Home / Cat food / Wellness / Indoor Salmon & Herring Grain Free

product photo
coming soon
no verified photo yet — never a mockup

Wellness · brand facts & recall history →

Wellness Indoor Salmon & Herring Grain Free

Dry food · adult cats

A salmon-first dry food from Wellness. Cat-food pricing isn't in our corpus for this SKU yet, so cost-per-day isn't shown — the composition numbers below are fully verified.

THE FACTS, ONE SENTENCE — data as JSON · reference cat 10 lb · updated 2026-07-12

$22.79 · 5.5 lb as of 2026-07-12 Check price →
Your catupdates every number on this page
10 lb

Joint, kidney, dental or heart concerns? Labels can't honestly answer those — that's vet territory. Why we don't checkmark them →

The evidence

The Verified Label

Every food on this site gets this exact panel — same fields, same order, sourced from the official label — so brands finally become comparable. Dots show where this food sits among all 283 dry cat foods we've verified.

Verified LabelThe standardized pet-food panel
VPFD № WELLNE
verified 2026-07-12

Composition — dry-matter basis

why dry matter
Dry food is ~5-10% water, wet food ~75-82%, so as-fed numbers are on two different scales. As-fed values shown small. How the conversion works →
Protein 37.8%label: 34% min typical — the median dry cat food is 39.6%
Fat 11.1%label: 10% min no corpus anchor for fat yet
Fiber 7.8%label: 7% max higher than 91% of dry cat foods
Est. carbohydrates ash not disclosed → 8% assumed, so this is an estimate ≈34.4%diabetic-check target <10% higher than 75% of dry cat foods
Magnesium as fed: not yet verified
why 0.12% DM
A commonly cited veterinary target for helping manage struvite-crystal (urinary) risk in cats is magnesium under roughly 0.12% on a dry-matter basis. This is a general, label-checkable guideline — not a diagnosis, and not a substitute for your vet, especially for cats with a history of urinary issues.
Not yet verifiedmagnesium no threshold to check — magnesium not in our verified record
Ash 8% assumed — not disclosed on label 8%as used in carb estimate no corpus anchor for ash yet

Calories & cost — for your 10-lb adult cat

Calorie density Not yet verifiedkcal/kg no corpus anchor for this value
Daily serving
Cost per day
5.5-lb bag lasts

Cost per 1,000 kcal not available yet — this cat food isn't price-matched to a retail listing in our corpus yet. Serving math uses standard veterinary energy formulas — see the formula.

Standards & ingredients

AAFCO statement
what this means
Two claims exist: formulated to meet a profile, or fed to real cats in an AAFCO trial. Which is stronger, and how rare it is →
Not yet verified from label
First five ingredients (by pre-cooking weight)Salmon · Whitefish Meal (source of Glucosamine and Chondroitin Sulfate) · Peas · Herring Meal · Chickpeas
Named animal protein first; named meals onlyYes
Legumes in first 10 (FDA DCM inquiry)3 (peas, chickpeas, pea fiber)
BHA / BHT preservativesNone on label
Carrageenan (thickener)None
Ethoxyquin
why unknown
A preservative added by a fish-meal supplier need not appear on the finished label, so no label can prove its absence. Why we show gaps →
Can't be determined from label

Safety

FDA recalls — Wellness, since 2023None on record
ManufacturerNot confirmed from label
Label transparency 9 of 15 standard fields
Green = verified favorable · amber = gap in the record · red = verified unfavorable · gray = not disclosed / neutral fact.
Source: official label source (official) · anchors: 283 verified dry cat foods · how to read this label

The fit

For your cat, specifically

Checked for a 10-lb adult cat with urinary health + a low-carb goal — the same published criteria our finder uses. Change your cat above and these update.

·
Life-stage coverage not disclosedNo AAFCO nutrient-adequacy statement was found on the label for this SKU, so we cannot confirm adult-maintenance coverage.
·
Urinary fit — can't assessMagnesium is not disclosed on this label, so the urinary/struvite check cannot be run — most cat food labels omit it entirely (only a small share of the cat foods we've verified disclose magnesium at all).
·
Fiber 7.8% DMNot selected as a concern for your cat — shown here for reference.
·
Sensitive stomachNot selected for your cat — but shown here for reference.
·
Chicken-free recipeNot selected for your cat — but relevant if chicken sensitivity ever comes up.
Too many estimated carbs for a low-carb target≈34.4% carbohydrate (dry-matter, estimated) is over the ~10% DM target some vets use for diabetic/low-carb cats. Estimate only — not a lab measurement. See lower-carb options →

The source material

The full ingredient list

Every flag above is computed from this list. Why order is by pre-cooking weight, and how splitting bends it →

