Home / Dog food / Zignature / Zignature Original Small Bites Zssential Formula with Probiotics

product photo
coming soon
no verified photo yet — never a mockup

Zignature · brand facts & recall history →

Zignature Original Small Bites Zssential Formula with Probiotics

Dry food · all dogs

A formulated-to-meet, turkey-first dry food that's denser than 67% (you feed fewer cups). We don't have a cost per day for this food yet.

THE FACTS, ONE SENTENCE — data as JSON · reference dog 40 lb · updated 2026-07-11

Tell us about your dogevery number on this page updates live ↓
40 lb
For a 40-lb adult: 2½ cupsper day not pricedper day 6 daysbag lasts passes 2 fit checks ↓

Joint, kidney, dental or heart concerns? Labels can't honestly answer those — that's vet territory. Why we don't checkmark them →

The evidence

The Verified Label

Every food on this site gets this exact panel — same fields, same order, sourced from the official label — so brands finally become comparable. Dots show where this food sits among all 494 dry foods we've verified.

Verified LabelThe standardized pet-food panel
VPFD № ZIGNAT
verified 2026-07-11

Composition — dry-matter basis

why dry matter
Kibble is ~10% water, canned food ~78%, so as-fed numbers are on two different scales. As-fed values shown small. How the conversion works →
Protein 35.6%label: 32% min higher than 84% of dry foods
Fat 18.9%label: 17% min higher than 82% of dry foods
Fiber 5.6%label: 5% max typical — the median dry food is 5.4%
Est. carbohydrates ash not disclosed → 8% assumed, so this is an estimate ≈31.1%computed anchor available once more brands disclose ash
Calcium / Phosphorus extended guarantees: Ω-3 1% Not yet verifiedcalcium/phosphorus no ratio to anchor

Calories & cost — for your 40-lb adult dog

Calorie density 405 kcal/cup3700 kcal/kg denser than 67% of dry foods (median 388) — you feed fewer cups
Daily serving2½ cups
Cost per day—
4-lb bag lasts6 days

No cost per 1,000 kcal yet: we haven't matched this food to a current Amazon listing. Serving math uses standard veterinary energy formulas — see the formula.

Standards & ingredients

AAFCO statement
what this means
Two claims exist: formulated to meet a profile, or fed to real dogs in an AAFCO trial. Which is stronger, and how rare it is →
Formulated to meet · all_life_stages
First five ingredients (by pre-cooking weight)Turkey · Turkey Meal · Salmon · Lamb Meal · Chickpeas
Named animal protein first; named meals onlyYes
Legumes in first 10 (FDA DCM inquiry)4 (chickpeas, peas, chickpea flour, pea flour)
BHA / BHT preservativesNone on label
Carrageenan (thickener)None
Ethoxyquin
why unknown
A preservative added by a fish-meal supplier need not appear on the finished label, so no label can prove its absence. Why we show gaps →
None — no fish meal in this recipe

Safety

FDA recalls — Zignature, since 2023None on record
ManufacturerNot confirmed from label
Label transparency 9 of 15 standard fields
Green = verified favorable · amber = gap in the record · red = verified unfavorable · gray = not disclosed / neutral fact.
Source: official label source (official) · anchors: 494 verified dry dog foods (360 priced) · how to read this label

The fit

For your dog, specifically

Checked for a 40-lb adult with a sensitive stomach — the same published criteria our finder uses. Change your dog above and these update.

✓
Validated for adult dogsAAFCO statement covers adult maintenance.
✓
Passes our sensitive-stomach checksNamed animal protein first, and no unnamed by-products in the ingredient list.
·
Chicken-free recipeNot selected for your dog — but relevant if chicken sensitivity ever comes up.

The source material

The full ingredient list

Every flag above is computed from this list. Why order is by pre-cooking weight, and how splitting bends it →

Turkey, Turkey Meal, Salmon, Lamb Meal, Chickpeas, Peas, Chickpea Flour, Pea Flour, Duck Meal, Flaxseed, Dehydrated Alfalfa Meal, Turkey Fat (Preserved with Mixed Tocopherols), Natural Flavor, Salt, Potassium Chloride, Dicalcium Phosphate, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, Vitamin A Supplement, Niacinamide, D-Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Folic Acid, Biotin), Salmon Oil, Taurine, Minerals (Zinc Proteinate, Iron Proteinate, Copper Proteinate, Sodium Selenite, Manganese Proteinate, Calcium Iodate), Mixed Tocopherols, Choline Chloride, L-Carnitine, Rosemary Extract, Dried Bacillus Coagulans Fermentation Product, Dried Bacillus Subtillis Fermentation Product, Dried Bifidobacterium Bifidum Fermentation Product

9 ingredients in this list are ones we hold sourced evidence on , and 2 of them are genuinely contested rather than merely unpopular online.

