Potato

Grain & starch · evidence: Contested · on 623 of 2,354 verified labels

Potato appears on 623 of the 2,354 pet food labels we have verified against the official product label — 26.5% of the corpus. That is 361 dog foods (32.5% of the dog corpus) and 262 cat foods (21.1% of the cat corpus). Nobody publishes that split because computing it means reading every label.

What it is, and why it is in the food

A starchy tuber used as the carbohydrate base in many grain-free foods (it is a vegetable, not a cereal grain). The FDA's open 2018 investigation into diet-associated canine DCM listed potatoes 'in various forms' as main ingredients of interest alongside pulses such as peas and lentils. The association is unproven, no causal relationship has been established, and no recall has been issued. Potato is otherwise a common, digestible carbohydrate source.

The evidence is mixed. Studies disagree, and the honest summary is that the answer depends on context that a label cannot tell you.

How common it is, and where it sits on the label

Ingredients are listed by pre-cooking weight, so position carries information: something in the first five is present in bulk, something near the end is a trace addition. Potato is in the first five ingredients on 257 of the 623 foods that contain it — 41% — so on those it is a structural part of the recipe rather than an additive.

Where potato appears, across 2,354 verified labels.
CutFoodsShare
Dog foods36132.5% of the dog corpus
Cat foods26221.1% of the cat corpus
Wet food34756% of foods containing it
Dry food26943% of foods containing it
Fresh food51% of foods containing it
Fresh (gently cooked) food20% of foods containing it
In the first five ingredients25741% of foods containing it

Every food that contains it, cheapest calories first

Ranked by cost per 1,000 kcal, which is the only price basis that survives different bag sizes and moisture levels. 352 of the 623 foods containing potato have a matched price; the rest are verified but unpriced.

Foods containing potato, cheapest per 1,000 kcal first.
FoodSpeciesFormProtein (DM)Cost / 1,000 kcalBuy
Rachael Ray Nutrish Zero Grain Turkey & Potato Recipe Dry Dog Food Dog dry 28.9% $0.85 Check price
Canidae All Life Stages Chicken & Potato Recipe Dog dry 27.8% $1.11 Check price
Fromm Gold Adult Dry Dog Food Dog dry 27.8% $1.23 Check price
Fromm Gold Large Breed Adult Dry Dog Food Dog dry 25.6% $1.28 Check price
Kirkland Signature Adult Formula Chicken, Rice and Vegetable Dog Food Dog dry 28.9% $1.31 Check price
Fromm Gold Large Breed Puppy Dry Dog Food Dog dry 28.9% $1.36 Check price
Kirkland Signature Nature's Domain Salmon Meal & Sweet Potato Formula Dog Food Dog dry 30.0% $1.37 Check price
Wellness CORE Natural Grain Free Dry Dog Food, Original Turkey & Chicken Recipe Dog dry 37.8% $1.37 Check price
Blue Buffalo BLUE Tastefuls Sensitive Stomach Adult Cat Chicken and Brown Rice Recipe Cat dry 35.2% $1.55 Check price
Blue Buffalo BLUE Wilderness Puppy Grain-Free Chicken Recipe Dog dry 40.0% $1.57 Check price
Blue Buffalo BLUE Wilderness Adult Dog Grain-Free Chicken Recipe Dog dry 37.8% $1.61 Check price
Blue Buffalo BLUE Wilderness Puppy Chicken with Wholesome Grains Recipe Dog dry 40.0% $1.62 Check price

“Check price” links go to a retailer and we may earn a commission — it does not change what is in this table, which is ranked purely on verified cost per 1,000 kcal. Full affiliate disclosure.

Showing the 12 cheapest of 623. The complete list, including unpriced foods, is in the JSON endpoint.

Where potato shows up
0% 25% 50% 75% 100% Dog foods 32.5% (361) Cat foods 21.1% (262) Wet (of those with it) 56% (347) Dry (of those with it) 43% (269) Fresh (of those with it) 1% (5) In the first 5 ingredients 41% (257)
Potato appears at a similar rate in dog and cat food — 32.5% and 21.1% of each corpus. Source: Verified Pet Food Data — 2,354 verified labels, 2026-08-28.
Where potato shows up
ItemValue (%)
Dog foods32.5% (361)
Cat foods21.1% (262)
Wet (of those with it)56% (347)
Dry (of those with it)43% (269)
Fresh (of those with it)1% (5)
In the first 5 ingredients41% (257)

What actually differs about the foods that use it

Held to one species and one form — wet dog food — so the comparison is not just measuring moisture. 175 verified wet dog foods list potato; 254 do not. These are medians across those two groups.

