Wheat Gluten
Wheat Gluten appears on 257 of the 2,354 pet food labels we have verified against the official product label — 10.9% of the corpus. That is 123 dog foods (11.1% of the dog corpus) and 134 cat foods (10.8% of the cat corpus). Nobody publishes that split because computing it means reading every label.
What it is, and why it is in the food
The concentrated protein fraction of wheat, used as a plant protein and binder; it is highly digestible in dogs (about 88% crude-protein digestibility in one feeding study). The 2007 pet-food deaths linked to wheat gluten were caused by criminal melamine adulteration of imported product to fake protein readings, a contamination event rather than a property of wheat gluten itself.
The evidence base is moderate: real studies exist, but the number of them is small enough that a single new trial could move the picture.
How common it is, and where it sits on the label
Ingredients are listed by pre-cooking weight, so position carries information: something in the first five is present in bulk, something near the end is a trace addition. Wheat Gluten is in the first five ingredients on 123 of the 257 foods that contain it — 48% — so on those it is a structural part of the recipe rather than an additive.
| Cut | Foods | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Dog foods | 123 | 11.1% of the dog corpus |
| Cat foods | 134 | 10.8% of the cat corpus |
| Dry food | 138 | 54% of foods containing it |
| Wet food | 119 | 46% of foods containing it |
| In the first five ingredients | 123 | 48% of foods containing it |
Every food that contains it, cheapest calories first
Ranked by cost per 1,000 kcal, which is the only price basis that survives different bag sizes and moisture levels. 166 of the 257 foods containing wheat gluten have a matched price; the rest are verified but unpriced.
| Food | Species | Form | Protein (DM) | Cost / 1,000 kcal | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Royal Canin Great Dane Adult Dry Dog Food | Dog | dry | 23.3% | $1.77 | Check price |
| Royal Canin Rottweiler Adult Dry Dog Food | Dog | dry | 26.7% | $1.89 | Check price |
| Royal Canin Boxer Adult Dry Dog Food | Dog | dry | 26.7% | $1.89 | Check price |
| Royal Canin French Bulldog Adult Dry Dog Food | Dog | dry | 26.7% | $1.91 | Check price |
| Royal Canin Dalmatian Adult Dry Dog Food | Dog | dry | 22.2% | $1.92 | Check price |
| Royal Canin Small Adult Dry Dog Food | Dog | dry | 27.9% | $1.96 | Check price |
| Royal Canin Bulldog Adult Dry Dog Food | Dog | dry | 24.4% | $2.05 | Check price |
| Royal Canin Boxer Puppy Dry Dog Food | Dog | dry | 31.1% | $2.05 | Check price |
| Royal Canin Bulldog Puppy Dry Dog Food | Dog | dry | 31.1% | $2.08 | Check price |
| Royal Canin Medium Puppy Dry Dog Food | Dog | dry | 33.3% | $2.09 | Check price |
| Royal Canin Small Puppy Dry Dog Food | Dog | dry | 32.4% | $2.11 | Check price |
| Royal Canin Labrador Retriever Adult Dry Dog Food | Dog | dry | 31.3% | $2.11 | Check price |
| Item | Value (%) |
|---|---|
| Dog foods | 11.1% (123) |
| Cat foods | 10.8% (134) |
| Dry (of those with it) | 54% (138) |
| Wet (of those with it) | 46% (119) |
| In the first 5 ingredients | 48% (123) |
What actually differs about the foods that use it
Held to one species and one form — dry cat food — so the comparison is not just measuring moisture. 57 verified dry cat foods list wheat gluten; 286 do not. These are medians across those two groups.
| Measure | Contains it (57) | Does not (286) | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Protein, dry matter | 33.7% | 40.0% | 6.3 points lower |
| Estimated carbohydrate, dry matter | 33.4% | 29.5% | 3.9 points higher |
| Cost per 1,000 kcal | $3.66 | $2.32 | $1.34 higher |
Across every food that lists it, wheat gluten sits at position 6 in the ingredient list on a median food. The brands using it most in our corpus are Royal Canin (143), Hill's Science Diet (65), Pedigree (17), Fancy Feast (9), Iams (7). A difference in this table is an association, not a cause: brands that reach for one ingredient tend to make similar formulation choices across the whole recipe.
