Mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin E)

Preservative · evidence: Well supported · on 1,172 of 2,354 verified labels

Mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin E) appear on 1,172 of the 2,354 pet food labels we have verified against the official product label — 49.8% of the corpus. That is 749 dog foods (67.4% of the dog corpus) and 423 cat foods (34.1% of the cat corpus), which makes they substantially more a dog-food ingredient than most discussion admits. Nobody publishes that split because computing it means reading every label.

What it is, and why it is in the food

A blend of vitamin E forms (alpha-, beta-, gamma-, delta-tocopherol) used as a natural-source antioxidant to slow fat rancidity, commonly chosen as an alternative to synthetic preservatives. EFSA concluded that tocopherol-rich extracts are safe for all animal species and the consumer and are efficacious antioxidants in feed. As a preservative they are well tolerated; they contribute only limited vitamin-E nutritional value at preservative use levels.

The evidence base is moderate: real studies exist, but the number of them is small enough that a single new trial could move the picture.

How common it is, and where it sits on the label

Ingredients are listed by pre-cooking weight, so position carries information: something in the first five is present in bulk, something near the end is a trace addition. Mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin E) are in the first five ingredients on 83 of the 1,172 foods that contain it — 7% — so on those it is a structural part of the recipe rather than an additive.

Where mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin e) appears, across 2,354 verified labels.
CutFoodsShare
Dog foods74967.4% of the dog corpus
Cat foods42334.1% of the cat corpus
Dry food93780% of foods containing it
Wet food21518% of foods containing it
Air-dried food121% of foods containing it
Freeze-dried food71% of foods containing it
Fresh food10% of foods containing it
In the first five ingredients837% of foods containing it

Every food that contains it, cheapest calories first

Ranked by cost per 1,000 kcal, which is the only price basis that survives different bag sizes and moisture levels. 509 of the 1,172 foods containing mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin e) have a matched price; the rest are verified but unpriced.

Foods containing mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin e), cheapest per 1,000 kcal first.
FoodSpeciesFormProtein (DM)Cost / 1,000 kcalBuy
Diamond Puppy Dog dry 34.4% $0.62 Check price
Diamond Performance Dog dry 33.3% $0.67 Check price
Diamond Premium Dog dry 28.9% $0.67 Check price
Diamond Naturals Adult Dog Lamb Meal & Rice Formula Dog dry 25.6% $0.68 Check price
Purina ONE Healthy Puppy Formula Dry Dog Food Dog dry 31.8% $0.69 Check price
Diamond Naturals Adult Dog Beef Meal & Rice Formula Dog dry 27.8% $0.69 Check price
Diamond Naturals Large Breed Adult Dog Chicken & Rice Formula Dog dry 25.6% $0.69 Check price
IAMS™ PUPPY LARGE BREED Dog dry 31.1% $0.70 Check price
Diamond Naturals Extreme Athlete Adult Dog Chicken & Rice Formula Dog dry 35.6% $0.74 Check price
Diamond Naturals Large Breed Adult Dog Lamb Meal & Rice Formula Dog dry 24.4% $0.76 Check price
Rachael Ray Nutrish Real Chicken & Veggies Recipe Dry Dog Food Dog dry 25.6% $0.85 Check price
Rachael Ray Nutrish Zero Grain Turkey & Potato Recipe Dry Dog Food Dog dry 28.9% $0.85 Check price

“Check price” links go to a retailer and we may earn a commission — it does not change what is in this table, which is ranked purely on verified cost per 1,000 kcal. Full affiliate disclosure.

Showing the 12 cheapest of 1,172. The complete list, including unpriced foods, is in the JSON endpoint.

Where mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin e) shows up
0% 25% 50% 75% 100% Dog foods 67.4% (749) Cat foods 34.1% (423) Dry (of those with it) 80% (937) Wet (of those with it) 18% (215) Air-dried (of those with it) 1% (12) In the first 5 ingredients 7% (83)
Mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin E) are substantially more common in dog food: 67.4% of the dog corpus against 34.1% of the other. Source: Verified Pet Food Data — 2,354 verified labels, 2026-08-28.
Where mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin e) shows up
ItemValue (%)
Dog foods67.4% (749)
Cat foods34.1% (423)
Dry (of those with it)80% (937)
Wet (of those with it)18% (215)
Air-dried (of those with it)1% (12)
In the first 5 ingredients7% (83)

What actually differs about the foods that use it

Held to one species and one form — dry dog food — so the comparison is not just measuring moisture. 629 verified dry dog foods list mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin e); 21 do not. These are medians across those two groups.

