Home / Cat food / Hill's Science Diet / Adult Urinary Hairball Control Vegetables & Tuna Stew Cat Food

product photo
coming soon
no verified photo yet — never a mockup

Hill's Science Diet · brand facts & recall history →

Hill's Science Diet Adult Urinary Hairball Control Vegetables & Tuna Stew Cat Food

Wet food · adult cats

A feeding-trial-validated, chicken-first wet food from Hill's Science Diet, lighter per can than 59% of the wet cat foods we've verified. Price-matched at $28.75 per 1,000 kcal, verified 2026-07-12.

THE FACTS, ONE SENTENCE — data as JSON · reference cat 10 lb · updated 2026-07-12

$48.30 $7.51/day as of 2026-07-12 Check price →
Your catupdates every number on this page
10 lb

Joint, kidney, dental or heart concerns? Labels can't honestly answer those — that's vet territory. Why we don't checkmark them →

The evidence

The Verified Label

Every food on this site gets this exact panel — same fields, same order, sourced from the official label — so brands finally become comparable. Dots show where this food sits among all 732 wet cat foods we've verified.

Verified LabelThe standardized pet-food panel
VPFD № HILL-S
verified 2026-07-12

Composition — dry-matter basis

why dry matter
Dry food is ~5-10% water, wet food ~75-82%, so as-fed numbers are on two different scales. As-fed values shown small. How the conversion works →

We only publish numbers verified from official label sources; we haven't verified this label yet. The guaranteed analysis exists on the package — it just isn't in our verified record so far.

Protein Not yet verifiedlabel min: —% no corpus anchor for this value
Fat Not yet verifiedlabel min: —% no corpus anchor for fat yet
Fiber Not yet verifiedlabel max: —% no corpus anchor for wet-food fiber yet
Est. carbohydrates ash not disclosed → 8% assumed, so this is an estimate Not yet verifiedneeds protein/fat/fiber no corpus anchor for this value
Magnesium as fed: not yet verified
why 0.12% DM
A commonly cited veterinary target for helping manage struvite-crystal (urinary) risk in cats is magnesium under roughly 0.12% on a dry-matter basis. This is a general, label-checkable guideline — not a diagnosis, and not a substitute for your vet, especially for cats with a history of urinary issues.
Not yet verifiedmagnesium no threshold to check — magnesium not in our verified record
Ash not yet verified, no default available Not yet verifiedash no corpus anchor for ash yet

Calories & cost — for your 10-lb adult cat

Calorie density 70 kcal/can— kcal/kg typical — the median wet cat food is 74 (median 74)
Daily serving3¾ cans
Cost per day$7.51
Bag lasts

Cost per 1,000 kcal: $28.75 — price-matched to a current retail listing, verified 2026-07-12. Serving math uses standard veterinary energy formulas — see the formula.

Standards & ingredients

AAFCO statement
what this means
Two claims exist: formulated to meet a profile, or fed to real cats in an AAFCO trial. Which is stronger, and how rare it is →
Feeding trials ✓ · maintenance
First five ingredients (by pre-cooking weight)Chicken Broth · Pork Liver · Chicken · Carrots · Tuna
Named animal protein first; named meals onlyYes
Legumes in first 10 (FDA DCM inquiry)None
BHA / BHT preservativesNone on label
Carrageenan (thickener)None
Ethoxyquin
why unknown
A preservative added by a fish-meal supplier need not appear on the finished label, so no label can prove its absence. Why we show gaps →
None — no fish meal in this recipe

Safety

FDA recalls — Hill's Science Diet, since 2023None on record
ManufacturerNot confirmed from label
Label transparency 2 of 15 standard fields
Green = verified favorable · amber = gap in the record · red = verified unfavorable · gray = not disclosed / neutral fact.
Source: official label source (official) · anchors: 732 verified wet cat foods · how to read this label

The fit

For your cat, specifically

Checked for a 10-lb adult cat with urinary health + a low-carb goal — the same published criteria our finder uses. Change your cat above and these update.

Validated for adult catsAAFCO statement covers adult maintenance.
·
Urinary fit — can't assessMagnesium is not disclosed on this label, so the urinary/struvite check cannot be run — most cat food labels omit it entirely (only a small share of the cat foods we've verified disclose magnesium at all).
·
Fiber not disclosedNot selected for your cat, and not confirmed on this label either way.
·
Sensitive stomachNot selected for your cat — but shown here for reference.
·
Contains chickenNot selected as a concern for your cat — shown here for reference.
·
Low-carb fit — can't assessEstimated carbohydrate needs protein, fat, fiber and ash to compute, and at least one of those is not disclosed for this SKU.

