Home / Dog food / Acana / Puppy Recipe (Puppy & Junior)

product photo
coming soon
no verified photo yet — never a mockup

Acana · brand facts & recall history →

Acana Puppy Recipe (Puppy & Junior)

Dry food · puppy dogs

A formulated-to-meet, chicken-first dry food that's denser than 70% (you feed fewer cups). We don't have a cost per day for this food yet.

THE FACTS, ONE SENTENCE — data as JSON · reference dog 40 lb · updated 2026-07-11

Tell us about your dogevery number on this page updates live ↓
40 lb
For a 40-lb adult: 2½ cupsper day not pricedper day 7 daysbag lasts passes 2 fit checks ↓

Joint, kidney, dental or heart concerns? Labels can't honestly answer those — that's vet territory. Why we don't checkmark them →

The evidence

The Verified Label

Every food on this site gets this exact panel — same fields, same order, sourced from the official label — so brands finally become comparable. Dots show where this food sits among all 494 dry foods we've verified.

Verified LabelThe standardized pet-food panel
VPFD № ACANA-
verified 2026-07-11

Composition — dry-matter basis

why dry matter
Kibble is ~10% water, canned food ~78%, so as-fed numbers are on two different scales. As-fed values shown small. How the conversion works →
Protein 35.2%label: 31% min higher than 82% of dry foods
Fat 21.6%label: 19% min higher than 95% of dry foods
Fiber 5.7%label: 5% max higher than 71% of dry foods
Est. carbohydrates ash not disclosed → 8% assumed, so this is an estimate ≈28.4%computed anchor available once more brands disclose ash
Calcium / Phosphorus extended guarantees: Ca 1.2% · P 1% · EPA 0.2% · DHA 0.4% · Ω-3 1.3% 1.20 : 1ratio, as fed within the AAFCO adult range (1:1 – 2:1)

Calories & cost — for your 40-lb adult dog

Calorie density 408 kcal/cup3575 kcal/kg denser than 70% of dry foods (median 388) — you feed fewer cups
Daily serving2½ cups
Cost per day—
4.5-lb bag lasts7 days

No cost per 1,000 kcal yet: we haven't matched this food to a current Amazon listing. Serving math uses standard veterinary energy formulas — see the formula.

Standards & ingredients

AAFCO statement
what this means
Two claims exist: formulated to meet a profile, or fed to real dogs in an AAFCO trial. Which is stronger, and how rare it is →
Formulated to meet · all_life_stages
First five ingredients (by pre-cooking weight)Chicken · turkey · chicken meal · whole green peas · whole red lentils
Named animal protein first; named meals onlyYes
Legumes in first 10 (FDA DCM inquiry)2 (whole green peas, whole red lentils)
BHA / BHT preservativesNone on label
Carrageenan (thickener)None
Ethoxyquin
why unknown
A preservative added by a fish-meal supplier need not appear on the finished label, so no label can prove its absence. Why we show gaps →
None — no fish meal in this recipe

Safety

FDA recalls — Acana, since 2023None on record
ManufacturerNot confirmed from label
Label transparency 13 of 15 standard fields
Green = verified favorable · amber = gap in the record · red = verified unfavorable · gray = not disclosed / neutral fact.
Source: official label source (official) · anchors: 494 verified dry dog foods (360 priced) · how to read this label

The fit

For your dog, specifically

Checked for a 40-lb adult with a sensitive stomach — the same published criteria our finder uses. Change your dog above and these update.

✓
Validated for adult dogsAAFCO statement covers adult maintenance.
✓
Passes our sensitive-stomach checksNamed animal protein first, and no unnamed by-products in the ingredient list.
·
Contains chickenNot selected as a concern for your dog — shown here for reference.

The source material

The full ingredient list

Every flag above is computed from this list. Why order is by pre-cooking weight, and how splitting bends it →

Chicken, turkey, chicken meal, whole green peas, whole red lentils, chicken fat, turkey meal, flounder, eggs, fish oil, whole yellow peas, lentil fiber, chicken broth, whole chickpeas, whole green lentils, whole pinto beans, pea starch, natural chicken flavor, chicken liver, chicken heart, salt, vitamin E supplement, dried kelp, zinc proteinate, mixed tocopherols (preservative), whole pumpkin, collard greens, whole apples, whole pears, calcium pantothenate, thiamine mononitrate, freeze-dried chicken, freeze-dried turkey, riboflavin, folic acid, copper proteinate, dried chicory root, turmeric, sarsaparilla root, althea root, rose hips, juniper berries, citric acid (preservative), rosemary extract, dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product, dried Bifidobacterium animalis fermentation product, dried Lactobacillus casei fermentation product

9 ingredients in this list are ones we hold sourced evidence on , and 3 of them are genuinely contested rather than merely unpopular online.

