Home / Cat food / Friskies / Friskies Gravy Swirl'd

product photo
coming soon
no verified photo yet — never a mockup

Friskies · brand facts & recall history →

Friskies Gravy Swirl'd

Dry food · all cats · made by Nestlé Purina PetCare Company

A formulated-to-meet dry food from Friskies, lighter per cup than 58% of the dry cat foods we've verified. Cat-food pricing isn't in our corpus for this SKU yet, so cost-per-day isn't shown — the composition numbers below are fully verified.

THE FACTS, ONE SENTENCE — data as JSON · reference cat 10 lb · updated 2026-07-12

Your catupdates every number on this page
10 lb

Joint, kidney, dental or heart concerns? Labels can't honestly answer those — that's vet territory. Why we don't checkmark them →

The evidence

The Verified Label

Every food on this site gets this exact panel — same fields, same order, sourced from the official label — so brands finally become comparable. Dots show where this food sits among all 283 dry cat foods we've verified.

Verified LabelThe standardized pet-food panel
VPFD № FRISKI
verified 2026-07-12

Composition — dry-matter basis

why dry matter
Dry food is ~5-10% water, wet food ~75-82%, so as-fed numbers are on two different scales. As-fed values shown small. How the conversion works →
Protein 34.1%label: 30% min lower than 83% of dry cat foods
Fat 13.6%label: 12% min no corpus anchor for fat yet
Fiber 3.4%label: 3% max lower than 81% of dry cat foods
Est. carbohydrates ash not disclosed → 8% assumed, so this is an estimate ≈39.8%diabetic-check target <10% higher than 92% of dry cat foods
Magnesium as fed: not yet verified
why 0.12% DM
A commonly cited veterinary target for helping manage struvite-crystal (urinary) risk in cats is magnesium under roughly 0.12% on a dry-matter basis. This is a general, label-checkable guideline — not a diagnosis, and not a substitute for your vet, especially for cats with a history of urinary issues.
Not yet verifiedmagnesium no threshold to check — magnesium not in our verified record
Ash 8% assumed — not disclosed on label 8%as used in carb estimate no corpus anchor for ash yet

Calories & cost — for your 10-lb adult cat

Calorie density 405 kcal/cup3635 kcal/kg typical — the median dry cat food is 415 (median 415)
Daily serving¾ cups
Cost per day
Bag lasts

Cost per 1,000 kcal not available yet — this cat food isn't price-matched to a retail listing in our corpus yet. Serving math uses standard veterinary energy formulas — see the formula.

Standards & ingredients

AAFCO statement
what this means
Two claims exist: formulated to meet a profile, or fed to real cats in an AAFCO trial. Which is stronger, and how rare it is →
Formulated to meet · all_life_stages
First five ingredients (by pre-cooking weight)Ground yellow corn · corn protein meal · chicken by-product meal · soybean meal · animal fat preserved with mixed-tocopherols
Named animal protein first; named meals onlyNo
Legumes in first 10 (FDA DCM inquiry)1 (soybean meal)
BHA / BHT preservativesNone on label
Carrageenan (thickener)None
Ethoxyquin
why unknown
A preservative added by a fish-meal supplier need not appear on the finished label, so no label can prove its absence. Why we show gaps →
Can't be determined from label

Safety

FDA recalls — Friskies, since 2023None on record
ManufacturerNestlé Purina PetCare Company, St. Louis, MO 63164 USA
Label transparency 10 of 15 standard fields
Green = verified favorable · amber = gap in the record · red = verified unfavorable · gray = not disclosed / neutral fact.
Source: official label source (official) · anchors: 283 verified dry cat foods · how to read this label

The fit

For your cat, specifically

Checked for a 10-lb adult cat with urinary health + a low-carb goal — the same published criteria our finder uses. Change your cat above and these update.

Validated for adult catsAAFCO statement covers adult maintenance.
·
Urinary fit — can't assessMagnesium is not disclosed on this label, so the urinary/struvite check cannot be run — most cat food labels omit it entirely (only a small share of the cat foods we've verified disclose magnesium at all).
·
Fiber 3.4% DMNot selected as a concern for your cat — shown here for reference.
·
Sensitive stomachNot selected for your cat — but shown here for reference.
·
Contains chickenNot selected as a concern for your cat — shown here for reference.
Too many estimated carbs for a low-carb target≈39.8% carbohydrate (dry-matter, estimated) is over the ~10% DM target some vets use for diabetic/low-carb cats. Estimate only — not a lab measurement. See lower-carb options →

The source material

The full ingredient list

Every flag above is computed from this list. Why order is by pre-cooking weight, and how splitting bends it →

