Home / Dog food / Blue Buffalo / BLUE Homestyle Recipe Senior Dog Beef & Vegetable Dinner

product photo
coming soon
no verified photo yet — never a mockup

Blue Buffalo · brand facts & recall history →

Blue Buffalo BLUE Homestyle Recipe Senior Dog Beef & Vegetable Dinner

Wet food · senior dogs

A formulated-to-meet, beef-first wet food from Blue Buffalo. Pricing and/or calorie data haven't been independently confirmed for this SKU yet, so cost-per-day isn't shown.

THE FACTS, ONE SENTENCE — data as JSON · reference dog 40 lb · updated 2026-07-11

Tell us about your dogevery number on this page updates live ↓
40 lb
For a 40-lb adult: 1¾ cansper day not pricedper day —bag lasts passes 2 fit checks ↓

Joint, kidney, dental or heart concerns? Labels can't honestly answer those — that's vet territory. Why we don't checkmark them →

The evidence

The Verified Label

Every food on this site gets this exact panel — same fields, same order, sourced from the official label — so brands finally become comparable. Corpus dot-anchors currently cover dry food only — this is a wet food, so anchors are omitted below rather than compared across forms.

Verified LabelThe standardized pet-food panel
VPFD № BLUE-B
verified 2026-07-11

Composition — dry-matter basis

why dry matter
Kibble is ~10% water, canned food ~78%, so as-fed numbers are on two different scales. As-fed values shown small. How the conversion works →

We only publish numbers verified from official label sources; we haven't verified this label yet. The guaranteed analysis exists on the bag — it just isn't in our verified record so far.

Protein Not yet verifiedlabel min: —% no corpus anchor for this food form
Fat Not yet verifiedlabel min: —% no corpus anchor for this food form
Fiber Not yet verifiedlabel max: —% no corpus anchor for this food form
Est. carbohydrates ash not disclosed → 8% assumed, so this is an estimate Not yet verifiedneeds protein/fat/fiber no corpus anchor for this food form
Calcium / Phosphorus extended guarantees: none verified yet Not yet verifiedcalcium/phosphorus no ratio to anchor

Calories & cost — for your 40-lb adult dog

Calorie density 527 kcal/can1489 kcal/kg no corpus anchor for this food form
Daily serving1¾ cans
Cost per day—
Bag lasts—

No cost per 1,000 kcal yet: we haven't matched this food to a current Amazon listing. Serving math uses standard veterinary energy formulas — see the formula.

Standards & ingredients

AAFCO statement
what this means
Two claims exist: formulated to meet a profile, or fed to real dogs in an AAFCO trial. Which is stronger, and how rare it is →
Formulated to meet · maintenance
First five ingredients (by pre-cooking weight)Beef · Chicken (source of Glucosamine and Chondroitin Sulfate) · Beef Broth · Carrots · Beef Liver
Named animal protein first; named meals onlyYes
Legumes in first 10 (FDA DCM inquiry)1 (peas)
BHA / BHT preservativesNone on label
Carrageenan (thickener)Yes
Ethoxyquin
why unknown
A preservative added by a fish-meal supplier need not appear on the finished label, so no label can prove its absence. Why we show gaps →
None — no fish meal in this recipe

Safety

FDA recalls — Blue Buffalo, since 2023None on record
ManufacturerNot confirmed from label
Label transparency 3 of 15 standard fields
Green = verified favorable · amber = gap in the record · red = verified unfavorable · gray = not disclosed / neutral fact.
Source: official label source (official) · anchors: 494 verified dry dog foods (360 priced) · how to read this label

The fit

For your dog, specifically

Checked for a 40-lb adult with a sensitive stomach — the same published criteria our finder uses. Change your dog above and these update.

✓
Validated for adult dogsAAFCO statement covers adult maintenance.
✓
Passes our sensitive-stomach checksNamed animal protein first, and no unnamed by-products in the ingredient list.
·
Contains chickenNot selected as a concern for your dog — shown here for reference.

The source material

The full ingredient list

Every flag above is computed from this list. Why order is by pre-cooking weight, and how splitting bends it →

Beef, Chicken (source of Glucosamine and Chondroitin Sulfate), Beef Broth, Carrots, Beef Liver, Peas, Sweet Potatoes, Fish Oil (source of DHA-Docosahexaenoic Acid), Brown Rice, Barley, Oatmeal, Flaxseed (source of Omega 3 and 6 Fatty Acids), Guar Gum, Salt, Potassium Chloride, Carrageenan, Cassia Gum, Taurine, Blueberries, Cranberries, Dried Chicory Root, Choline Chloride, Vitamin E Supplement, L-Carnitine, Zinc Amino Acid Chelate, Iron Amino Acid Chelate, Cobalt Amino Acid Chelate, Copper Amino Acid Chelate, Manganese Amino Acid Chelate, Sodium Selenite, Niacin Supplement (Vitamin B3), Calcium Pantothenate (Vitamin B5), Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Riboflavin Supplement (Vitamin B2), Vitamin A Supplement, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Biotin (Vitamin B7), Potassium Iodide, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid (Vitamin B9), preserved with Mixed Tocopherols

11 ingredients in this list are ones we hold sourced evidence on , and 2 of them are genuinely contested rather than merely unpopular online.

