Home / Dog food / Purina Pro Plan / Purina Pro Plan Small Breed Shredded Blend Lamb & Rice Formula Dog Food

product photo
coming soon
no verified photo yet — never a mockup

Purina Pro Plan · brand facts & recall history →

Purina Pro Plan Small Breed Shredded Blend Lamb & Rice Formula Dog Food

Dry food · adult dogs · made by Nestlé Purina PetCare Company

A feeding-trial-validated, lamb-first dry food that's denser than 65% (you feed fewer cups). We don't have a cost per day for this food yet.

THE FACTS, ONE SENTENCE — data as JSON · reference dog 40 lb · updated 2026-07-11

Tell us about your dogevery number on this page updates live ↓
40 lb
For a 40-lb adult: 2½ cupsper day not pricedper day —bag lasts passes 2 fit checks ↓

Joint, kidney, dental or heart concerns? Labels can't honestly answer those — that's vet territory. Why we don't checkmark them →

The evidence

The Verified Label

Every food on this site gets this exact panel — same fields, same order, sourced from the official label — so brands finally become comparable. Dots show where this food sits among all 494 dry foods we've verified.

Verified LabelThe standardized pet-food panel
VPFD № PURINA
verified 2026-07-11

Composition — dry-matter basis

why dry matter
Kibble is ~10% water, canned food ~78%, so as-fed numbers are on two different scales. As-fed values shown small. How the conversion works →
Protein 33%label: 29% min higher than 71% of dry foods
Fat 19.3%label: 17% min higher than 86% of dry foods
Fiber 3.4%label: 3% max lower than 94% of dry foods
Est. carbohydrates ash not disclosed → 8% assumed, so this is an estimate ≈35.2%computed anchor available once more brands disclose ash
Calcium / Phosphorus extended guarantees: Ca 1% · P 0.8% 1.25 : 1ratio, as fed within the AAFCO adult range (1:1 – 2:1)

Calories & cost — for your 40-lb adult dog

Calorie density 402 kcal/cup3983 kcal/kg typical — the median dry food is 388 (median 388) — you feed fewer cups
Daily serving2½ cups
Cost per day—
Bag lasts—

No cost per 1,000 kcal yet: we haven't matched this food to a current Amazon listing. Serving math uses standard veterinary energy formulas — see the formula.

Standards & ingredients

AAFCO statement
what this means
Two claims exist: formulated to meet a profile, or fed to real dogs in an AAFCO trial. Which is stronger, and how rare it is →
Feeding trials ✓ · maintenance
First five ingredients (by pre-cooking weight)Lamb · corn protein meal · rice · poultry by-product meal · soybean meal
Named animal protein first; named meals onlyYes
Legumes in first 10 (FDA DCM inquiry)1 (soybean meal)
BHA / BHT preservativesNone on label
Carrageenan (thickener)None
Ethoxyquin
why unknown
A preservative added by a fish-meal supplier need not appear on the finished label, so no label can prove its absence. Why we show gaps →
None — no fish meal in this recipe

Safety

FDA recalls — Purina Pro Plan, since 20232 on record — see recall history
ManufacturerNestlé Purina PetCare Company, St. Louis, MO 63164 USA
Label transparency 11 of 15 standard fields
Green = verified favorable · amber = gap in the record · red = verified unfavorable · gray = not disclosed / neutral fact.
Source: official label source (official) · anchors: 494 verified dry dog foods (360 priced) · how to read this label

The fit

For your dog, specifically

Checked for a 40-lb adult with a sensitive stomach — the same published criteria our finder uses. Change your dog above and these update.

✓
Validated for adult dogsAAFCO statement covers adult maintenance.
✓
Passes our sensitive-stomach checksNamed animal protein first, and no unnamed by-products in the ingredient list.
·
Chicken-free recipeNot selected for your dog — but relevant if chicken sensitivity ever comes up.

