Home / Dog food / Fromm / Nutritionals Sensitive Skin and Stomach Complete Dog Food Pâté

product photo
coming soon
no verified photo yet — never a mockup

Fromm · brand facts & recall history →

Fromm Nutritionals Sensitive Skin and Stomach Complete Dog Food Pâté

Wet food · all dogs

A formulated-to-meet, salmon-first wet food from Fromm. Pricing and/or calorie data haven't been independently confirmed for this SKU yet, so cost-per-day isn't shown.

THE FACTS, ONE SENTENCE — data as JSON · reference dog 40 lb · updated 2026-07-11

Tell us about your dogevery number on this page updates live ↓
40 lb
For a 40-lb adult: 3 cansper day not pricedper day —bag lasts passes 2 fit checks ↓

Joint, kidney, dental or heart concerns? Labels can't honestly answer those — that's vet territory. Why we don't checkmark them →

The evidence

The Verified Label

Every food on this site gets this exact panel — same fields, same order, sourced from the official label — so brands finally become comparable. Corpus dot-anchors currently cover dry food only — this is a wet food, so anchors are omitted below rather than compared across forms.

Verified LabelThe standardized pet-food panel
VPFD № FROMM-
verified 2026-07-11

Composition — dry-matter basis

why dry matter
Kibble is ~10% water, canned food ~78%, so as-fed numbers are on two different scales. As-fed values shown small. How the conversion works →
Protein 31.8%label: 7% min no corpus anchor for this food form
Fat 9.1%label: 2% min no corpus anchor for this food form
Fiber 13.6%label: 3% max no corpus anchor for this food form
Est. carbohydrates ash not disclosed → 8% assumed, so this is an estimate ≈31.8%computed no corpus anchor for this food form
Calcium / Phosphorus extended guarantees: Ω-3 0.4% Not yet verifiedcalcium/phosphorus no ratio to anchor

Calories & cost — for your 40-lb adult dog

Calorie density 337 kcal/can914 kcal/kg no corpus anchor for this food form
Daily serving3 cans
Cost per day—
Bag lasts—

No cost per 1,000 kcal yet: we haven't matched this food to a current Amazon listing. Serving math uses standard veterinary energy formulas — see the formula.

Standards & ingredients

AAFCO statement
what this means
Two claims exist: formulated to meet a profile, or fed to real dogs in an AAFCO trial. Which is stronger, and how rare it is →
Formulated to meet · all_life_stages
First five ingredients (by pre-cooking weight)Salmon · salmon broth · pumpkin · pork liver · apples
Named animal protein first; named meals onlyYes
Legumes in first 10 (FDA DCM inquiry)None
BHA / BHT preservativesNone on label
Carrageenan (thickener)None
Ethoxyquin
why unknown
A preservative added by a fish-meal supplier need not appear on the finished label, so no label can prove its absence. Why we show gaps →
None — no fish meal in this recipe

Safety

FDA recalls — Fromm, since 20232 on record — see recall history
ManufacturerNot confirmed from label
Label transparency 9 of 15 standard fields
Green = verified favorable · amber = gap in the record · red = verified unfavorable · gray = not disclosed / neutral fact.
Source: official label source (official) · anchors: 494 verified dry dog foods (360 priced) · how to read this label

The fit

For your dog, specifically

Checked for a 40-lb adult with a sensitive stomach — the same published criteria our finder uses. Change your dog above and these update.

✓
Validated for adult dogsAAFCO statement covers adult maintenance.
✓
Passes our sensitive-stomach checksNamed animal protein first, and no unnamed by-products in the ingredient list.
·
Chicken-free recipeNot selected for your dog — but relevant if chicken sensitivity ever comes up.

