Home / Cat food / Royal Canin / Royal Canin Weight Care Thin Slices in Gravy Canned Cat Food

product photo
coming soon
no verified photo yet — never a mockup

Royal Canin · brand facts & recall history →

Royal Canin Weight Care Thin Slices in Gravy Canned Cat Food

Wet food · adult cats

A formulated-to-meet wet food from Royal Canin, lighter per can than 86% of the wet cat foods we've verified. Cat-food pricing isn't in our corpus for this SKU yet, so cost-per-day isn't shown — the composition numbers below are fully verified.

THE FACTS, ONE SENTENCE — data as JSON · reference cat 10 lb · updated 2026-07-12

$57.36 as of 2026-07-12 Check price →
Your catupdates every number on this page
10 lb

Joint, kidney, dental or heart concerns? Labels can't honestly answer those — that's vet territory. Why we don't checkmark them →

The evidence

The Verified Label

Every food on this site gets this exact panel — same fields, same order, sourced from the official label — so brands finally become comparable. Dots show where this food sits among all 732 wet cat foods we've verified.

Verified LabelThe standardized pet-food panel
VPFD № ROYAL-
verified 2026-07-12

Composition — dry-matter basis

why dry matter
Dry food is ~5-10% water, wet food ~75-82%, so as-fed numbers are on two different scales. As-fed values shown small. How the conversion works →
Protein 53.8%label: 8.4% min typical — the median wet cat food is 53.3%
Fat 9%label: 1.41% min no corpus anchor for fat yet
Fiber 19.2%label: 3% max no corpus anchor for wet-food fiber yet
Est. carbohydrates ash not disclosed → 8% assumed, so this is an estimate · this estimate came out negative — a known artifact of the flat ash assumption on very lean/high-protein foods; read as "very low," not literally not determinablediabetic-check target <10% lower than 76% of wet cat foods
Magnesium as fed: not yet verified
why 0.12% DM
A commonly cited veterinary target for helping manage struvite-crystal (urinary) risk in cats is magnesium under roughly 0.12% on a dry-matter basis. This is a general, label-checkable guideline — not a diagnosis, and not a substitute for your vet, especially for cats with a history of urinary issues.
Not yet verifiedmagnesium no threshold to check — magnesium not in our verified record
Ash 8% assumed — not disclosed on label 3%as used in carb estimate no corpus anchor for ash yet

Calories & cost — for your 10-lb adult cat

Calorie density 55 kcal/can644 kcal/kg lighter than 86% of wet cat foods (median 74)
Daily serving4¾ cans
Cost per day
Bag lasts

Cost per 1,000 kcal not available yet — this cat food isn't price-matched to a retail listing in our corpus yet. Serving math uses standard veterinary energy formulas — see the formula.

Standards & ingredients

AAFCO statement
what this means
Two claims exist: formulated to meet a profile, or fed to real cats in an AAFCO trial. Which is stronger, and how rare it is →
Formulated to meet · maintenance
First five ingredients (by pre-cooking weight)Water sufficient for processing · pork by-products · chicken · chicken liver · pork liver
Named animal protein first; named meals onlyNo
Legumes in first 10 (FDA DCM inquiry)None
BHA / BHT preservativesNone on label
Carrageenan (thickener)Yes
Ethoxyquin
why unknown
A preservative added by a fish-meal supplier need not appear on the finished label, so no label can prove its absence. Why we show gaps →
None — no fish meal in this recipe

Safety

FDA recalls — Royal Canin, since 2023None on record
ManufacturerNot confirmed from label
Label transparency 7 of 15 standard fields
Green = verified favorable · amber = gap in the record · red = verified unfavorable · gray = not disclosed / neutral fact.
Source: official label source (official) · anchors: 732 verified wet cat foods · how to read this label

The fit

For your cat, specifically

Checked for a 10-lb adult cat with urinary health + a low-carb goal — the same published criteria our finder uses. Change your cat above and these update.

Validated for adult catsAAFCO statement covers adult maintenance.
·
Urinary fit — can't assessMagnesium is not disclosed on this label, so the urinary/struvite check cannot be run — most cat food labels omit it entirely (only a small share of the cat foods we've verified disclose magnesium at all).
·
Fiber 19.2% DMNot selected as a concern for your cat — shown here for reference.
·
Sensitive stomachNot selected for your cat — but shown here for reference.
·
Contains chickenNot selected as a concern for your cat — shown here for reference.
Estimated carbs fit a low-carb targetnot determinable carbohydrate (dry-matter, estimated) is under the ~10% DM target some vets use for diabetic/low-carb cats. (this specific estimate came out negative — a known artifact of the flat ash assumption on very lean, high-protein/fat foods; read it as "very low," not as the literal number) Estimate only — not a lab measurement, and ash was assumed rather than disclosed on this label.