The source material

The full ingredient list

Every flag above is computed from this list. Why order is by pre-cooking weight, and how splitting bends it →

Lamb, corn protein meal, rice, poultry by-product meal, soybean meal, whole grain corn, whole grain wheat, beef fat preserved with mixed-tocopherols, corn germ meal, natural flavor, dried egg product, glycerin, wheat bran, calcium carbonate, mono and dicalcium phosphate, dried yeast, soybean oil, salt, potassium chloride, MINERALS [zinc proteinate, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, copper proteinate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite], VITAMINS [Vitamin E supplement, niacin (Vitamin B-3), Vitamin A supplement, calcium pantothenate (Vitamin B-5), thiamine mononitrate (Vitamin B-1), Vitamin B-12 supplement, riboflavin supplement (Vitamin B-2), pyridoxine hydrochloride (Vitamin B-6), folic acid (Vitamin B-9), Vitamin D-3 supplement, menadione sodium bisulfite complex (Vitamin K), biotin (Vitamin B-7)], choline chloride, dried Bacillus coagulans fermentation product, L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (Vitamin C), garlic oil

3 ingredients in this list are ones we hold sourced evidence on , and none of them is contested in the veterinary literature.

  • Mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin E) · ingredient 8Well supportedA blend of vitamin E forms (alpha-, beta-, gamma-, delta-tocopherol) used as a natural-source antioxidant to slow fat rancidity, commonly chosen as an alternative to synthetic preservatives. EFSA concluded that tocopherol-rich extracts are safe for all animal species and the consumer and are efficacious antioxidants in feed.
  • By-Product Meal (Meat / Poultry By-Product Meal) · ingredient 4NeutralA rendered concentrate made from clean, non-muscle parts of the carcass (organs, necks, feet, and similar), defined by AAFCO. It is more variable and lower-transparency than a named muscle meal, but it is not inherently unsafe or low-nutrition: controlled feeding trials in dogs report high protein digestibility (roughly 92-95%) for poultry by-product-based diets, and some by-product organs are nutrient-dense.
  • Probiotics (live microbials) · ingredient 23NeutralLive microbial supplements (e.g., Enterococcus faecium SF68, dried fermentation products) intended to support gut health. A 2019 JVIM systematic review found the effect on acute gastrointestinal disease in dogs limited and possibly clinically unimportant, and benefits appear strain- and context-specific: in one shelter trial SF68 significantly reduced diarrhea in cats but not in dogs.

Nutritional twins

Priced close matches

This food has no verified price yet — these are the closest label matches that do.

33.7% protein (DM)$2.55 / 1,000 kcal
33.3% protein (DM)$2.17 / 1,000 kcal
32.2% protein (DM)$2.98 / 1,000 kcal

Label-composition matches only: same species, form, and growth stage; same primary protein where both are known; grain-free preserved; protein within 4 points and fat within 4 points, and estimated carbs within 8 points, on a dry-matter basis. Not a medical or quality recommendation.

The maker

Who makes this — and how they back it up

The five questions the WSAVA nutrition guidelines tell you to ask a pet-food company. Every answer is sourced or marked as an undisclosed gap — never guessed. This is the "is it made competently?" axis that star-rating sites skip.

Owns its manufacturing Owns its plants

Nestlé Purina owns and operates its own U.S. factories (21+ as of 2019).

source →
Employs a qualified nutritionist Yes — sourced

Arleigh Reynolds, DVM, Purina Senior Research Scientist, described as board-certified in veterinary nutrition. Source is Nestlé Purina PetCare (maker of Pro Plan).

source →
AAFCO feeding trials Yes — sourced

40 of 59 labels we checked carry an AAFCO feeding-trial substantiation statement.

source →
Publishes quality-control testing Not checked

The company website blocked our automated check, so we could not read its quality-control page. This is not a "no".

Peer-reviewed research Yes — sourced

144 PubMed papers (animal/pet filtered) list Nestlé Purina in an author address; we checked 144 and 143 really name the company. A floor, not a total.

source →
Parent company Nestlé Purina PetCare ↗ Founded 1986 ↗ Headquarters / plant St. Louis, Missouri, USA ↗ FDA recalls on record 3 on record

Full company scorecard, sources, and every SKU we've verified for this brand: Purina Pro Plan brand page →