Home / Cat food / Wellness / Complete Health Pâté Chicken Entrée Smooth Loaf

product photo
coming soon
no verified photo yet — never a mockup

Wellness · brand facts & recall history →

Wellness Complete Health Pâté Chicken Entrée Smooth Loaf

Wet food · adult cats · distributed by Distributed by Wellness Pet

A formulated-to-meet, chicken-first wet food from Wellness, denser per can than 100% of the wet cat foods we've verified. Cat-food pricing isn't in our corpus for this SKU yet, so cost-per-day isn't shown — the composition numbers below are fully verified.

THE FACTS, ONE SENTENCE — data as JSON · reference cat 10 lb · updated 2026-07-12

Your catupdates every number on this page
10 lb

Joint, kidney, dental or heart concerns? Labels can't honestly answer those — that's vet territory. Why we don't checkmark them →

The evidence

The Verified Label

Every food on this site gets this exact panel — same fields, same order, sourced from the official label — so brands finally become comparable. Dots show where this food sits among all 732 wet cat foods we've verified.

Verified LabelThe standardized pet-food panel
VPFD № WELLNE
verified 2026-07-12

Composition — dry-matter basis

why dry matter
Dry food is ~5-10% water, wet food ~75-82%, so as-fed numbers are on two different scales. As-fed values shown small. How the conversion works →
Protein 47.7%label: 10.5% min typical — the median wet cat food is 53.3%
Fat 36.4%label: 8% min no corpus anchor for fat yet
Fiber 4.5%label: 1% max no corpus anchor for wet-food fiber yet
Est. carbohydrates ash not disclosed → 8% assumed, so this is an estimate · this estimate came out negative — a known artifact of the flat ash assumption on very lean/high-protein foods; read as "very low," not literally not determinablediabetic-check target <10% lower than 77% of wet cat foods
Magnesium as fed: not yet verified
why 0.12% DM
A commonly cited veterinary target for helping manage struvite-crystal (urinary) risk in cats is magnesium under roughly 0.12% on a dry-matter basis. This is a general, label-checkable guideline — not a diagnosis, and not a substitute for your vet, especially for cats with a history of urinary issues.
Not yet verifiedmagnesium no threshold to check — magnesium not in our verified record
Ash 8% assumed — not disclosed on label 3%as used in carb estimate no corpus anchor for ash yet

Calories & cost — for your 10-lb adult cat

Calorie density 481 kcal/can1357 kcal/kg denser than 100% of wet cat foods (median 74)
Daily serving½ cans
Cost per day—
Bag lasts—

No cost per 1,000 kcal yet: we haven't matched this cat food to a store listing. Serving math uses standard veterinary energy formulas — see the formula.

Standards & ingredients

AAFCO statement
what this means
Two claims exist: formulated to meet a profile, or fed to real cats in an AAFCO trial. Which is stronger, and how rare it is →
Formulated to meet · maintenance
First five ingredients (by pre-cooking weight)Chicken · Turkey · Chicken Broth · Chicken Liver · Chicken Hearts
Named animal protein first; named meals onlyYes
Legumes in first 10 (FDA DCM inquiry)None
BHA / BHT preservativesNone on label
Carrageenan (thickener)None
Ethoxyquin
why unknown
A preservative added by a fish-meal supplier need not appear on the finished label, so no label can prove its absence. Why we show gaps →
None — no fish meal in this recipe

Safety

FDA recalls — Wellness, since 2023None on record
ManufacturerDistributed by Wellness Pet, LLC, Burlington, MA 01803-5220
Label transparency 12 of 15 standard fields
Green = verified favorable · amber = gap in the record · red = verified unfavorable · gray = not disclosed / neutral fact.
Source: official label source (official) · anchors: 732 verified wet cat foods · how to read this label

The fit

For your cat, specifically

Checked for a 10-lb adult cat with urinary health + a low-carb goal — the same published criteria our finder uses. Change your cat above and these update.

✓
Validated for adult catsAAFCO statement covers adult maintenance.
·
Urinary fit — can't assessMagnesium is not disclosed on this label, so the urinary/struvite check cannot be run — most cat food labels omit it entirely (only a small share of the cat foods we've verified disclose magnesium at all).
·
Fiber 4.5% DMNot selected as a concern for your cat — shown here for reference.
·
Sensitive stomachNot selected for your cat — but shown here for reference.
·
Contains chickenNot selected as a concern for your cat — shown here for reference.
✓
Estimated carbs fit a low-carb targetnot determinable carbohydrate (dry-matter, estimated) is under the ~10% DM target some vets use for diabetic/low-carb cats. (this specific estimate came out negative — a known artifact of the flat ash assumption on very lean, high-protein/fat foods; read it as "very low," not as the literal number) Estimate only — not a lab measurement, and ash was assumed rather than disclosed on this label.