The source material

The full ingredient list

Every flag above is computed from this list. Why order is by pre-cooking weight, and how splitting bends it →

Water sufficient for processing, pork by-products, chicken, chicken liver, pork liver, wheat gluten, gelatin, powdered cellulose, wheat flour, pork plasma, glycine, modified corn starch, natural flavors, calcium sulfate, potassium chloride, sodium tripolyphosphate, rice flour, guar gum, taurine, choline chloride, citric acid, carrageenan, vitamins[DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), niacin supplement, biotin, D-calcium pantothenate, riboflavin supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), vitamin B12 supplement, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement], magnesium oxide, L-carnitine, trace minerals[zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, sodium selenite, calcium iodate]

5 ingredients in this list are ones we hold sourced evidence on , and 1 of them is genuinely contested rather than merely unpopular online.

  • Carrageenan · ingredient 22Worth knowingA seaweed-derived (Chondrus crispus) thickener and gelling agent used mainly in some wet and canned dog foods. Low-molecular-weight 'degraded' carrageenan (poligeenan) is inflammatory in lab-animal studies and is not permitted as a food additive, but food-grade undegraded carrageenan (E 407) is authorized by regulators; EFSA's 2018 re-evaluation kept only a temporary group ADI of 75 mg/kg body weight per day pending better data, and its specific effect in dogs is unresolved.
  • Wheat Gluten · ingredient 6NeutralThe concentrated protein fraction of wheat, used as a plant protein and binder; it is highly digestible in dogs (about 88% crude-protein digestibility in one feeding study). The 2007 pet-food deaths linked to wheat gluten were caused by criminal melamine adulteration of imported product to fake protein readings, a contamination event rather than a property of wheat gluten itself.
  • Powdered Cellulose · ingredient 8NeutralPurified plant cell-wall fiber (typically from wood pulp) used as an insoluble-fiber source, bulking agent, and anti-caking aid, often in weight-management diets. It is not absorbed and is poorly fermentable, so it firms stool and dilutes calories but yields little of the short-chain fatty acids that more fermentable fibers produce; EFSA's 2018 re-evaluation found no safety concern and no need for a numerical ADI.
  • Guar Gum · ingredient 18NeutralA soluble, viscous fiber from the guar bean used in small amounts to thicken and stabilize foods, mostly wet formulas. At higher dietary inclusion it can lower the digestibility of dry matter and protein in dogs, but it also produces metabolic effects such as reduced post-meal insulin and cholesterol; at the low levels used as a thickener these effects are minor.
  • Taurine (supplemental) · ingredient 19NeutralA sulfur amino acid that dogs can normally synthesize from methionine and cysteine, so it is not classically essential for them. However, some breeds (e.g., golden retrievers) and some diets are linked to low taurine status and dilated cardiomyopathy: an observational study (Ontiveros 2020) associated non-traditional, largely grain-free diets with taurine deficiency and DCM-consistent echocardiographic changes in golden retrievers, though causation and mechanism remain under investigation.

Nutritional twins

Priced close matches

This food has no verified price yet — these are the closest label matches that do.

Label-composition matches only: same species, form, and growth stage; same primary protein where both are known; grain-free preserved; protein within 4 points and fat within 4 points, and estimated carbs within 8 points, on a dry-matter basis. Not a medical or quality recommendation.

The maker

Who makes this — and how they back it up

The four questions the WSAVA nutrition guidelines tell you to ask a pet-food company. Every answer is sourced or marked as an undisclosed gap — never guessed. This is the "is it made competently?" axis that star-rating sites skip.

Owns its manufacturing Owns its plants

Owns/operates its own plants; Mars opened a new $450M Royal Canin factory in Lewisburg, Ohio in 2025 (confirmed via mars.com press release).

source →
Employs a qualified nutritionist Yes — sourced

Official Royal Canin US page explicitly states board-certified veterinary nutritionists and PhD nutritionists on staff. (Search also surfaced named example Dr. Adrienne Bautista, DVM/PhD, Scientific Affairs Manager at Royal Canin USA, though that name was not from a fetched page.)

source →
AAFCO feeding trials Undisclosed

No feeding-trial AAFCO statement found on the 241 labels we’ve verified for this brand, and no company-wide claim was found either. Most pet foods are only "formulated to meet" AAFCO profiles (a paper calculation) rather than fed to real animals in trials — this is common, not necessarily a red flag.

Peer-reviewed research Yes — sourced

199 PubMed-indexed papers carry "Royal Canin" in an author affiliation (animal/pet-domain filtered) — a reproducible floor, not a total.

source →
Parent company Mars, Incorporated (Mars Petcare) Founded 1968 Headquarters / plant Aimargues, France FDA recalls on record None on record

Full company scorecard, sources, and every SKU we've verified for this brand: Royal Canin brand page →