Salmon, Whitefish Meal (source of Glucosamine and Chondroitin Sulfate), Peas, Herring Meal, Chickpeas, Potatoes, Dried Plain Beet Pulp, Canola Oil, Pea Fiber, Flaxseed, Natural Flavor, Calcium Chloride, Choline Chloride, Taurine, Dried Chicory Root, Potassium Chloride, Vitamin E Supplement, Cranberries, L-Carnitine, Mixed Tocopherols added to preserve freshness, Niacin, Zinc Proteinate, Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Sulfate, Vitamin A Supplement, Iron Proteinate, Dried Kelp, Yucca Schidigera Extract, Vitamin C (Ascorbic Acid), Thiamine Mononitrate, d-Calcium Pantothenate, Sodium Selenite, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Copper Sulfate, Manganese Sulfate, Riboflavin, Manganese Proteinate, Vitamin K (Menadione Sodium Bisulfite), Copper Proteinate, Biotin, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Folic Acid, Calcium Iodate, Dried Enterococcus faecium Fermentation Product, Dried Bacillus licheniformis Fermentation Product, Dried Bacillus subtilis Fermentation Product, Rosemary Extract, Green Tea Extract, Spearmint Extract

13 ingredients in this list are ones we hold sourced evidence on , and 3 of them are genuinely contested rather than merely unpopular online.

  • Peas · ingredient 3ContestedA pulse (legume) used in many grain-free foods as a plant protein and carbohydrate source. Peas are central to an open FDA investigation, begun in July 2018, into a possible link between diets high in peas, other pulses, and potatoes and canine dilated cardiomyopathy (DCM); 93% of reported products contained peas and/or lentils.
  • Chickpeas (garbanzo beans) · ingredient 5ContestedA pulse (legume), also called garbanzo bean, used in grain-free foods for plant protein and carbohydrate. Chickpeas are among the pulses (with peas and lentils) cited in the FDA's open 2018 investigation into diet-associated canine DCM.
  • Potato · ingredient 6ContestedA starchy tuber used as the carbohydrate base in many grain-free foods (it is a vegetable, not a cereal grain). The FDA's open 2018 investigation into diet-associated canine DCM listed potatoes 'in various forms' as main ingredients of interest alongside pulses such as peas and lentils.
  • Named Meat/Poultry Meal (e.g., Chicken Meal, Lamb Meal) · ingredient 4Well supportedA rendered, water- and fat-reduced concentrate from a named species (AAFCO, e.g., 'chicken meal'). Because most moisture is removed it is a dense protein source (poultry meals commonly around 57-69% crude protein) and it names the species for allergy avoidance.
  • Beet Pulp · ingredient 7Well supportedThe fibrous material left after sugar is extracted from sugar beets, included as a moderately fermentable fiber source (commonly around 5 to 7.5% of the diet). Controlled feeding studies show it supports firm, good-quality stools and short-chain fatty acid production without impairing overall nutrient digestibility, so the 'cheap filler' characterization is not supported by the evidence.
  • Mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin E) · ingredient 20Well supportedA blend of vitamin E forms (alpha-, beta-, gamma-, delta-tocopherol) used as a natural-source antioxidant to slow fat rancidity, commonly chosen as an alternative to synthetic preservatives. EFSA concluded that tocopherol-rich extracts are safe for all animal species and the consumer and are efficacious antioxidants in feed.

Wet ingredients like fresh salmon shrink once cooked — which is why named meals appearing high on the list matter: they keep meaningful animal protein after moisture is removed.

Nutritional twins

Priced close matches

This food has no verified price yet — these are the closest label matches that do.

36.8% protein (DM)$3.92 / 1,000 kcal
35.6% protein (DM)$1.67 / 1,000 kcal
34.6% protein (DM)$3.81 / 1,000 kcal

Label-composition matches only: same species, form, and growth stage; same primary protein where both are known; grain-free preserved; protein within 4 points and fat within 4 points, and estimated carbs within 8 points, on a dry-matter basis. Not a medical or quality recommendation.

The maker

Who makes this — and how they back it up

The four questions the WSAVA nutrition guidelines tell you to ask a pet-food company. Every answer is sourced or marked as an undisclosed gap — never guessed. This is the "is it made competently?" axis that star-rating sites skip.

Owns its manufacturing Owns its plants

Company owns and operates its own plants. (Wikipedia lists Arkansas/Minnesota/Netherlands — state naming differs by source, but both confirm company-owned manufacturing, not co-packers.)

source →
Employs a qualified nutritionist Undisclosed

Official pages refer only generically to 'veterinarians, animal nutritionists, and food scientists.' No individual named with a board-certified credential (DACVN/ACVN/ECVCN) or PhD in animal nutrition found in fetched sources; set null per rule.

source →
AAFCO feeding trials Yes — sourced

4 of 250 verified labels in our corpus carry an AAFCO feeding-trial substantiation statement.

source →
Peer-reviewed research Unmeasurable

Count of PubMed-indexed records with the entity in an author affiliation (animal/pet-domain filtered). A reproducible FLOOR, not a total: affiliation strings vary and some research is published under institute names. research_entity_affiliation is recorded only for manufacturers with a dedicated pet-nutrition research arm; brand_affiliation.count is null where the brand name is an ambiguous homonym.

Parent company Wellness Pet Company (formerly WellPet), owned by Clearlake Capital Group, L.P. Founded 1997 Headquarters / plant Tewksbury, Massachusetts, USA FDA recalls on record 1 on record

Full company scorecard, sources, and every SKU we've verified for this brand: Wellness brand page →