Comparable foods that do not list it
Most people searching an ingredient name want the other half of the answer: what to buy instead. These are verified dry cat foods — the same species and form as most of the foods above, so the comparison is like for like — that do not list wheat gluten anywhere in their ingredients, cheapest per 1,000 kcal first.
| Food | Protein (DM) | Est. carbs (DM) | Cost / 1,000 kcal | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Meow Mix Original Choice | 34.1% | 40% | $0.90 | Check price |
| Rachael Ray Nutrish Rachael Ray® Nutrish™ Dry Cat Food Real Salmon & Brown Rice Recipe | 37.4% | 34% | $0.98 | Check price |
| IAMS PROACTIVE HEALTH Healthy Adult with Chicken | 35.6% | 36% | $1.07 | Check price |
| IAMS™ PROACTIVE HEALTH™ HEALTHY ADULT WITH SALMON | Not disclosed | Not computable | $1.08 | Check price |
| IAMS PROACTIVE HEALTH Healthy Kitten | 36.7% | 28% | $1.17 | Check price |
| IAMS™ HEALTHY WEIGHT DRY CAT | Not disclosed | Not computable | $1.19 | Check price |
| IAMS™ PROACTIVE HEALTH™ HEALTHY SENIOR | Not disclosed | Not computable | $1.25 | Check price |
| IAMS™ PROACTIVE HEALTH™ URINARY TRACT HEALTH WITH CHICKEN | Not disclosed | Not computable | $1.47 | Check price |
| Blue Buffalo BLUE Tastefuls Sensitive Stomach Adult Cat Chicken and Brown Rice Recipe | 35.2% | 35% | $1.55 | Check price |
| IAMS PROACTIVE HEALTH Adult Sensitive Digestion & Skin | 36.7% | 36% | $1.55 | Check price |
Avoiding one ingredient is rarely a good reason to switch on its own. Use this table the way you would use any other single filter — alongside the AAFCO statement, the protein figure and the recall record, all of which are on each food's page.
What we don’t know
Our figure counts what manufacturers print. An ingredient that arrives inside another component — a preservative already in the fish meal, say — does not have to be declared separately by the pet-food maker, so a count from labels is a floor, not a ceiling. We also cannot see inclusion rate: a label tells you wheat gluten is present and roughly where it sits by weight, never how much.
The gap here is that a named protein on a label says nothing about how much of it there is. Ingredients are ordered by pre-cooking weight, so a fresh meat listed first can contribute less finished protein than a meal listed third — the water is still in it at weigh-in. We do not translate any of this into a score. There is no honest way to weigh one ingredient against a food’s AAFCO substantiation, its recall history and its cost, and sites that do it anyway are making the weighting up.
Sources
- Effects of different protein sources on fermentation metabolites and nutrient digestibility of brachycephalic dogs (wheat gluten diet ~88% crude-protein digestibility), Journal of Nutritional Science (2017)
- AVMA JAVMA News — Recall of pet food leaves veterinarians seeking solutions (2007 melamine-contaminated wheat gluten) (2007)
- Prevalence figures: Verified Pet Food Data corpus, 2,354 labels verified against official product labels. Machine-readable, CC BY 4.0.
Related ingredients
-
Named Muscle Meat (e.g., Deboned Chicken, Beef, Salmon)
On 284 labels (12.1%). Well supported.
-
Generic "Meat" (unspecified species)
On 7 labels (0.3%). Worth knowing.
Frequently asked
How common is wheat gluten in pet food?
It appears on 257 of the 2,354 pet food labels we have verified — 10.9% of the corpus. That breaks down as 123 dog foods (11.1%) and 134 cat foods (10.8%).
Is wheat gluten a main ingredient or a minor one?
On 123 of those 257 foods it appears within the first five ingredients, which means it is present by weight rather than as a trace addition. On the remaining 134 it sits further down the list.
Is wheat gluten bad for dogs or cats?
The concentrated protein fraction of wheat, used as a plant protein and binder; it is highly digestible in dogs (about 88% crude-protein digestibility in one feeding study). The 2007 pet-food deaths linked to wheat gluten were caused by criminal melamine adulteration of imported product to fake protein readings, a contamination event rather than a property of wheat gluten itself.
Which foods do not contain wheat gluten?
Among verified dry cat foods with a matched price, Meow Mix Original Choice, Rachael Ray Nutrish Rachael Ray® Nutrish™ Dry Cat Food Real Salmon & Brown Rice Recipe, IAMS PROACTIVE HEALTH Healthy Adult with Chicken are the cheapest per 1,000 kcal that do not list it. The full table is on this page.
All 35 ingredients we found on a real label are indexed on the ingredient hub. To see how these fields are read off a label in the first place, start with how to read a pet food label.