Ground yellow corn, corn protein meal, chicken by-product meal, soybean meal, animal fat preserved with mixed-tocopherols, wheat flour, meat and bone meal, animal liver flavor, fish meal, calcium carbonate, phosphoric acid, salmon meal, artificial and natural flavors, salt, dried chicken flavored gravy, choline chloride, MINERALS [zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, manganese sulfate, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite], potassium chloride, DL-Methionine, taurine, VITAMINS [Vitamin E supplement, niacin (Vitamin B-3), Vitamin A supplement, calcium pantothenate (Vitamin B-5), thiamine mononitrate (Vitamin B-1), riboflavin supplement (Vitamin B-2), Vitamin B-12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride (Vitamin B-6), folic acid (Vitamin B-9), Vitamin D-3 supplement, biotin (Vitamin B-7), menadione sodium bisulfite complex (Vitamin K)], L-Tryptophan, Red 40, Yellow 5, Blue 2

5 ingredients in this list are ones we hold sourced evidence on , and none of them is contested in the veterinary literature.

  • Mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin E) · ingredient 5Well supportedA blend of vitamin E forms (alpha-, beta-, gamma-, delta-tocopherol) used as a natural-source antioxidant to slow fat rancidity, commonly chosen as an alternative to synthetic preservatives. EFSA concluded that tocopherol-rich extracts are safe for all animal species and the consumer and are efficacious antioxidants in feed.
  • Named Meat/Poultry Meal (e.g., Chicken Meal, Lamb Meal) · ingredient 9Well supportedA rendered, water- and fat-reduced concentrate from a named species (AAFCO, e.g., 'chicken meal'). Because most moisture is removed it is a dense protein source (poultry meals commonly around 57-69% crude protein) and it names the species for allergy avoidance.
  • By-Product Meal (Meat / Poultry By-Product Meal) · ingredient 3NeutralA rendered concentrate made from clean, non-muscle parts of the carcass (organs, necks, feet, and similar), defined by AAFCO. It is more variable and lower-transparency than a named muscle meal, but it is not inherently unsafe or low-nutrition: controlled feeding trials in dogs report high protein digestibility (roughly 92-95%) for poultry by-product-based diets, and some by-product organs are nutrient-dense.
  • Meat and Bone Meal · ingredient 7NeutralA rendered concentrate of mammal tissue that also includes bone, giving it high mineral/ash content and lower crude protein (roughly 39-46%) than clean meat meals. Amino-acid availability varies substantially with rendering temperature and pressure — studies show good digestibility is achievable but not guaranteed across processing methods.
  • Taurine (supplemental) · ingredient 20NeutralA sulfur amino acid that dogs can normally synthesize from methionine and cysteine, so it is not classically essential for them. However, some breeds (e.g., golden retrievers) and some diets are linked to low taurine status and dilated cardiomyopathy: an observational study (Ontiveros 2020) associated non-traditional, largely grain-free diets with taurine deficiency and DCM-consistent echocardiographic changes in golden retrievers, though causation and mechanism remain under investigation.

Wet ingredients like fresh ground yellow corn shrink once cooked — which is why named meals appearing high on the list matter: they keep meaningful animal protein after moisture is removed.

Nutritional twins

Priced close matches

This food has no verified price yet — these are the closest label matches that do.

34.1% protein (DM)$0.90 / 1,000 kcal
33.7% protein (DM)$3.58 / 1,000 kcal
33.7% protein (DM)$3.58 / 1,000 kcal

Label-composition matches only: same species, form, and growth stage; same primary protein where both are known; grain-free preserved; protein within 4 points and fat within 4 points, and estimated carbs within 8 points, on a dry-matter basis. Not a medical or quality recommendation.

The maker

Who makes this — and how they back it up

The four questions the WSAVA nutrition guidelines tell you to ask a pet-food company. Every answer is sourced or marked as an undisclosed gap — never guessed. This is the "is it made competently?" axis that star-rating sites skip.

Owns its manufacturing Owns its plants

Nestlé Purina owns and operates its own U.S. factories.

source →
Employs a qualified nutritionist Yes — sourced

Arleigh Reynolds, DVM, board-certified in veterinary nutrition, employed by Nestlé Purina PetCare (maker of Friskies).

source →
AAFCO feeding trials Undisclosed

No feeding-trial AAFCO statement found on the 38 labels we’ve verified for this brand, and no company-wide claim was found either. Most pet foods are only "formulated to meet" AAFCO profiles (a paper calculation) rather than fed to real animals in trials — this is common, not necessarily a red flag.

Peer-reviewed research Yes — sourced

157 PubMed-indexed papers carry "Nestlé Purina" in an author affiliation (animal/pet-domain filtered) — a reproducible floor, not a total.

source →
Parent company Nestlé Purina PetCare Founded 1934 Headquarters / plant St. Louis, Missouri, USA FDA recalls on record None on record

Full company scorecard, sources, and every SKU we've verified for this brand: Friskies brand page →