The source material

The full ingredient list

Every flag above is computed from this list. Why order is by pre-cooking weight, and how splitting bends it →

Salmon, salmon broth, pumpkin, pork liver, apples, whole oats, brown rice, ground miscanthus grass, psyllium seed husk, dried plain beet pulp, salmon oil (preserved with mixed tocopherols), dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product, xanthan gum, agar-agar, potassium chloride, salt, Minerals [dicalcium phosphate, zinc sulfate, magnesium sulfate, ferrous sulfate, zinc proteinate, calcium carbonate, copper sulfate, iron proteinate, sodium selenite, calcium iodate, manganese sulfate, copper proteinate, manganese proteinate], Vitamins [Vitamin E supplement, niacin supplement, calcium pantothenate, riboflavin supplement, Vitamin A supplement, biotin, thiamine mononitrate, Vitamin B12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, Vitamin D3 supplement, folic acid]

4 ingredients in this list are ones we hold sourced evidence on , and none of them is contested in the veterinary literature.

  • Beet Pulp · ingredient 10Well supportedThe fibrous material left after sugar is extracted from sugar beets, included as a moderately fermentable fiber source (commonly around 5 to 7.5% of the diet). Controlled feeding studies show it supports firm, good-quality stools and short-chain fatty acid production without impairing overall nutrient digestibility, so the 'cheap filler' characterization is not supported by the evidence.
  • Mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin E) · ingredient 11Well supportedA blend of vitamin E forms (alpha-, beta-, gamma-, delta-tocopherol) used as a natural-source antioxidant to slow fat rancidity, commonly chosen as an alternative to synthetic preservatives. EFSA concluded that tocopherol-rich extracts are safe for all animal species and the consumer and are efficacious antioxidants in feed.
  • Probiotics (live microbials) · ingredient 12NeutralLive microbial supplements (e.g., Enterococcus faecium SF68, dried fermentation products) intended to support gut health. A 2019 JVIM systematic review found the effect on acute gastrointestinal disease in dogs limited and possibly clinically unimportant, and benefits appear strain- and context-specific: in one shelter trial SF68 significantly reduced diarrhea in cats but not in dogs.
  • Xanthan Gum · ingredient 13NeutralA fermentation-derived polysaccharide used as a thickener and stabilizer, mainly in wet and gravy-style foods. EFSA's 2017 re-evaluation found no safety concern and concluded no numerical ADI was needed; direct studies in dogs are limited, but at the small amounts used it acts as a non-absorbed, largely fermentable fiber.

Nutritional twins

Priced close matches

This food has no verified price yet — these are the closest label matches that do.

34.9% protein (DM)$11.34 / 1,000 kcal

Label-composition matches only: same species, form, and growth stage; same primary protein where both are known; grain-free preserved; protein within 4 points and fat within 4 points, and estimated carbs within 8 points, on a dry-matter basis. Not a medical or quality recommendation.

The maker

Who makes this — and how they back it up

The five questions the WSAVA nutrition guidelines tell you to ask a pet-food company. Every answer is sourced or marked as an undisclosed gap — never guessed. This is the "is it made competently?" axis that star-rating sites skip.

Owns its manufacturing Owns its plants

Fromm states directly that it does not contract manufacture; all production occurs at company-owned Wisconsin facilities.

source →
Employs a qualified nutritionist Yes — sourced

Dr. Danielle Opetz, PhD in Nutritional Sciences (with an MS in Animal Science, companion animal nutrition emphasis), holds a named leadership role on Fromm's R&D/nutrition team. She is a PhD nutritionist, not a stated ACVN/ECVCN board-certified veterinary diplomate — no board certification was found in this source.

source →
AAFCO feeding trials Undisclosed

No feeding-trial AAFCO statement found on the 123 labels we’ve verified for this brand, and no company-wide claim was found either. Most pet foods are only "formulated to meet" AAFCO profiles (a paper calculation) rather than fed to real animals in trials — this is common, not necessarily a red flag.

Publishes quality-control testing Yes — sourced

covers: ingredient testing, pathogen (bacteriology) testing of finished product; same page says canned foods are incubated and all products are held until quality checks are complete. Fromm brand-wide FAQ.

source →
Peer-reviewed research None found

PubMed lists no animal or pet paper with Fromm Family Foods in an author address. Not proof no research exists — only that none is indexed under that company name.

source →
Parent company Independent, family-owned (Fromm Family Foods LLC; no parent company) ↗ Founded 1904 ↗ Headquarters / plant Mequon, Wisconsin, USA ↗ FDA recalls on record 3 on record

Full company scorecard, sources, and every SKU we've verified for this brand: Fromm brand page →