Home / Dog food / Zignature / Zignature Select Cuts Lamb & Lamb Meal Formula with Super Grains

product photo
coming soon
no verified photo yet — never a mockup

Zignature · brand facts & recall history →

Zignature Select Cuts Lamb & Lamb Meal Formula with Super Grains

Dry food · all dogs

A formulated-to-meet, lamb-first dry food that's denser than 44% (you feed fewer cups). We don't have a cost per day for this food yet.

THE FACTS, ONE SENTENCE — data as JSON · reference dog 40 lb · updated 2026-07-11

Tell us about your dogevery number on this page updates live ↓
40 lb
For a 40-lb adult: 2½ cupsper day not pricedper day 6 daysbag lasts passes 2 fit checks ↓

Joint, kidney, dental or heart concerns? Labels can't honestly answer those — that's vet territory. Why we don't checkmark them →

The evidence

The Verified Label

Every food on this site gets this exact panel — same fields, same order, sourced from the official label — so brands finally become comparable. Dots show where this food sits among all 494 dry foods we've verified.

Verified LabelThe standardized pet-food panel
VPFD № ZIGNAT
verified 2026-07-11

Composition — dry-matter basis

why dry matter
Kibble is ~10% water, canned food ~78%, so as-fed numbers are on two different scales. As-fed values shown small. How the conversion works →
Protein 27.8%label: 25% min lower than 68% of dry foods
Fat 18.3%label: 16.5% min higher than 80% of dry foods
Fiber 6.1%label: 5.5% max higher than 74% of dry foods
Est. carbohydrates ash not disclosed → 8% assumed, so this is an estimate ≈38.9%computed anchor available once more brands disclose ash
Calcium / Phosphorus extended guarantees: Ca 2% · P 1.1% · Ω-3 1% 1.82 : 1ratio, as fed within the AAFCO adult range (1:1 – 2:1)

Calories & cost — for your 40-lb adult dog

Calorie density 380 kcal/cup3710 kcal/kg typical — the median dry food is 388 (median 388) — you feed more cups
Daily serving2½ cups
Cost per day—
4-lb bag lasts6 days

No cost per 1,000 kcal yet: we haven't matched this food to a current Amazon listing. Serving math uses standard veterinary energy formulas — see the formula.

Standards & ingredients

AAFCO statement
what this means
Two claims exist: formulated to meet a profile, or fed to real dogs in an AAFCO trial. Which is stronger, and how rare it is →
Formulated to meet · all_life_stages
First five ingredients (by pre-cooking weight)Lamb • Lamb Meal • Oats • Millet • Sunflower Meal • Flaxseed • Natural Flavors • Sunflower Oil • Quinoa • Potassium Chloride • Choline Chloride • Salt • Vitamins (Vitamin A Supplement • Vitamin D3 Supplement • Vitamin E Supplement • Niacin Supplement • d-Calcium Pantothenate • Thiamine Mononitrate • Pyridoxine Hydrochloride • Riboflavin Supplement • Folic Acid • Biotin • Vitamin B12 Supplement) • Calcium Carbonate • DL-Methionine • Taurine • Dried Kelp • Minerals (Zinc Proteinate • Iron Proteinate • Copper Proteinate • Cobalt Proteinate • Manganese Proteinate • Calcium Iodate • Sodium Selenite) • L-Carnitine • Mixed Tocopherols (Preservative)
Named animal protein first; named meals onlyYes
Legumes in first 10 (FDA DCM inquiry)None
BHA / BHT preservativesNone on label
Carrageenan (thickener)None
Ethoxyquin
why unknown
A preservative added by a fish-meal supplier need not appear on the finished label, so no label can prove its absence. Why we show gaps →
None — no fish meal in this recipe

Safety

FDA recalls — Zignature, since 2023None on record
ManufacturerNot confirmed from label
Label transparency 11 of 15 standard fields
Green = verified favorable · amber = gap in the record · red = verified unfavorable · gray = not disclosed / neutral fact.
Source: official label source (official) · anchors: 494 verified dry dog foods (360 priced) · how to read this label

The fit

For your dog, specifically

Checked for a 40-lb adult with a sensitive stomach — the same published criteria our finder uses. Change your dog above and these update.

