Home / Dog food / Zignature / Zignature Inception Fish Recipe Wet Food Can

product photo
coming soon
no verified photo yet — never a mockup

Zignature · brand facts & recall history →

Zignature Inception Fish Recipe Wet Food Can

Wet food · all dogs

A formulated-to-meet, ocean-first wet food from Zignature. Pricing and/or calorie data haven't been independently confirmed for this SKU yet, so cost-per-day isn't shown.

THE FACTS, ONE SENTENCE — data as JSON · reference dog 40 lb · updated 2026-07-11

Tell us about your dogevery number on this page updates live ↓
40 lb
For a 40-lb adult: not pricedper day —bag lasts passes 2 fit checks ↓

Joint, kidney, dental or heart concerns? Labels can't honestly answer those — that's vet territory. Why we don't checkmark them →

The evidence

The Verified Label

Every food on this site gets this exact panel — same fields, same order, sourced from the official label — so brands finally become comparable. Corpus dot-anchors currently cover dry food only — this is a wet food, so anchors are omitted below rather than compared across forms.

Verified LabelThe standardized pet-food panel
VPFD № ZIGNAT
verified 2026-07-11

Composition — dry-matter basis

why dry matter
Kibble is ~10% water, canned food ~78%, so as-fed numbers are on two different scales. As-fed values shown small. How the conversion works →
Protein 27.3%label: 6% min no corpus anchor for this food form
Fat 18.2%label: 4% min no corpus anchor for this food form
Fiber 9.1%label: 2% max no corpus anchor for this food form
Est. carbohydrates ash not disclosed → 8% assumed, so this is an estimate ≈31.8%computed no corpus anchor for this food form
Calcium / Phosphorus extended guarantees: none verified yet Not yet verifiedcalcium/phosphorus no ratio to anchor

Calories & cost — for your 40-lb adult dog

Calorie density 944 kcal/kgper-serving value not disclosed no corpus anchor for this food form
Daily serving—
Cost per day—
Bag lasts—

No cost per 1,000 kcal yet: we haven't matched this food to a current Amazon listing. Serving math uses standard veterinary energy formulas — see the formula.

Standards & ingredients

AAFCO statement
what this means
Two claims exist: formulated to meet a profile, or fed to real dogs in an AAFCO trial. Which is stronger, and how rare it is →
Formulated to meet · all_life_stages
First five ingredients (by pre-cooking weight)Ocean Whitefish · Fish Broth · Barley · Sunflower Oil · Natural Fish Flavor
Named animal protein first; named meals onlyYes
Legumes in first 10 (FDA DCM inquiry)None
BHA / BHT preservativesNone on label
Carrageenan (thickener)None
Ethoxyquin
why unknown
A preservative added by a fish-meal supplier need not appear on the finished label, so no label can prove its absence. Why we show gaps →
None — no fish meal in this recipe

Safety

FDA recalls — Zignature, since 2023None on record
ManufacturerNot confirmed from label
Label transparency 7 of 15 standard fields
Green = verified favorable · amber = gap in the record · red = verified unfavorable · gray = not disclosed / neutral fact.
Source: official label source (official) · anchors: 494 verified dry dog foods (360 priced) · how to read this label

The fit

For your dog, specifically

Checked for a 40-lb adult with a sensitive stomach — the same published criteria our finder uses. Change your dog above and these update.

✓
Validated for adult dogsAAFCO statement covers adult maintenance.
✓
Passes our sensitive-stomach checksNamed animal protein first, and no unnamed by-products in the ingredient list.
·
Chicken-free recipeNot selected for your dog — but relevant if chicken sensitivity ever comes up.

The source material

The full ingredient list

Every flag above is computed from this list. Why order is by pre-cooking weight, and how splitting bends it →

Ocean Whitefish, Fish Broth, Barley, Sunflower Oil, Natural Fish Flavor, Agar-Agar, Potassium Chloride, Salt, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Niacin Supplement, D-Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin A Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Vitamin B12, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Folic Acid), Minerals (Iron Proteinate, Zinc Proteinate, Manganese Proteinate, Copper Proteinate, Sodium Selenite, Ethylenediamine Dihydriodide), Taurine, Choline Chloride

1 ingredient in this list is ones we hold sourced evidence on , and none of them is contested in the veterinary literature.

  • Taurine (supplemental) · ingredient 11NeutralA sulfur amino acid that dogs can normally synthesize from methionine and cysteine, so it is not classically essential for them. However, some breeds (e.g., golden retrievers) and some diets are linked to low taurine status and dilated cardiomyopathy: an observational study (Ontiveros 2020) associated non-traditional, largely grain-free diets with taurine deficiency and DCM-consistent echocardiographic changes in golden retrievers, though causation and mechanism remain under investigation.

Nutritional twins

Priced close matches

This food has no verified price yet — these are the closest label matches that do.

Label-composition matches only: same species, form, and growth stage; same primary protein where both are known; grain-free preserved; protein within 4 points and fat within 4 points, and estimated carbs within 8 points, on a dry-matter basis. Not a medical or quality recommendation.

The maker

Who makes this — and how they back it up

The five questions the WSAVA nutrition guidelines tell you to ask a pet-food company. Every answer is sourced or marked as an undisclosed gap — never guessed. This is the "is it made competently?" axis that star-rating sites skip.

Owns its manufacturing Co-packed

Zignature's own site describes all named production facilities as third-party 'partners,' not company-owned plants.

source →
Employs a qualified nutritionist Yes — sourced

Zignature states it contracts a full-time PhD animal nutritionist and DVMs via BSM Partners (a third-party pet nutrition consulting firm), not an in-house employee. No named individual or stated ACVN/ECVCN board certification was found.

source →
AAFCO feeding trials Claims trials, no label shows one

Brand claims long-term feeding studies 'based on - and enhanced from - the official AAFCO guidelines'; every Zignature label we hold says 'formulated to meet'. None of the 54 AAFCO statements we read on its labels says "animal feeding tests".

source →
Publishes quality-control testing Yes — sourced

covers: ingredient testing by manufacturing partners, in-process and finished-product testing. Zignature (Pets Global) answers to WSAVA's questions.

source →
Peer-reviewed research None found

PubMed lists no animal or pet paper with Pets Global in an author address. Not proof no research exists — only that none is indexed under that company name.

source →
Parent company Pets Global, Inc. ↗ Founded 2010 ↗ Headquarters / plant Valencia, California, USA ↗ FDA recalls on record None on record

Full company scorecard, sources, and every SKU we've verified for this brand: Zignature brand page →