Home / Dog food / Canidae / PURE Petite Wet Dog Food: Grain Free Chicken & Peas Pâté for Small Breed Dogs

Canidae PURE Petite Wet Dog Food: Grain Free Chicken & Peas Pâté for Small Breed Dogs package official product image via Amazon

Canidae · brand facts & recall history →

Canidae PURE Petite Wet Dog Food: Grain Free Chicken & Peas Pâté for Small Breed Dogs

Wet food · all dogs

A formulated-to-meet, chicken-first wet food from Canidae. Pricing and/or calorie data haven't been independently confirmed for this SKU yet, so cost-per-day isn't shown.

THE FACTS, ONE SENTENCE — data as JSON · reference dog 40 lb · updated 2026-10-18

$3.43 as of 2026-10-18 Check price →
Tell us about your dogevery number on this page updates live ↓
40 lb
For a 40-lb adult: 9 cansper day not pricedper day —bag lasts passes 2 fit checks ↓

Joint, kidney, dental or heart concerns? Labels can't honestly answer those — that's vet territory. Why we don't checkmark them →

The evidence

The Verified Label

Every food on this site gets this exact panel — same fields, same order, sourced from the official label — so brands finally become comparable. Corpus dot-anchors currently cover dry food only — this is a wet food, so anchors are omitted below rather than compared across forms.

Verified LabelThe standardized pet-food panel
VPFD № CANIDA
verified 2026-10-18

Composition — dry-matter basis

why dry matter
Kibble is ~10% water, canned food ~78%, so as-fed numbers are on two different scales. As-fed values shown small. How the conversion works →
Protein 38.6%label: 8.5% min no corpus anchor for this food form
Fat 4.5%label: 1% min no corpus anchor for this food form
Fiber 6.8%label: 1.5% max no corpus anchor for this food form
Est. carbohydrates ash not disclosed → 8% assumed, so this is an estimate ≈36.4%computed no corpus anchor for this food form
Calcium / Phosphorus extended guarantees: none verified yet Not yet verifiedcalcium/phosphorus no ratio to anchor

Calories & cost — for your 40-lb adult dog

Calorie density 109 kcal/can— kcal/kg no corpus anchor for this food form
Daily serving9 cans
Cost per day—
Bag lasts—

No cost per 1,000 kcal: the label we read gives no calorie count, so we can't work out the price per calorie. Serving math uses standard veterinary energy formulas — see the formula.

Standards & ingredients

AAFCO statement
what this means
Two claims exist: formulated to meet a profile, or fed to real dogs in an AAFCO trial. Which is stronger, and how rare it is →
Formulated to meet · all_life_stages
First five ingredients (by pre-cooking weight)Chicken Broth · Chicken · Turkey · Chicken Liver · Dried Peas
Named animal protein first; named meals onlyYes
Legumes in first 10 (FDA DCM inquiry)2 (dried peas, pea fiber)
BHA / BHT preservativesNone on label
Carrageenan (thickener)None
Ethoxyquin
why unknown
A preservative added by a fish-meal supplier need not appear on the finished label, so no label can prove its absence. Why we show gaps →
None — no fish meal in this recipe

Safety

FDA recalls — Canidae, since 2023None on record
ManufacturerNot confirmed from label
Label transparency 6 of 15 standard fields
Green = verified favorable · amber = gap in the record · red = verified unfavorable · gray = not disclosed / neutral fact.
Source: official label source (official)· price: Amazon, 2026-10-18 · anchors: 494 verified dry dog foods (360 priced) · how to read this label

The fit

For your dog, specifically

Checked for a 40-lb adult with a sensitive stomach — the same published criteria our finder uses. Change your dog above and these update.

✓
Validated for adult dogsAAFCO statement covers adult maintenance.
✓
Passes our sensitive-stomach checksNamed animal protein first, and no unnamed by-products in the ingredient list.
·
Contains chickenNot selected as a concern for your dog — shown here for reference.