✓
Validated for adult dogsAAFCO statement covers adult maintenance.
✓
Passes our sensitive-stomach checksNamed animal protein first, and no unnamed by-products in the ingredient list.
·
Chicken-free recipeNot selected for your dog — but relevant if chicken sensitivity ever comes up.

The source material

The full ingredient list

Every flag above is computed from this list. Why order is by pre-cooking weight, and how splitting bends it →

Lamb • Lamb Meal • Oats • Millet • Sunflower Meal • Flaxseed • Natural Flavors • Sunflower Oil • Quinoa • Potassium Chloride • Choline Chloride • Salt • Vitamins (Vitamin A Supplement • Vitamin D3 Supplement • Vitamin E Supplement • Niacin Supplement • d-Calcium Pantothenate • Thiamine Mononitrate • Pyridoxine Hydrochloride • Riboflavin Supplement • Folic Acid • Biotin • Vitamin B12 Supplement) • Calcium Carbonate • DL-Methionine • Taurine • Dried Kelp • Minerals (Zinc Proteinate • Iron Proteinate • Copper Proteinate • Cobalt Proteinate • Manganese Proteinate • Calcium Iodate • Sodium Selenite) • L-Carnitine • Mixed Tocopherols (Preservative)

1 ingredient in this list is ones we hold sourced evidence on , and none of them is contested in the veterinary literature.

  • Mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin E) · ingredient 1Well supportedA blend of vitamin E forms (alpha-, beta-, gamma-, delta-tocopherol) used as a natural-source antioxidant to slow fat rancidity, commonly chosen as an alternative to synthetic preservatives. EFSA concluded that tocopherol-rich extracts are safe for all animal species and the consumer and are efficacious antioxidants in feed.

Nutritional twins

Priced close matches

This food has no verified price yet — these are the closest label matches that do.

28.3% protein (DM)$3.62 / 1,000 kcal
27.8% protein (DM)$2.93 / 1,000 kcal

Label-composition matches only: same species, form, and growth stage; same primary protein where both are known; grain-free preserved; protein within 4 points and fat within 4 points, and estimated carbs within 8 points, on a dry-matter basis. Not a medical or quality recommendation.

The maker

Who makes this — and how they back it up

The five questions the WSAVA nutrition guidelines tell you to ask a pet-food company. Every answer is sourced or marked as an undisclosed gap — never guessed. This is the "is it made competently?" axis that star-rating sites skip.

Owns its manufacturing Co-packed

Zignature's own site describes all named production facilities as third-party 'partners,' not company-owned plants.

source →
Employs a qualified nutritionist Yes — sourced

Zignature states it contracts a full-time PhD animal nutritionist and DVMs via BSM Partners (a third-party pet nutrition consulting firm), not an in-house employee. No named individual or stated ACVN/ECVCN board certification was found.

source →
AAFCO feeding trials Claims trials, no label shows one

Brand claims long-term feeding studies 'based on - and enhanced from - the official AAFCO guidelines'; every Zignature label we hold says 'formulated to meet'. None of the 54 AAFCO statements we read on its labels says "animal feeding tests".

source →
Publishes quality-control testing Yes — sourced

covers: ingredient testing by manufacturing partners, in-process and finished-product testing. Zignature (Pets Global) answers to WSAVA's questions.

source →
Peer-reviewed research None found

PubMed lists no animal or pet paper with Pets Global in an author address. Not proof no research exists — only that none is indexed under that company name.

source →
Parent company Pets Global, Inc. ↗ Founded 2010 ↗ Headquarters / plant Valencia, California, USA ↗ FDA recalls on record None on record

Full company scorecard, sources, and every SKU we've verified for this brand: Zignature brand page →