the small, broken fragments of rice kernels separated during milling. It is a digestible carbohydrate and energy source nutritionally similar to other rice; the 'brewers' name reflects how the fragments are sourced, not lower nutritional quality.
  • Powdered Cellulose · ingredient 7NeutralPurified plant cell-wall fiber (typically from wood pulp) used as an insoluble-fiber source, bulking agent, and anti-caking aid, often in weight-management diets. It is not absorbed and is poorly fermentable, so it firms stool and dilutes calories but yields little of the short-chain fatty acids that more fermentable fibers produce; EFSA's 2018 re-evaluation found no safety concern and no need for a numerical ADI.
  • Taurine (supplemental) · ingredient 18NeutralA sulfur amino acid that dogs can normally synthesize from methionine and cysteine, so it is not classically essential for them. However, some breeds (e.g., golden retrievers) and some diets are linked to low taurine status and dilated cardiomyopathy: an observational study (Ontiveros 2020) associated non-traditional, largely grain-free diets with taurine deficiency and DCM-consistent echocardiographic changes in golden retrievers, though causation and mechanism remain under investigation.
  • Guar Gum · ingredient 19NeutralA soluble, viscous fiber from the guar bean used in small amounts to thicken and stabilize foods, mostly wet formulas. At higher dietary inclusion it can lower the digestibility of dry matter and protein in dogs, but it also produces metabolic effects such as reduced post-meal insulin and cholesterol; at the low levels used as a thickener these effects are minor.

The maker

Who makes this — and how they back it up

The five questions the WSAVA nutrition guidelines tell you to ask a pet-food company. Every answer is sourced or marked as an undisclosed gap — never guessed. This is the "is it made competently?" axis that star-rating sites skip.

Owns its manufacturing Owns its plants

Owns/operates its own plants; Mars opened a new $450M Royal Canin factory in Lewisburg, Ohio in 2025 (confirmed via mars.com press release).

source →
Employs a qualified nutritionist Yes — sourced

Official Royal Canin US page explicitly states board-certified veterinary nutritionists and PhD nutritionists on staff.

source →
AAFCO feeding trials Not stated

Ambiguous: Royal Canin's answer to WSAVA's feeding-trial question says 'nutrient profiles and/or feeding trials' and does not say which retail foods had AAFCO feeding trials. every one says 'formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles' and none carries an 'animal feeding tests' statement.

source →
Publishes quality-control testing Yes — sourced

covers: ingredient testing, finished-product analysis; same page: NIRS ingredient checks and mycotoxin testing. Royal Canin US answers to WSAVA's questions.

source →
Peer-reviewed research Yes — sourced

195 PubMed papers (animal/pet filtered) list Royal Canin in an author address; we checked 195 and 189 really name the company. A floor, not a total.

source →
Parent company Mars, Incorporated (Mars Petcare) ↗ Founded 1968 ↗ Headquarters / plant Aimargues, France ↗ FDA recalls on record 2 on record

Full company scorecard, sources, and every SKU we've verified for this brand: Royal Canin brand page →