Median values, dry dog foods with and without mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin e).
MeasureContains it (629)Does not (21)Difference
Protein, dry matter29.5%23.9% 5.6 points higher
Estimated carbohydrate, dry matter40.1%50.0% 9.9 points lower
Cost per 1,000 kcal$1.97$1.21 $0.76 higher

Across every food that lists it, mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin e) sits at position 13 in the ingredient list on a median food. The brands using it most in our corpus are Blue Buffalo (219), Royal Canin (119), Fromm (113), Hill's Science Diet (102), Wellness (100). A difference in this table is an association, not a cause: brands that reach for one ingredient tend to make similar formulation choices across the whole recipe.

Comparable foods that do not list it

Most people searching an ingredient name want the other half of the answer: what to buy instead. These are verified dry dog foods — the same species and form as most of the foods above, so the comparison is like for like — that do not list mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin e) anywhere in their ingredients, cheapest per 1,000 kcal first.

Verified dry dog foods without mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin e).
FoodProtein (DM)Est. carbs (DM)Cost / 1,000 kcal
PEDIGREE® Adult Marrobites Steak and Vegetable 23.9% 51% $0.79 Check price
PEDIGREE® Healthy Weight Dry Dog Food – Chicken & Veg 23.9% 55% $0.83 Check price
PEDIGREE® Tender Bites Dry Dog Food – Chicken & Steak 23.9% 50% $0.96 Check price
PEDIGREE® With TENDER BITES Adult Dry Dog Food Chicken & Steak 23.9% 51% $0.99 Check price
Diamond Naturals Grain-Free Pasture-Raised Beef & Sweet Potato Formula for Dogs 26.7% 43% $1.14 Check price
PEDIGREE® Adult Dry Dog Food – Roasted Chicken, Rice & Veg Not disclosed Not computable $1.20 Check price
PEDIGREE® Adult Dry Dog Food – Chicken & Vegetable Not disclosed Not computable $1.21 Check price
PEDIGREE® Big Dogs Roasted Chicken, Rice & Vegetable Dry Food Not disclosed Not computable $1.38 Check price
IAMS ADVANCED HEALTH Healthy Digestion Adult Dry Dog Food with Real Chicken, 4.5 lb. Bag 28.9% 42% $1.40 Check price
PEDIGREE® Dry Dog Food High Protein Beef and Lamb Flavor Not disclosed Not computable $1.75 Check price

Avoiding one ingredient is rarely a good reason to switch on its own. Use this table the way you would use any other single filter — alongside the AAFCO statement, the protein figure and the recall record, all of which are on each food's page.

What we don’t know

Our figure counts what manufacturers print. An ingredient that arrives inside another component — a preservative already in the fish meal, say — does not have to be declared separately by the pet-food maker, so a count from labels is a floor, not a ceiling. We also cannot see inclusion rate: a label tells you mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin e) is present and roughly where it sits by weight, never how much.

The specific gap for preservatives is carry-over. A preservative added by a supplier to a component — most commonly to fish meal, before it ever reaches the pet-food plant — does not have to be declared by the pet-food maker. So a preservative-free ingredient list is evidence about the manufacturer’s own additions and nothing more. We do not translate any of this into a score. There is no honest way to weigh one ingredient against a food’s AAFCO substantiation, its recall history and its cost, and sites that do it anyway are making the weighting up.

Sources

Related ingredients

Frequently asked

How common is mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin e) in pet food?

They appear on 1,172 of the 2,354 pet food labels we have verified — 49.8% of the corpus. That breaks down as 749 dog foods (67.4%) and 423 cat foods (34.1%).

Is mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin e) a main ingredient or a minor one?

On 83 of those 1,172 foods they appear within the first five ingredients, which means it is present by weight rather than as a trace addition. On the remaining 1,089 it sits further down the list.

Is mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin e) bad for dogs or cats?

A blend of vitamin E forms (alpha-, beta-, gamma-, delta-tocopherol) used as a natural-source antioxidant to slow fat rancidity, commonly chosen as an alternative to synthetic preservatives. EFSA concluded that tocopherol-rich extracts are safe for all animal species and the consumer and are efficacious antioxidants in feed. As a preservative they are well tolerated; they contribute only limited vitamin-E nutritional value at preservative use levels.

Which foods do not contain mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin e)?

Among verified dry dog foods with a matched price, PEDIGREE® Adult Marrobites Steak and Vegetable, PEDIGREE® Healthy Weight Dry Dog Food – Chicken & Veg, PEDIGREE® Tender Bites Dry Dog Food – Chicken & Steak are the cheapest per 1,000 kcal that do not list it. The full table is on this page.

All 35 ingredients we found on a real label are indexed on the ingredient hub. To see how these fields are read off a label in the first place, start with how to read a pet food label.