Home / Dog food / Sundays for Dogs / Chicken Recipe

product photo
coming soon
no verified photo yet — never a mockup

Sundays for Dogs · brand facts & recall history →

Sundays for Dogs Chicken Recipe

Air-dried food · all dogs

A formulated-to-meet, chicken-first air-dried food from Sundays for Dogs. Pricing and/or calorie data haven't been independently confirmed for this SKU yet, so cost-per-day isn't shown.

THE FACTS, ONE SENTENCE — data as JSON · reference dog 40 lb · updated 2026-07-11

≈ $1.74–$3.89/day estimate — brand's published pricing Order direct →
Tell us about your dogevery number on this page updates live ↓
40 lb
For a 40-lb adult: 1½ cupsper day not pricedper day —bag lasts passes 2 fit checks ↓

Joint, kidney, dental or heart concerns? Labels can't honestly answer those — that's vet territory. Why we don't checkmark them →

The evidence

The Verified Label

Every food on this site gets this exact panel — same fields, same order, sourced from the official label — so brands finally become comparable. Corpus dot-anchors currently cover dry food only — this is a air-dried food, so anchors are omitted below rather than compared across forms.

Verified LabelThe standardized pet-food panel
VPFD № SUNDAY
verified 2026-07-11

Composition — dry-matter basis

why dry matter
Kibble is ~10% water, canned food ~78%, so as-fed numbers are on two different scales. As-fed values shown small. How the conversion works →
Protein 42.4%label: 36% min no corpus anchor for this food form
Fat 21.2%label: 18% min no corpus anchor for this food form
Fiber 5.6%label: 4.8% max no corpus anchor for this food form
Est. carbohydrates ash not disclosed → 8% assumed, so this is an estimate ≈21.4%computed no corpus anchor for this food form
Calcium / Phosphorus extended guarantees: Ca 1.25% · P 1% · Ω-3 0.8% 1.25 : 1ratio, as fed within the AAFCO adult range (1:1 – 2:1)

Calories & cost — for your 40-lb adult dog

Calorie density 620 kcal/cup5100 kcal/kg no corpus anchor for this food form
Daily serving1½ cups
Cost per day—
Bag lasts—

No cost per 1,000 kcal yet: we haven't matched this food to a current Amazon listing. Serving math uses standard veterinary energy formulas — see the formula.

Standards & ingredients

AAFCO statement
what this means
Two claims exist: formulated to meet a profile, or fed to real dogs in an AAFCO trial. Which is stronger, and how rare it is →
Formulated to meet · all_life_stages
First five ingredients (by pre-cooking weight)Chicken · Chicken Liver · Egg · Millet · Oat
Named animal protein first; named meals onlyYes
Legumes in first 10 (FDA DCM inquiry)None
BHA / BHT preservativesNone on label
Carrageenan (thickener)None
Ethoxyquin
why unknown
A preservative added by a fish-meal supplier need not appear on the finished label, so no label can prove its absence. Why we show gaps →
None — no fish meal in this recipe

Safety

FDA recalls — Sundays for Dogs, since 2023None on record
ManufacturerNot confirmed from label
Label transparency 11 of 15 standard fields
Green = verified favorable · amber = gap in the record · red = verified unfavorable · gray = not disclosed / neutral fact.
Source: official label source (official) · anchors: 494 verified dry dog foods (360 priced) · how to read this label

The fit

For your dog, specifically

Checked for a 40-lb adult with a sensitive stomach — the same published criteria our finder uses. Change your dog above and these update.

✓
Validated for adult dogsAAFCO statement covers adult maintenance.
✓
Passes our sensitive-stomach checksNamed animal protein first, and no unnamed by-products in the ingredient list.
·
Contains chickenNot selected as a concern for your dog — shown here for reference.

The source material

The full ingredient list

Every flag above is computed from this list. Why order is by pre-cooking weight, and how splitting bends it →

Chicken, Chicken Liver, Egg, Millet, Oat, Pumpkin, Kale, Ground Bone, Fish Oil, Sea Salt, Flaxseed, Parsley, Turmeric, Chicory Root, Kelp, Mixed Tocopherols (Preservative), Ginger, Blueberries, Carrots, Apples, Tomatoes, Shiitake Mushrooms, Broccoli, Oranges, Cranberries, Spinach, Beets, Cherries, Strawberries

4 ingredients in this list are ones we hold sourced evidence on , and none of them is contested in the veterinary literature.

  • Fish oil (EPA + DHA omega-3) · ingredient 9Well supportedMarine-source omega-3 fatty acids (EPA and DHA) from fish oil. A randomized, double-blinded controlled trial (Roush 2010) found improved weight-bearing in dogs with osteoarthritis, and a 2022 meta-analysis identified clear clinical analgesic efficacy for omega-3-enriched diets and supplements.
  • Mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin E) · ingredient 16Well supportedA blend of vitamin E forms (alpha-, beta-, gamma-, delta-tocopherol) used as a natural-source antioxidant to slow fat rancidity, commonly chosen as an alternative to synthetic preservatives. EFSA concluded that tocopherol-rich extracts are safe for all animal species and the consumer and are efficacious antioxidants in feed.
  • Flaxseed (ALA omega-3) · ingredient 11NeutralA plant source of the short-chain omega-3 ALA. Dogs convert ALA to the long-chain omega-3s inefficiently: a controlled feeding study (Dunbar 2010) found flaxseed raised serum EPA but produced no measurable DHA.
  • Prebiotics (chicory root / inulin, FOS) · ingredient 14NeutralFermentable fibers (chicory-derived inulin and fructooligosaccharides) that feed colonic bacteria and are readily fermented to short-chain fatty acids in dogs. Feeding studies show they shift fecal microbiota composition and are well tolerated at typical inclusion levels, but clear health benefits beyond compositional change are not yet established.

The maker

Who makes this — and how they back it up

The five questions the WSAVA nutrition guidelines tell you to ask a pet-food company. Every answer is sourced or marked as an undisclosed gap — never guessed. This is the "is it made competently?" axis that star-rating sites skip.

Owns its manufacturing Co-packed

Source describes manufacturing at a USDA-monitored human-grade facility but does not claim Sundays owns/operates it.

source →
Employs a qualified nutritionist Yes — sourced

The brand's own page states it employs an ACVN-boarded veterinary nutritionist and an animal-nutrition PhD (part-time) — both qualify. Individuals are not named. (Founder Dr. Tory Waxman is a veterinarian but not stated to be a DACVN.)

source →
AAFCO feeding trials No — sourced

Brand's own answer to WSAVA's 'feeding trials or formulation?' question: formulation plus lab analysis of finished product; no feeding trials claimed.

source →
Publishes quality-control testing Yes — sourced

covers: ingredient testing (vitamin/mineral, inbound and outbound), pathogen (bacteriology) testing every batch, finished-product nutrient analysis. Brand's own WSAVA answers page.

source →
Peer-reviewed research None found

PubMed lists no animal or pet paper with Sundays for Dogs in an author address. Not proof no research exists — only that none is indexed under that company name.

source →
Parent company Sundays for Dogs (independent, venture-backed; co-founders Dr. Tory Waxman and Michael Waxman) ↗ Founded 2020 ↗ Headquarters / plant Ohio (Cleveland area) ↗ FDA recalls on record None on record

Full company scorecard, sources, and every SKU we've verified for this brand: Sundays for Dogs brand page →