  • Chickpeas (garbanzo beans) · ingredient 5ContestedA pulse (legume), also called garbanzo bean, used in grain-free foods for plant protein and carbohydrate. Chickpeas are among the pulses (with peas and lentils) cited in the FDA's open 2018 investigation into diet-associated canine DCM.
  • Peas · ingredient 6ContestedA pulse (legume) used in many grain-free foods as a plant protein and carbohydrate source. Peas are central to an open FDA investigation, begun in July 2018, into a possible link between diets high in peas, other pulses, and potatoes and canine dilated cardiomyopathy (DCM); 93% of reported products contained peas and/or lentils.
  • Named Meat/Poultry Meal (e.g., Chicken Meal, Lamb Meal) · ingredient 2Well supportedA rendered, water- and fat-reduced concentrate from a named species (AAFCO, e.g., 'chicken meal'). Because most moisture is removed it is a dense protein source (poultry meals commonly around 57-69% crude protein) and it names the species for allergy avoidance.
  • Mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin E) · ingredient 12Well supportedA blend of vitamin E forms (alpha-, beta-, gamma-, delta-tocopherol) used as a natural-source antioxidant to slow fat rancidity, commonly chosen as an alternative to synthetic preservatives. EFSA concluded that tocopherol-rich extracts are safe for all animal species and the consumer and are efficacious antioxidants in feed.
  • Fish oil (EPA + DHA omega-3) · ingredient 18Well supportedMarine-source omega-3 fatty acids (EPA and DHA) from fish oil. A randomized, double-blinded controlled trial (Roush 2010) found improved weight-bearing in dogs with osteoarthritis, and a 2022 meta-analysis identified clear clinical analgesic efficacy for omega-3-enriched diets and supplements.
  • Rosemary extract · ingredient 24Well supportedA plant-derived natural antioxidant (active compounds carnosic acid and carnosol) used to slow fat oxidation, frequently chosen as an alternative to synthetic preservatives. It is an authorized food antioxidant in the EU (E 392); JECFA established a temporary acceptable daily intake for rosemary extract expressed as carnosic acid plus carnosol.

Nutritional twins

Priced close matches

This food has no verified price yet — these are the closest label matches that do.

Label-composition matches only: same species, form, and growth stage; same primary protein where both are known; grain-free preserved; protein within 4 points and fat within 4 points, and estimated carbs within 8 points, on a dry-matter basis. Not a medical or quality recommendation.

The maker

Who makes this — and how they back it up

The five questions the WSAVA nutrition guidelines tell you to ask a pet-food company. Every answer is sourced or marked as an undisclosed gap — never guessed. This is the "is it made competently?" axis that star-rating sites skip.

Owns its manufacturing Co-packed

Zignature's own site describes all named production facilities as third-party 'partners,' not company-owned plants.

source →
Employs a qualified nutritionist Yes — sourced

Zignature states it contracts a full-time PhD animal nutritionist and DVMs via BSM Partners (a third-party pet nutrition consulting firm), not an in-house employee. No named individual or stated ACVN/ECVCN board certification was found.

source →
AAFCO feeding trials Claims trials, no label shows one

Brand claims long-term feeding studies 'based on - and enhanced from - the official AAFCO guidelines'; every Zignature label we hold says 'formulated to meet'. None of the 54 AAFCO statements we read on its labels says "animal feeding tests".

source →
Publishes quality-control testing Yes — sourced

covers: ingredient testing by manufacturing partners, in-process and finished-product testing. Zignature (Pets Global) answers to WSAVA's questions.

source →
Peer-reviewed research None found

PubMed lists no animal or pet paper with Pets Global in an author address. Not proof no research exists — only that none is indexed under that company name.

source →
Parent company Pets Global, Inc. ↗ Founded 2010 ↗ Headquarters / plant Valencia, California, USA ↗ FDA recalls on record None on record

Full company scorecard, sources, and every SKU we've verified for this brand: Zignature brand page →