Home / Dog food / Purina Pro Plan / Purina Pro Plan Puppy Large Breed Sensitive Skin & Stomach Salmon & Rice Formula Dog Food

product photo
coming soon
no verified photo yet — never a mockup

Purina Pro Plan · brand facts & recall history →

Purina Pro Plan Puppy Large Breed Sensitive Skin & Stomach Salmon & Rice Formula Dog Food

Dry food · puppy dogs · made by Nestlé Purina PetCare Company

A feeding-trial-validated, salmon-first dry food that's denser than 76% (you feed fewer cups). We don't have a cost per day for this food yet.

THE FACTS, ONE SENTENCE — data as JSON · reference dog 40 lb · updated 2026-07-11

Tell us about your dogevery number on this page updates live ↓
40 lb
For a 40-lb adult: 2¼ cupsper day not pricedper day —bag lasts passes 2 fit checks ↓

Joint, kidney, dental or heart concerns? Labels can't honestly answer those — that's vet territory. Why we don't checkmark them →

The evidence

The Verified Label

Every food on this site gets this exact panel — same fields, same order, sourced from the official label — so brands finally become comparable. Dots show where this food sits among all 494 dry foods we've verified.

Verified LabelThe standardized pet-food panel
VPFD № PURINA
verified 2026-07-11

Composition — dry-matter basis

why dry matter
Kibble is ~10% water, canned food ~78%, so as-fed numbers are on two different scales. As-fed values shown small. How the conversion works →
Protein 31.8%label: 28% min typical — the median dry food is 30%
Fat 14.8%label: 13% min lower than 70% of dry foods
Fiber 5.4%label: 4.75% max typical — the median dry food is 5.4%
Est. carbohydrates ash not disclosed → 8% assumed, so this is an estimate ≈38.9%computed anchor available once more brands disclose ash
Calcium / Phosphorus extended guarantees: Ca 1.1% · P 0.9% · EPA 0.1% · DHA 0.1% 1.22 : 1ratio, as fed within the AAFCO adult range (1:1 – 2:1)

Calories & cost — for your 40-lb adult dog

Calorie density 418 kcal/cup3753 kcal/kg denser than 76% of dry foods (median 388) — you feed fewer cups
Daily serving2¼ cups
Cost per day—
Bag lasts—

No cost per 1,000 kcal yet: we haven't matched this food to a current Amazon listing. Serving math uses standard veterinary energy formulas — see the formula.

Standards & ingredients

AAFCO statement
what this means
Two claims exist: formulated to meet a profile, or fed to real dogs in an AAFCO trial. Which is stronger, and how rare it is →
Feeding trials ✓ · all_life_stages
First five ingredients (by pre-cooking weight)Salmon · rice · barley · fish meal · canola meal
Named animal protein first; named meals onlyYes
Legumes in first 10 (FDA DCM inquiry)1 (pea protein)
BHA / BHT preservativesNone on label
Carrageenan (thickener)None
Ethoxyquin
why unknown
A preservative added by a fish-meal supplier need not appear on the finished label, so no label can prove its absence. Why we show gaps →
Can't be determined from label

Safety

FDA recalls — Purina Pro Plan, since 20232 on record — see recall history
ManufacturerNestlé Purina PetCare Company, St. Louis, MO 63164 USA
Label transparency 13 of 15 standard fields
Green = verified favorable · amber = gap in the record · red = verified unfavorable · gray = not disclosed / neutral fact.
Source: official label source (official) · anchors: 494 verified dry dog foods (360 priced) · how to read this label

The fit

For your dog, specifically

Checked for a 40-lb adult with a sensitive stomach — the same published criteria our finder uses. Change your dog above and these update.

✓
Validated for adult dogsAAFCO statement covers adult maintenance.
✓
Passes our sensitive-stomach checksNamed animal protein first, and no unnamed by-products in the ingredient list.
·
Chicken-free recipeNot selected for your dog — but relevant if chicken sensitivity ever comes up.

The source material

The full ingredient list

Every flag above is computed from this list. Why order is by pre-cooking weight, and how splitting bends it →

Salmon, rice, barley, fish meal, canola meal, oat meal, beef fat preserved with mixed-tocopherols, dried yeast, pea protein, salmon meal, pea fiber, natural flavor, sunflower oil, fish oil, dried chicory root, salt, mono and dicalcium phosphate, calcium carbonate, potassium citrate, L-Lysine monohydrochloride, potassium chloride, DL-Methionine, taurine, MINERALS [zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, manganese sulfate, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite], choline chloride, VITAMINS [Vitamin E supplement, niacin (Vitamin B-3), Vitamin A supplement, calcium pantothenate (Vitamin B-5), thiamine mononitrate (Vitamin B-1), Vitamin B-12 supplement, riboflavin supplement (Vitamin B-2), pyridoxine hydrochloride, folic acid (Vitamin B-9), menadione sodium bisulfite complex (Vitamin K), biotin (Vitamin B-7), Vitamin D-3 supplement], L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (Vitamin C)

7 ingredients in this list are ones we hold sourced evidence on , and 2 of them are genuinely contested rather than merely unpopular online.

