Home / Dog food / Sundays for Dogs / Fish Recipe

product photo
coming soon
no verified photo yet — never a mockup

Sundays for Dogs · brand facts & recall history →

Sundays for Dogs Fish Recipe

Air-dried food · all dogs

A formulated-to-meet, whitefish-first air-dried food from Sundays for Dogs. Pricing and/or calorie data haven't been independently confirmed for this SKU yet, so cost-per-day isn't shown.

THE FACTS, ONE SENTENCE — data as JSON · reference dog 40 lb · updated 2026-07-11

≈ $1.74–$3.89/day estimate — brand's published pricing Order direct →
Tell us about your dogevery number on this page updates live ↓
40 lb
For a 40-lb adult: 1¾ cupsper day not pricedper day —bag lasts passes 2 fit checks ↓

Joint, kidney, dental or heart concerns? Labels can't honestly answer those — that's vet territory. Why we don't checkmark them →

The evidence

The Verified Label

Every food on this site gets this exact panel — same fields, same order, sourced from the official label — so brands finally become comparable. Corpus dot-anchors currently cover dry food only — this is a air-dried food, so anchors are omitted below rather than compared across forms.

Verified LabelThe standardized pet-food panel
VPFD № SUNDAY
verified 2026-07-11

Composition — dry-matter basis

why dry matter
Kibble is ~10% water, canned food ~78%, so as-fed numbers are on two different scales. As-fed values shown small. How the conversion works →
Protein 44.7%label: 38% min no corpus anchor for this food form
Fat 21.2%label: 18% min no corpus anchor for this food form
Fiber 5.6%label: 4.8% max no corpus anchor for this food form
Est. carbohydrates ash not disclosed → 8% assumed, so this is an estimate ≈19.1%computed no corpus anchor for this food form
Calcium / Phosphorus extended guarantees: Ω-3 3.66% Not yet verifiedcalcium/phosphorus no ratio to anchor

Calories & cost — for your 40-lb adult dog

Calorie density 580 kcal/cup4780 kcal/kg no corpus anchor for this food form
Daily serving1¾ cups
Cost per day—
Bag lasts—

No cost per 1,000 kcal yet: we haven't matched this food to a current Amazon listing. Serving math uses standard veterinary energy formulas — see the formula.

Standards & ingredients

AAFCO statement
what this means
Two claims exist: formulated to meet a profile, or fed to real dogs in an AAFCO trial. Which is stronger, and how rare it is →
Formulated to meet · all_life_stages
First five ingredients (by pre-cooking weight)Whitefish · Millet · Salmon · Flaxseed Meal · Pumpkin
Named animal protein first; named meals onlyYes
Legumes in first 10 (FDA DCM inquiry)None
BHA / BHT preservativesNone on label
Carrageenan (thickener)None
Ethoxyquin
why unknown
A preservative added by a fish-meal supplier need not appear on the finished label, so no label can prove its absence. Why we show gaps →
None — no fish meal in this recipe

Safety

FDA recalls — Sundays for Dogs, since 2023None on record
ManufacturerNot confirmed from label
Label transparency 9 of 15 standard fields
Green = verified favorable · amber = gap in the record · red = verified unfavorable · gray = not disclosed / neutral fact.
Source: official label source (official) · anchors: 494 verified dry dog foods (360 priced) · how to read this label

The fit

For your dog, specifically

Checked for a 40-lb adult with a sensitive stomach — the same published criteria our finder uses. Change your dog above and these update.

✓
Validated for adult dogsAAFCO statement covers adult maintenance.
✓
Passes our sensitive-stomach checksNamed animal protein first, and no unnamed by-products in the ingredient list.
·
Chicken-free recipeNot selected for your dog — but relevant if chicken sensitivity ever comes up.

The source material

The full ingredient list

Every flag above is computed from this list. Why order is by pre-cooking weight, and how splitting bends it →

Whitefish, Millet, Salmon, Flaxseed Meal, Pumpkin, Sunflower Oil, Kale, Parsley, Salt, Mixed Tocopherols (Preservative), Fish Oil, Turmeric, Dried Kelp, Selenium Yeast, Carrot, Apple, Tomato, Shiitake Mushroom, Broccoli, Spinach, Red Beet, Cherry, Strawberry, Blueberry

3 ingredients in this list are ones we hold sourced evidence on , and none of them is contested in the veterinary literature.

  • Mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin E) · ingredient 10Well supportedA blend of vitamin E forms (alpha-, beta-, gamma-, delta-tocopherol) used as a natural-source antioxidant to slow fat rancidity, commonly chosen as an alternative to synthetic preservatives. EFSA concluded that tocopherol-rich extracts are safe for all animal species and the consumer and are efficacious antioxidants in feed.
  • Fish oil (EPA + DHA omega-3) · ingredient 11Well supportedMarine-source omega-3 fatty acids (EPA and DHA) from fish oil. A randomized, double-blinded controlled trial (Roush 2010) found improved weight-bearing in dogs with osteoarthritis, and a 2022 meta-analysis identified clear clinical analgesic efficacy for omega-3-enriched diets and supplements.
  • Flaxseed (ALA omega-3) · ingredient 4NeutralA plant source of the short-chain omega-3 ALA. Dogs convert ALA to the long-chain omega-3s inefficiently: a controlled feeding study (Dunbar 2010) found flaxseed raised serum EPA but produced no measurable DHA.

The maker

Who makes this — and how they back it up

The five questions the WSAVA nutrition guidelines tell you to ask a pet-food company. Every answer is sourced or marked as an undisclosed gap — never guessed. This is the "is it made competently?" axis that star-rating sites skip.

Owns its manufacturing Co-packed

Source describes manufacturing at a USDA-monitored human-grade facility but does not claim Sundays owns/operates it.

source →
Employs a qualified nutritionist Yes — sourced

The brand's own page states it employs an ACVN-boarded veterinary nutritionist and an animal-nutrition PhD (part-time) — both qualify. Individuals are not named. (Founder Dr. Tory Waxman is a veterinarian but not stated to be a DACVN.)

source →
AAFCO feeding trials No — sourced

Brand's own answer to WSAVA's 'feeding trials or formulation?' question: formulation plus lab analysis of finished product; no feeding trials claimed.

source →
Publishes quality-control testing Yes — sourced

covers: ingredient testing (vitamin/mineral, inbound and outbound), pathogen (bacteriology) testing every batch, finished-product nutrient analysis. Brand's own WSAVA answers page.

source →
Peer-reviewed research None found

PubMed lists no animal or pet paper with Sundays for Dogs in an author address. Not proof no research exists — only that none is indexed under that company name.

source →
Parent company Sundays for Dogs (independent, venture-backed; co-founders Dr. Tory Waxman and Michael Waxman) ↗ Founded 2020 ↗ Headquarters / plant Ohio (Cleveland area) ↗ FDA recalls on record None on record

Full company scorecard, sources, and every SKU we've verified for this brand: Sundays for Dogs brand page →