The source material

The full ingredient list

Every flag above is computed from this list. Why order is by pre-cooking weight, and how splitting bends it →

Chicken, Turkey, Chicken Broth, Chicken Liver, Chicken Hearts, Carrots, Natural Flavor, Fish Oil (Preserved With Mixed Tocopherols), Ground Flaxseed, Cranberries, Dried Chicory Root, Potassium Chloride, Cassia Gum, Xanthan Gum, Taurine, Sunflower Oil, Choline Chloride, Guar Gum, Salt, Vitamin E Supplement, Zinc Proteinate, Iron Proteinate, Tricalcium Phosphate, Beta Carotene, Niacin Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Copper Proteinate, Manganese Proteinate, Sodium Selenite, Vitamin A Supplement, d-Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Biotin, Folic Acid, Potassium Iodide, Vitamin D3 Supplement

7 ingredients in this list are ones we hold sourced evidence on , and none of them is contested in the veterinary literature.

  • Mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin E) · ingredient 8Well supportedA blend of vitamin E forms (alpha-, beta-, gamma-, delta-tocopherol) used as a natural-source antioxidant to slow fat rancidity, commonly chosen as an alternative to synthetic preservatives. EFSA concluded that tocopherol-rich extracts are safe for all animal species and the consumer and are efficacious antioxidants in feed.
  • Flaxseed (ALA omega-3) · ingredient 9NeutralA plant source of the short-chain omega-3 ALA. Dogs convert ALA to the long-chain omega-3s inefficiently: a controlled feeding study (Dunbar 2010) found flaxseed raised serum EPA but produced no measurable DHA.
  • Prebiotics (chicory root / inulin, FOS) · ingredient 11NeutralFermentable fibers (chicory-derived inulin and fructooligosaccharides) that feed colonic bacteria and are readily fermented to short-chain fatty acids in dogs. Feeding studies show they shift fecal microbiota composition and are well tolerated at typical inclusion levels, but clear health benefits beyond compositional change are not yet established.
  • Cassia Gum · ingredient 13NeutralA gelling agent made from the purified endosperm of Cassia seeds, used mainly in canned and wet foods. It is specifically authorized in the EU as a pet-food thickener: EFSA (2017) concluded that purified semi-refined cassia gum meeting the food-additive specification (under 0.5 mg anthraquinones/kg) is safe for dogs and cats up to the permitted feed level.
  • Xanthan Gum · ingredient 14NeutralA fermentation-derived polysaccharide used as a thickener and stabilizer, mainly in wet and gravy-style foods. EFSA's 2017 re-evaluation found no safety concern and concluded no numerical ADI was needed; direct studies in dogs are limited, but at the small amounts used it acts as a non-absorbed, largely fermentable fiber.
  • Taurine (supplemental) · ingredient 15NeutralA sulfur amino acid that dogs can normally synthesize from methionine and cysteine, so it is not classically essential for them. However, some breeds (e.g., golden retrievers) and some diets are linked to low taurine status and dilated cardiomyopathy: an observational study (Ontiveros 2020) associated non-traditional, largely grain-free diets with taurine deficiency and DCM-consistent echocardiographic changes in golden retrievers, though causation and mechanism remain under investigation.

Nutritional twins

Priced close matches

This food has no verified price yet — these are the closest label matches that do.

45.5% protein (DM)$7.47 / 1,000 kcal
45.5% protein (DM)$12.22 / 1,000 kcal
45.5% protein (DM)$6.21 / 1,000 kcal

Label-composition matches only: same species, form, and growth stage; same primary protein where both are known; grain-free preserved; protein within 4 points and fat within 4 points, and estimated carbs within 8 points, on a dry-matter basis. Not a medical or quality recommendation.

The maker

Who makes this — and how they back it up

The five questions the WSAVA nutrition guidelines tell you to ask a pet-food company. Every answer is sourced or marked as an undisclosed gap — never guessed. This is the "is it made competently?" axis that star-rating sites skip.

Owns its manufacturing Owns its plants

Company owns and operates its own plants. (Wikipedia lists Arkansas/Minnesota/Netherlands — state naming differs by source, but both confirm company-owned manufacturing, not co-packers.)

source →
Employs a qualified nutritionist Undisclosed

We could not confirm this from a public source.

source →
AAFCO feeding trials Yes — sourced

4 of 163 labels we checked carry an AAFCO feeding-trial substantiation statement.

source →
Publishes quality-control testing Not found

Wellness safety page, WSAVA-compliance blog and FAQ describe HACCP, supplier requirements, audits and certifications, but no concrete ingredient or finished-product testing statement found (system-level only).

Peer-reviewed research None found

PubMed lists no animal or pet paper with Wellness Pet Company in an author address. Not proof no research exists — only that none is indexed under that company name.

source →
Parent company Wellness Pet Company (formerly WellPet), owned by Clearlake Capital Group, L.P. ↗ Founded 1997 ↗ Headquarters / plant Tewksbury, Massachusetts, USA ↗ FDA recalls on record 2 on record

Full company scorecard, sources, and every SKU we've verified for this brand: Wellness brand page →