  • Pea protein · ingredient 9ContestedA concentrated protein fraction extracted from peas, used to raise a food's protein content without added meat. As a pea-derived pulse ingredient it falls within the group of legume ingredients examined in the FDA's open 2018 investigation into diet-associated canine DCM; metabolomic work has flagged pea-related compounds, but causation has not been shown.
  • Peas · ingredient 11ContestedA pulse (legume) used in many grain-free foods as a plant protein and carbohydrate source. Peas are central to an open FDA investigation, begun in July 2018, into a possible link between diets high in peas, other pulses, and potatoes and canine dilated cardiomyopathy (DCM); 93% of reported products contained peas and/or lentils.
  • Named Meat/Poultry Meal (e.g., Chicken Meal, Lamb Meal) · ingredient 4Well supportedA rendered, water- and fat-reduced concentrate from a named species (AAFCO, e.g., 'chicken meal'). Because most moisture is removed it is a dense protein source (poultry meals commonly around 57-69% crude protein) and it names the species for allergy avoidance.
  • Mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin E) · ingredient 7Well supportedA blend of vitamin E forms (alpha-, beta-, gamma-, delta-tocopherol) used as a natural-source antioxidant to slow fat rancidity, commonly chosen as an alternative to synthetic preservatives. EFSA concluded that tocopherol-rich extracts are safe for all animal species and the consumer and are efficacious antioxidants in feed.
  • Fish oil (EPA + DHA omega-3) · ingredient 14Well supportedMarine-source omega-3 fatty acids (EPA and DHA) from fish oil. A randomized, double-blinded controlled trial (Roush 2010) found improved weight-bearing in dogs with osteoarthritis, and a 2022 meta-analysis identified clear clinical analgesic efficacy for omega-3-enriched diets and supplements.
  • Prebiotics (chicory root / inulin, FOS) · ingredient 15NeutralFermentable fibers (chicory-derived inulin and fructooligosaccharides) that feed colonic bacteria and are readily fermented to short-chain fatty acids in dogs. Feeding studies show they shift fecal microbiota composition and are well tolerated at typical inclusion levels, but clear health benefits beyond compositional change are not yet established.

Wet ingredients like fresh salmon shrink once cooked — which is why named meals appearing high on the list matter: they keep meaningful animal protein after moisture is removed.

Nutritional twins

Priced close matches

This food has no verified price yet — these are the closest label matches that do.

32.2% protein (DM)$2.11 / 1,000 kcal
32.4% protein (DM)$3.86 / 1,000 kcal
31.3% protein (DM)$2.22 / 1,000 kcal

Label-composition matches only: same species, form, and growth stage; same primary protein where both are known; grain-free preserved; protein within 4 points and fat within 4 points, and estimated carbs within 8 points, on a dry-matter basis. Not a medical or quality recommendation.

The maker

Who makes this — and how they back it up

The five questions the WSAVA nutrition guidelines tell you to ask a pet-food company. Every answer is sourced or marked as an undisclosed gap — never guessed. This is the "is it made competently?" axis that star-rating sites skip.

Owns its manufacturing Owns its plants

Nestlé Purina owns and operates its own U.S. factories (21+ as of 2019).

source →
Employs a qualified nutritionist Yes — sourced

Arleigh Reynolds, DVM, Purina Senior Research Scientist, described as board-certified in veterinary nutrition. Source is Nestlé Purina PetCare (maker of Pro Plan).

source →
AAFCO feeding trials Yes — sourced

40 of 59 labels we checked carry an AAFCO feeding-trial substantiation statement.

source →
Publishes quality-control testing Not checked

The company website blocked our automated check, so we could not read its quality-control page. This is not a "no".

Peer-reviewed research Yes — sourced

144 PubMed papers (animal/pet filtered) list Nestlé Purina in an author address; we checked 144 and 143 really name the company. A floor, not a total.

source →
Parent company Nestlé Purina PetCare ↗ Founded 1986 ↗ Headquarters / plant St. Louis, Missouri, USA ↗ FDA recalls on record 3 on record

Full company scorecard, sources, and every SKU we've verified for this brand: Purina Pro Plan brand page →