  • Peas · ingredient 6ContestedA pulse (legume) used in many grain-free foods as a plant protein and carbohydrate source. Peas are central to an open FDA investigation, begun in July 2018, into a possible link between diets high in peas, other pulses, and potatoes and canine dilated cardiomyopathy (DCM); 93% of reported products contained peas and/or lentils.
  • Carrageenan · ingredient 16Worth knowingA seaweed-derived (Chondrus crispus) thickener and gelling agent used mainly in some wet and canned dog foods. Low-molecular-weight 'degraded' carrageenan (poligeenan) is inflammatory in lab-animal studies and is not permitted as a food additive, but food-grade undegraded carrageenan (E 407) is authorized by regulators; EFSA's 2018 re-evaluation kept only a temporary group ADI of 75 mg/kg body weight per day pending better data, and its specific effect in dogs is unresolved.
  • Fish oil (EPA + DHA omega-3) · ingredient 8Well supportedMarine-source omega-3 fatty acids (EPA and DHA) from fish oil. A randomized, double-blinded controlled trial (Roush 2010) found improved weight-bearing in dogs with osteoarthritis, and a 2022 meta-analysis identified clear clinical analgesic efficacy for omega-3-enriched diets and supplements.
  • Mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin E) · ingredient 42Well supportedA blend of vitamin E forms (alpha-, beta-, gamma-, delta-tocopherol) used as a natural-source antioxidant to slow fat rancidity, commonly chosen as an alternative to synthetic preservatives. EFSA concluded that tocopherol-rich extracts are safe for all animal species and the consumer and are efficacious antioxidants in feed.
  • Chondroitin sulfate · ingredient 2NeutralA joint supplement usually combined with glucosamine. The same 2022 meta-analysis (Barbeau-Grégoire et al.) that examined glucosamine reported a marked non-effect of chondroitin-glucosamine nutraceuticals for osteoarthritis pain and advised against relying on them for canine and feline joint pain.
  • Sweet potato · ingredient 7NeutralA starchy root used as a carbohydrate source and a source of fiber and beta-carotene in grain-free foods (a vegetable, not a cereal grain). The FDA's 2018 DCM investigation grouped 'potatoes (including sweet potatoes)' within its ingredients of interest, but the reported cases were dominated by pulses and white potato, and evidence isolating sweet potato specifically is limited.

The maker

Who makes this — and how they back it up

The five questions the WSAVA nutrition guidelines tell you to ask a pet-food company. Every answer is sourced or marked as an undisclosed gap — never guessed. This is the "is it made competently?" axis that star-rating sites skip.

Owns its manufacturing Mixed

Same source also states: 'Blue Buffalo sources and produces everything from its own facilities or from partners across the United States.' Indicates a mix of own facilities plus third-party co-manufacturers.

source →
Employs a qualified nutritionist Yes — sourced

Blue Buffalo's professional site states doctorate-level animal nutritionists on staff. Gaylord, DVM, DACVIM (Nutrition) — a board-certified veterinary nutritionist — and Matt Panasevich, PhD, work at Blue Buffalo.

source →
AAFCO feeding trials Yes — sourced

10 of 312 labels we checked carry an AAFCO feeding-trial substantiation statement.

source →
Publishes quality-control testing Yes — sourced

covers: pathogen/bacteriology (microbiology), finished-product nutrient analysis, shelf-life. Blue Buffalo veterinary site. bluebuffalo.com/why-choose-blue/quality-and-safety/ also describes a 6-point check incl. supplier ingredient testing per shipment, not quoted.

source →
Peer-reviewed research Yes — sourced

15 PubMed papers (animal/pet filtered) list Blue Buffalo Co. (General Mills) in an author address; we checked 15 and 13 really name the company. A floor, not a total.

source →
Parent company General Mills, Inc. ↗ Founded 2002 ↗ Headquarters / plant Wilton, CT ↗ FDA recalls on record 1 on record

Full company scorecard, sources, and every SKU we've verified for this brand: Blue Buffalo brand page →