Ethoxyquin

Preservative · evidence: Contested · on 1 of 2,354 verified labels

Ethoxyquin appears on 1 of the 2,354 pet food labels we have verified against the official product label — 0.0% of the corpus. That is 0 dog foods (0.0% of the dog corpus) and 1 cat foods (0.1% of the cat corpus), which makes it substantially more a cat-food ingredient than most discussion admits. Nobody publishes that split because computing it means reading every label.

What it is, and why it is in the food

A synthetic antioxidant historically used to preserve fats, often in fish-meal ingredients. Regulatory positions diverge: the EU suspended its authorization as a feed additive in 2017 after EFSA could not conclude on its safety, citing an overall lack of data, a possibly mutagenic impurity (p-phenetidine), and a potentially genotoxic metabolite. In the U.S. it remains an approved feed additive, and its maximum level in complete dog food was later lowered to 75 ppm on a voluntary basis. Definitive evidence of harm to dogs at permitted levels is not established.

The evidence is mixed. Studies disagree, and the honest summary is that the answer depends on context that a label cannot tell you.

How common it is, and where it sits on the label

Ingredients are listed by pre-cooking weight, so position carries information: something in the first five is present in bulk, something near the end is a trace addition. Ethoxyquin is in the first five ingredients on none of the 1 foods that contain it, which tells you it is added in small quantities in every case.

Where ethoxyquin appears, across 2,354 verified labels.
CutFoodsShare
Dog foods00.0% of the dog corpus
Cat foods10.1% of the cat corpus
Dry food1100% of foods containing it
In the first five ingredients00% of foods containing it

Every food that contains it, cheapest calories first

Ranked by cost per 1,000 kcal, which is the only price basis that survives different bag sizes and moisture levels. 1 of the 1 foods containing ethoxyquin have a matched price; the rest are verified but unpriced.

Foods containing ethoxyquin, cheapest per 1,000 kcal first.
FoodSpeciesFormProtein (DM)Cost / 1,000 kcalBuy
Meow Mix Original Choice Cat dry 34.1% $0.90 Check price

“Check price” links go to a retailer and we may earn a commission — it does not change what is in this table, which is ranked purely on verified cost per 1,000 kcal. Full affiliate disclosure.

Where ethoxyquin shows up
0% 25% 50% 75% 100% Dog foods 0.0% (0) Cat foods 0.1% (1) Dry (of those with it) 100% (1) In the first 5 ingredients 0% (0)
Ethoxyquin is substantially more common in cat food: 0.1% of the cat corpus against 0.0% of the other. Source: Verified Pet Food Data — 2,354 verified labels, 2026-08-28.
Where ethoxyquin shows up
ItemValue (%)
Dog foods0.0% (0)
Cat foods0.1% (1)
Dry (of those with it)100% (1)
In the first 5 ingredients0% (0)

Comparable foods that do not list it

Most people searching an ingredient name want the other half of the answer: what to buy instead. These are verified dry cat foods — the same species and form as most of the foods above, so the comparison is like for like — that do not list ethoxyquin anywhere in their ingredients, cheapest per 1,000 kcal first.

Verified dry cat foods without ethoxyquin.
FoodProtein (DM)Est. carbs (DM)Cost / 1,000 kcal
Rachael Ray Nutrish Rachael Ray® Nutrish™ Dry Cat Food Real Salmon & Brown Rice Recipe 37.4% 34% $0.98 Check price
IAMS PROACTIVE HEALTH Healthy Adult with Chicken 35.6% 36% $1.07 Check price
IAMS™ PROACTIVE HEALTH™ HEALTHY ADULT WITH SALMON Not disclosed Not computable $1.08 Check price
IAMS PROACTIVE HEALTH Healthy Kitten 36.7% 28% $1.17 Check price
IAMS™ HEALTHY WEIGHT DRY CAT Not disclosed Not computable $1.19 Check price
IAMS™ PROACTIVE HEALTH™ HEALTHY SENIOR Not disclosed Not computable $1.25 Check price
IAMS™ PROACTIVE HEALTH™ URINARY TRACT HEALTH WITH CHICKEN Not disclosed Not computable $1.47 Check price
Blue Buffalo BLUE Tastefuls Sensitive Stomach Adult Cat Chicken and Brown Rice Recipe 35.2% 35% $1.55 Check price
IAMS PROACTIVE HEALTH Adult Sensitive Digestion & Skin 36.7% 36% $1.55 Check price
IAMS™ Proactive Health Salmon Dry Kitten Food Recipe Not disclosed Not computable $1.57 Check price

Avoiding one ingredient is rarely a good reason to switch on its own. Use this table the way you would use any other single filter — alongside the AAFCO statement, the protein figure and the recall record, all of which are on each food's page.

What we don’t know

Our figure counts what manufacturers print. An ingredient that arrives inside another component — a preservative already in the fish meal, say — does not have to be declared separately by the pet-food maker, so a count from labels is a floor, not a ceiling. We also cannot see inclusion rate: a label tells you ethoxyquin is present and roughly where it sits by weight, never how much.

The specific gap for preservatives is carry-over. A preservative added by a supplier to a component — most commonly to fish meal, before it ever reaches the pet-food plant — does not have to be declared by the pet-food maker. So a preservative-free ingredient list is evidence about the manufacturer’s own additions and nothing more. We do not translate any of this into a score. There is no honest way to weigh one ingredient against a food’s AAFCO substantiation, its recall history and its cost, and sites that do it anyway are making the weighting up.

Sources

Related ingredients

Frequently asked

How common is ethoxyquin in pet food?

It appears on 1 of the 2,354 pet food labels we have verified — 0.0% of the corpus. That breaks down as 0 dog foods (0.0%) and 1 cat foods (0.1%).

Is ethoxyquin a main ingredient or a minor one?

It effectively never appears in the first five ingredients — on none of the 1 foods that contain it. It is added in small amounts, so its position on the label tells you little about the food overall.

Is ethoxyquin bad for dogs or cats?

A synthetic antioxidant historically used to preserve fats, often in fish-meal ingredients. Regulatory positions diverge: the EU suspended its authorization as a feed additive in 2017 after EFSA could not conclude on its safety, citing an overall lack of data, a possibly mutagenic impurity (p-phenetidine), and a potentially genotoxic metabolite. In the U.S. it remains an approved feed additive, and its maximum level in complete dog food was later lowered to 75 ppm on a voluntary basis. Definitive evidence of harm to dogs at permitted levels is not established.

Which foods do not contain ethoxyquin?

Among verified dry cat foods with a matched price, Rachael Ray Nutrish Rachael Ray® Nutrish™ Dry Cat Food Real Salmon & Brown Rice Recipe, IAMS PROACTIVE HEALTH Healthy Adult with Chicken, IAMS™ PROACTIVE HEALTH™ HEALTHY ADULT WITH SALMON are the cheapest per 1,000 kcal that do not list it. The full table is on this page.

All 35 ingredients we found on a real label are indexed on the ingredient hub. To see how these fields are read off a label in the first place, start with how to read a pet food label.