The source material

The full ingredient list

Every flag above is computed from this list. Why order is by pre-cooking weight, and how splitting bends it →

Chicken Broth, Pork Liver, Chicken, Carrots, Tuna, Chicken Fat, Powdered Cellulose, Rice Starch, Wheat Gluten, Spinach, Rice, Hydrolyzed Chicken Flavor, Dried Beet Pulp, Potassium Alginate, Potassium Citrate, Calcium Chloride, Fish Oil, Dicalcium Phosphate, Calcium Sulfate, Guar Gum, Choline Chloride, Monosodium Phosphate, vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of Vitamin C), Thiamine Mononitrate, Niacin Supplement, Ascorbic Acid (source of Vitamin C), Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Biotin, Riboflavin Supplement, Vitamin A Supplement, Folic Acid, Menadione Sodium Bisulfite Complex (source of Vitamin K), Vitamin D3 Supplement), Taurine, Iodized Salt, Sodium Tripolyphosphate, DL-Methionine, L-Carnitine, minerals (Zinc Oxide, Ferrous Sulfate, Manganese Sulfate, Copper Sulfate, Calcium Iodate), Calcium Carbonate, Beta-Carotene

6 ingredients in this list are ones we hold sourced evidence on , and none of them is contested in the veterinary literature.

  • Beet Pulp · ingredient 13Well supportedThe fibrous material left after sugar is extracted from sugar beets, included as a moderately fermentable fiber source (commonly around 5 to 7.5% of the diet). Controlled feeding studies show it supports firm, good-quality stools and short-chain fatty acid production without impairing overall nutrient digestibility, so the 'cheap filler' characterization is not supported by the evidence.
  • Fish oil (EPA + DHA omega-3) · ingredient 17Well supportedMarine-source omega-3 fatty acids (EPA and DHA) from fish oil. A randomized, double-blinded controlled trial (Roush 2010) found improved weight-bearing in dogs with osteoarthritis, and a 2022 meta-analysis identified clear clinical analgesic efficacy for omega-3-enriched diets and supplements.
  • Powdered Cellulose · ingredient 7NeutralPurified plant cell-wall fiber (typically from wood pulp) used as an insoluble-fiber source, bulking agent, and anti-caking aid, often in weight-management diets. It is not absorbed and is poorly fermentable, so it firms stool and dilutes calories but yields little of the short-chain fatty acids that more fermentable fibers produce; EFSA's 2018 re-evaluation found no safety concern and no need for a numerical ADI.
  • Wheat Gluten · ingredient 9NeutralThe concentrated protein fraction of wheat, used as a plant protein and binder; it is highly digestible in dogs (about 88% crude-protein digestibility in one feeding study). The 2007 pet-food deaths linked to wheat gluten were caused by criminal melamine adulteration of imported product to fake protein readings, a contamination event rather than a property of wheat gluten itself.
  • Guar Gum · ingredient 20NeutralA soluble, viscous fiber from the guar bean used in small amounts to thicken and stabilize foods, mostly wet formulas. At higher dietary inclusion it can lower the digestibility of dry matter and protein in dogs, but it also produces metabolic effects such as reduced post-meal insulin and cholesterol; at the low levels used as a thickener these effects are minor.
  • Taurine (supplemental) · ingredient 24NeutralA sulfur amino acid that dogs can normally synthesize from methionine and cysteine, so it is not classically essential for them. However, some breeds (e.g., golden retrievers) and some diets are linked to low taurine status and dilated cardiomyopathy: an observational study (Ontiveros 2020) associated non-traditional, largely grain-free diets with taurine deficiency and DCM-consistent echocardiographic changes in golden retrievers, though causation and mechanism remain under investigation.

The maker

Who makes this — and how they back it up

The four questions the WSAVA nutrition guidelines tell you to ask a pet-food company. Every answer is sourced or marked as an undisclosed gap — never guessed. This is the "is it made competently?" axis that star-rating sites skip.

Owns its manufacturing Owns its plants

Same source: 'Hill's is currently building a new canned pet food manufacturing facility in Kansas... and in May completed the acquisition of a canned pet food plant in Italy from Nutriamo.' Indicates Hill's owns and operates its own manufacturing plants.

source →
Employs a qualified nutritionist Yes — sourced

Hill's explicitly employs four ACVN Diplomates (board-certified veterinary nutritionists) plus PhD nutritionists per same page ('Our staff of PhD nutritionists, food scientists, flavorists and veterinarians').

source →
AAFCO feeding trials Yes — sourced

238 of 309 verified labels in our corpus carry an AAFCO feeding-trial substantiation statement.

source →
Peer-reviewed research Yes — sourced

174 PubMed-indexed papers carry "Hill's Pet Nutrition" in an author affiliation (animal/pet-domain filtered) — a reproducible floor, not a total.

source →
Parent company Colgate-Palmolive Company Founded 1968 Headquarters / plant Overland Park, Kansas FDA recalls on record 2 on record

Full company scorecard, sources, and every SKU we've verified for this brand: Hill's Science Diet brand page →