Median values, wet dog foods with and without potato.
MeasureContains it (175)Does not (254)Difference
Protein, dry matter44.4%40.9% 3.5 points higher
Estimated carbohydrate, dry matter15.9%14.7% 1.2 points higher
Cost per 1,000 kcal$11.86$10.35 $1.51 higher

Across every food that lists it, potato sits at position 6 in the ingredient list on a median food. The brands using it most in our corpus are Blue Buffalo (221), Fromm (77), Wellness (75), Weruva (75), Merrick (67). A difference in this table is an association, not a cause: brands that reach for one ingredient tend to make similar formulation choices across the whole recipe.

Comparable foods that do not list it

Most people searching an ingredient name want the other half of the answer: what to buy instead. These are verified wet dog foods — the same species and form as most of the foods above, so the comparison is like for like — that do not list potato anywhere in their ingredients, cheapest per 1,000 kcal first.

Verified wet dog foods without potato.
FoodProtein (DM)Est. carbs (DM)Cost / 1,000 kcal
PEDIGREE® Pouch Chopped Ground Dinner Variety Pack 36.4% 18% $3.53 Check price
PEDIGREE® Wet Dog Food Chopped Ground Dinner 8ct Variety Not disclosed Not computable $3.58 Check price
PEDIGREE® Chopped Ground Dinner Wet Dog Food Variety Pack 36.4% 18% $3.63 Check price
PEDIGREE® Chopped Ground Dinner Filet Mignon & Beef Not disclosed Not computable $3.97 Check price
PEDIGREE® Puppy Wet Food – Chicken & Beef Dinner 40.9% 7% $4.03 Check price
PEDIGREE® Can High Protein Chopped Chicken & Duck Flavor 50.0% 5% $5.64 Check price
PEDIGREE® Wet Dog Food Chopped Ground Dinner Combo Variety Not disclosed Not computable $5.65 Check price
Blue Buffalo BLUE Homestyle Recipe Puppy Chicken Dinner with Garden Vegetables Not disclosed Not computable $5.92 Check price
Blue Buffalo BLUE Homestyle Recipe Adult Dog Lamb Dinner with Garden Vegetables 38.6% 10% $5.96 Check price
Blue Buffalo Baby BLUE Puppy Chicken and Vegetable Recipe Not disclosed Not computable $6.54 Check price

Avoiding one ingredient is rarely a good reason to switch on its own. Use this table the way you would use any other single filter — alongside the AAFCO statement, the protein figure and the recall record, all of which are on each food's page.

What we don’t know

Our figure counts what manufacturers print. An ingredient that arrives inside another component — a preservative already in the fish meal, say — does not have to be declared separately by the pet-food maker, so a count from labels is a floor, not a ceiling. We also cannot see inclusion rate: a label tells you potato is present and roughly where it sits by weight, never how much.

The gap here is inclusion rate. A label tells you the ingredient is present and roughly where it falls by weight; it never tells you what percentage of the recipe it is, so "contains it" and "is built on it" look identical on a bag. We do not translate any of this into a score. There is no honest way to weigh one ingredient against a food’s AAFCO substantiation, its recall history and its cost, and sites that do it anyway are making the weighting up.

Sources

Related ingredients

Frequently asked

How common is potato in pet food?

It appears on 623 of the 2,354 pet food labels we have verified — 26.5% of the corpus. That breaks down as 361 dog foods (32.5%) and 262 cat foods (21.1%).

Is potato a main ingredient or a minor one?

On 257 of those 623 foods it appears within the first five ingredients, which means it is present by weight rather than as a trace addition. On the remaining 366 it sits further down the list.

Is potato bad for dogs or cats?

A starchy tuber used as the carbohydrate base in many grain-free foods (it is a vegetable, not a cereal grain). The FDA's open 2018 investigation into diet-associated canine DCM listed potatoes 'in various forms' as main ingredients of interest alongside pulses such as peas and lentils. The association is unproven, no causal relationship has been established, and no recall has been issued. Potato is otherwise a common, digestible carbohydrate source.

Which foods do not contain potato?

Among verified wet dog foods with a matched price, PEDIGREE® Pouch Chopped Ground Dinner Variety Pack, PEDIGREE® Wet Dog Food Chopped Ground Dinner 8ct Variety, PEDIGREE® Chopped Ground Dinner Wet Dog Food Variety Pack are the cheapest per 1,000 kcal that do not list it. The full table is on this page.

All 35 ingredients we found on a real label are indexed on the ingredient hub. To see how these fields are read off a label in the first place, start with how to read a pet food label.