  • Peas · ingredient 4ContestedA pulse (legume) used in many grain-free foods as a plant protein and carbohydrate source. Peas are central to an open FDA investigation, begun in July 2018, into a possible link between diets high in peas, other pulses, and potatoes and canine dilated cardiomyopathy (DCM); 93% of reported products contained peas and/or lentils.
  • Lentils · ingredient 5ContestedA pulse (legume) common in grain-free formulas as a protein and carbohydrate source. Lentils are named alongside peas in the FDA's open 2018 investigation into diet-associated canine DCM; the agency grouped 'peas and/or lentils,' which appeared in 93% of reported products.
  • Chickpeas (garbanzo beans) · ingredient 14ContestedA pulse (legume), also called garbanzo bean, used in grain-free foods for plant protein and carbohydrate. Chickpeas are among the pulses (with peas and lentils) cited in the FDA's open 2018 investigation into diet-associated canine DCM.
  • Named Meat/Poultry Meal (e.g., Chicken Meal, Lamb Meal) · ingredient 3Well supportedA rendered, water- and fat-reduced concentrate from a named species (AAFCO, e.g., 'chicken meal'). Because most moisture is removed it is a dense protein source (poultry meals commonly around 57-69% crude protein) and it names the species for allergy avoidance.
  • Fish oil (EPA + DHA omega-3) · ingredient 10Well supportedMarine-source omega-3 fatty acids (EPA and DHA) from fish oil. A randomized, double-blinded controlled trial (Roush 2010) found improved weight-bearing in dogs with osteoarthritis, and a 2022 meta-analysis identified clear clinical analgesic efficacy for omega-3-enriched diets and supplements.
  • Mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin E) · ingredient 25Well supportedA blend of vitamin E forms (alpha-, beta-, gamma-, delta-tocopherol) used as a natural-source antioxidant to slow fat rancidity, commonly chosen as an alternative to synthetic preservatives. EFSA concluded that tocopherol-rich extracts are safe for all animal species and the consumer and are efficacious antioxidants in feed.

Nutritional twins

Priced close matches

This food has no verified price yet — these are the closest label matches that do.

34.4% protein (DM)$0.62 / 1,000 kcal
34.6% protein (DM)$6.25 / 1,000 kcal

Label-composition matches only: same species, form, and growth stage; same primary protein where both are known; grain-free preserved; protein within 4 points and fat within 4 points, and estimated carbs within 8 points, on a dry-matter basis. Not a medical or quality recommendation.

The maker

Who makes this — and how they back it up

The five questions the WSAVA nutrition guidelines tell you to ask a pet-food company. Every answer is sourced or marked as an undisclosed gap — never guessed. This is the "is it made competently?" axis that star-rating sites skip.

Owns its manufacturing Owns its plants

Champion crafts foods in 'our' kitchens; ACANA made in Champion's own facilities in Alberta, Canada and Kentucky, USA.

source →
Employs a qualified nutritionist Yes — sourced

Same Champion About page as Orijen; claims 'Ph.D.-level nutrition experts' on staff. No named individual or specific PhD field given.

source →
AAFCO feeding trials Claims trials, no label shows one

Champion's linked bulletin (AAFCO Feeding Trials.pdf) says 'All lead ORIJEN and ACANA formulations have successfully completed and passed our enhanced AAFCO feeding trials' - lead formulas, not every product. The labels we hold say 'formulated to meet'. None of the 3 AAFCO statements we read on its labels says "animal feeding tests".

source →
Publishes quality-control testing Yes — sourced

covers: contaminant (heavy metal) testing of finished products; same page says QA testing runs from ingredient receipt to shipping. Champion Petfoods (maker of ORIJEN and ACANA).

source →
Peer-reviewed research Yes — sourced

18 PubMed papers (animal/pet filtered) list Champion Petfoods (maker of ORIJEN and ACANA) in an author address; we checked 18 and 18 really name the company. A floor, not a total.

source →
Parent company Mars, Incorporated (Mars Petcare) ↗ Founded 1985 ↗ Headquarters / plant Alberta, Canada ↗ FDA recalls on record None on record

Full company scorecard, sources, and every SKU we've verified for this brand: Acana brand page →