Cassia Gum
Cassia Gum appears on 133 of the 2,354 pet food labels we have verified against the official product label — 5.6% of the corpus. That is 73 dog foods (6.6% of the dog corpus) and 60 cat foods (4.8% of the cat corpus). Nobody publishes that split because computing it means reading every label.
What it is, and why it is in the food
A gelling agent made from the purified endosperm of Cassia seeds, used mainly in canned and wet foods. It is specifically authorized in the EU as a pet-food thickener: EFSA (2017) concluded that purified semi-refined cassia gum meeting the food-additive specification (under 0.5 mg anthraquinones/kg) is safe for dogs and cats up to the permitted feed level.
The evidence base is moderate: real studies exist, but the number of them is small enough that a single new trial could move the picture.
How common it is, and where it sits on the label
Ingredients are listed by pre-cooking weight, so position carries information: something in the first five is present in bulk, something near the end is a trace addition. Cassia Gum is in the first five ingredients on 3 of the 133 foods that contain it — 2% — so on those it is a structural part of the recipe rather than an additive.
| Cut | Foods | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Dog foods | 73 | 6.6% of the dog corpus |
| Cat foods | 60 | 4.8% of the cat corpus |
| Wet food | 133 | 100% of foods containing it |
| In the first five ingredients | 3 | 2% of foods containing it |
Every food that contains it, cheapest calories first
Ranked by cost per 1,000 kcal, which is the only price basis that survives different bag sizes and moisture levels. 74 of the 133 foods containing cassia gum have a matched price; the rest are verified but unpriced.
| Item | Value (%) |
|---|---|
| Dog foods | 6.6% (73) |
| Cat foods | 4.8% (60) |
| Wet (of those with it) | 100% (133) |
| In the first 5 ingredients | 2% (3) |
What actually differs about the foods that use it
Held to one species and one form — wet dog food — so the comparison is not just measuring moisture. 73 verified wet dog foods list cassia gum; 356 do not. These are medians across those two groups.
| Measure | Contains it (73) | Does not (356) | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Protein, dry matter | 38.6% | 41.7% | 3.1 points lower |
| Estimated carbohydrate, dry matter | 13.6% | 15.9% | 2.3 points lower |
| Cost per 1,000 kcal | $7.44 | $11.30 | $3.86 lower |
Across every food that lists it, cassia gum sits at position 14 in the ingredient list on a median food. The brands using it most in our corpus are Blue Buffalo (94), Wellness (21), Canidae (7), Tiki Cat (7), Rachael Ray Nutrish (4). A difference in this table is an association, not a cause: brands that reach for one ingredient tend to make similar formulation choices across the whole recipe.
Comparable foods that do not list it
Most people searching an ingredient name want the other half of the answer: what to buy instead. These are verified wet dog foods — the same species and form as most of the foods above, so the comparison is like for like — that do not list cassia gum anywhere in their ingredients, cheapest per 1,000 kcal first.
| Food | Protein (DM) | Est. carbs (DM) | Cost / 1,000 kcal | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PEDIGREE® Pouch Chopped Ground Dinner Variety Pack | 36.4% | 18% | $3.53 | Check price |
| PEDIGREE® Wet Dog Food Chopped Ground Dinner 8ct Variety | Not disclosed | Not computable | $3.58 | Check price |
| PEDIGREE® Chopped Ground Dinner Wet Dog Food Variety Pack | 36.4% | 18% | $3.63 | Check price |
| PEDIGREE® Chopped Ground Dinner Filet Mignon & Beef | Not disclosed | Not computable | $3.97 | Check price |
| PEDIGREE® Puppy Wet Food – Chicken & Beef Dinner | 40.9% | 7% | $4.03 | Check price |
| PEDIGREE® Can High Protein Chopped Chicken & Duck Flavor | 50.0% | 5% | $5.64 | Check price |
| PEDIGREE® Wet Dog Food Chopped Ground Dinner Combo Variety | Not disclosed | Not computable | $5.65 | Check price |
| Purina Pro Plan Complete Essentials Chicken & Rice Entrée Classic Wet Dog Food | 40.9% | 11% | $6.57 | Check price |
| PEDIGREE® Wet Dog Food – Chicken & Rice Dinner | 38.6% | 16% | $6.86 | Check price |
| PEDIGREE® Chopped Ground Dinner Chicken, Beef & Liver Wet Food | 36.4% | 18% | $6.99 | Check price |
Avoiding one ingredient is rarely a good reason to switch on its own. Use this table the way you would use any other single filter — alongside the AAFCO statement, the protein figure and the recall record, all of which are on each food's page.
What we don’t know
Our figure counts what manufacturers print. An ingredient that arrives inside another component — a preservative already in the fish meal, say — does not have to be declared separately by the pet-food maker, so a count from labels is a floor, not a ceiling. We also cannot see inclusion rate: a label tells you cassia gum is present and roughly where it sits by weight, never how much.
The gap here is quantity. Gums and thickeners work at fractions of a percent, so their position near the end of an ingredient list is expected and carries almost no information. A label gives you presence and nothing else. We do not translate any of this into a score. There is no honest way to weigh one ingredient against a food’s AAFCO substantiation, its recall history and its cost, and sites that do it anyway are making the weighting up.
Sources
- EFSA FEEDAP Panel — Safety of cassia gum as a feed additive for dogs and cats (Glycomer GmbH dossier), EFSA Journal (2017)
- Prevalence figures: Verified Pet Food Data corpus, 2,354 labels verified against official product labels. Machine-readable, CC BY 4.0.
Related ingredients
-
Guar Gum
On 723 labels (30.7%). Neutral.
-
Xanthan Gum
On 483 labels (20.5%). Neutral.
-
Carrageenan
On 269 labels (11.4%). Worth knowing.
Frequently asked
How common is cassia gum in pet food?
It appears on 133 of the 2,354 pet food labels we have verified — 5.6% of the corpus. That breaks down as 73 dog foods (6.6%) and 60 cat foods (4.8%).
Is cassia gum a main ingredient or a minor one?
On 3 of those 133 foods it appears within the first five ingredients, which means it is present by weight rather than as a trace addition. On the remaining 130 it sits further down the list.
Is cassia gum bad for dogs or cats?
A gelling agent made from the purified endosperm of Cassia seeds, used mainly in canned and wet foods. It is specifically authorized in the EU as a pet-food thickener: EFSA (2017) concluded that purified semi-refined cassia gum meeting the food-additive specification (under 0.5 mg anthraquinones/kg) is safe for dogs and cats up to the permitted feed level.
Which foods do not contain cassia gum?
Among verified wet dog foods with a matched price, PEDIGREE® Pouch Chopped Ground Dinner Variety Pack, PEDIGREE® Wet Dog Food Chopped Ground Dinner 8ct Variety, PEDIGREE® Chopped Ground Dinner Wet Dog Food Variety Pack are the cheapest per 1,000 kcal that do not list it. The full table is on this page.
All 35 ingredients we found on a real label are indexed on the ingredient hub. To see how these fields are read off a label in the first place, start with how to read a pet food label.