The source material

The full ingredient list

Every flag above is computed from this list. Why order is by pre-cooking weight, and how splitting bends it →

Chicken Broth, Chicken, Turkey, Chicken Liver, Dried Peas, Pea Fiber, Dicalcium Phosphate, Cassia Gum, Guar Gum, Xanthan Gum, Potassium Chloride, Salt, Natural Flavor, Choline Chloride, Menhaden Fish Oil, Zinc Amino Acid Chelate, Iron Amino Acid Chelate, Vitamin E Supplement, Copper Amino Acid Chelate, Manganese Amino Acid Chelate, Sodium Selenite, Thiamine Mononitrate, Cobalt Amino Acid Chelate, Niacin Supplement, D-Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin A Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Potassium Iodide, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid

5 ingredients in this list are ones we hold sourced evidence on , and 1 of them is genuinely contested rather than merely unpopular online.

  • Peas · ingredient 5ContestedA pulse (legume) used in many grain-free foods as a plant protein and carbohydrate source. Peas are central to an open FDA investigation, begun in July 2018, into a possible link between diets high in peas, other pulses, and potatoes and canine dilated cardiomyopathy (DCM); 93% of reported products contained peas and/or lentils.
  • Fish oil (EPA + DHA omega-3) · ingredient 15Well supportedMarine-source omega-3 fatty acids (EPA and DHA) from fish oil. A randomized, double-blinded controlled trial (Roush 2010) found improved weight-bearing in dogs with osteoarthritis, and a 2022 meta-analysis identified clear clinical analgesic efficacy for omega-3-enriched diets and supplements.
  • Cassia Gum · ingredient 8NeutralA gelling agent made from the purified endosperm of Cassia seeds, used mainly in canned and wet foods. It is specifically authorized in the EU as a pet-food thickener: EFSA (2017) concluded that purified semi-refined cassia gum meeting the food-additive specification (under 0.5 mg anthraquinones/kg) is safe for dogs and cats up to the permitted feed level.
  • Guar Gum · ingredient 9NeutralA soluble, viscous fiber from the guar bean used in small amounts to thicken and stabilize foods, mostly wet formulas. At higher dietary inclusion it can lower the digestibility of dry matter and protein in dogs, but it also produces metabolic effects such as reduced post-meal insulin and cholesterol; at the low levels used as a thickener these effects are minor.
  • Xanthan Gum · ingredient 10NeutralA fermentation-derived polysaccharide used as a thickener and stabilizer, mainly in wet and gravy-style foods. EFSA's 2017 re-evaluation found no safety concern and concluded no numerical ADI was needed; direct studies in dogs are limited, but at the small amounts used it acts as a non-absorbed, largely fermentable fiber.

The maker

Who makes this — and how they back it up

The five questions the WSAVA nutrition guidelines tell you to ask a pet-food company. Every answer is sourced or marked as an undisclosed gap — never guessed. This is the "is it made competently?" axis that star-rating sites skip.

Owns its manufacturing Owns its plants

Brownwood, Texas has been Canidae’s own long-standing manufacturing facility since 2012 (now also producing for merger partner Natural Balance) — recorded as owns.

source →
Employs a qualified nutritionist Undisclosed

CANIDAE did not respond to the Pet Nutrition Alliance’s 2023 manufacturer questionnaire (petnutritionalliance.org/wp-content/uploads/2023/04/Pet-Nutrition-Alliance-Pet-Food-Manufacturer-Report-2023.pdf, listed under "Manufactures that did not respond").

AAFCO feeding trials Undisclosed

No feeding-trial AAFCO statement found on the 64 labels we’ve verified for this brand, and no company-wide claim was found either. Most pet foods are only "formulated to meet" AAFCO profiles (a paper calculation) rather than fed to real animals in trials — this is common, not necessarily a red flag.

Publishes quality-control testing Yes — sourced

covers: pathogen testing, toxin testing, finished-product nutrient analysis. Applies to the Pure Farm to Bowl line only, not the whole brand; canidae.com/faq has no concrete QC statement.

source →
Peer-reviewed research Yes — sourced

1 PubMed paper (animal/pet filtered) list CANIDAE Pet Food Company in an author address; we checked 1 and 1 really name the company. A floor, not a total.

source →
Parent company Ethos Pet Brands (co-owned 50/50 by L Catterton and Nexus Capital Management, following Canidae’s 2023 merger with Natural Balance Pet Foods) ↗ Founded 1996 ↗ FDA recalls on record 1 on record

Full company scorecard, sources, and every SKU we've verified for this brand: Canidae brand page →