Home / Dog food / Royal Canin / Royal Canin Fresh Health Nutrition Senior Dog Food

product photo
coming soon
no verified photo yet — never a mockup

Royal Canin · brand facts & recall history →

Royal Canin Fresh Health Nutrition Senior Dog Food

Wet food · senior dogs

A formulated-to-meet wet food from Royal Canin. Pricing and/or calorie data haven't been independently confirmed for this SKU yet, so cost-per-day isn't shown.

THE FACTS, ONE SENTENCE — data as JSON · reference dog 40 lb · updated 2026-07-11

Tell us about your dogevery number on this page updates live ↓
40 lb
For a 40-lb adult: not pricedper day —bag lasts 1 pass, 1 fail fit checks ↓

Joint, kidney, dental or heart concerns? Labels can't honestly answer those — that's vet territory. Why we don't checkmark them →

The evidence

The Verified Label

Every food on this site gets this exact panel — same fields, same order, sourced from the official label — so brands finally become comparable. Corpus dot-anchors currently cover dry food only — this is a wet food, so anchors are omitted below rather than compared across forms.

Verified LabelThe standardized pet-food panel
VPFD № ROYAL-
verified 2026-07-11

Composition — dry-matter basis

why dry matter
Kibble is ~10% water, canned food ~78%, so as-fed numbers are on two different scales. As-fed values shown small. How the conversion works →
Protein 18%label: 4.6% min no corpus anchor for this food form
Fat 13.7%label: 3.5% min no corpus anchor for this food form
Fiber 7.8%label: 2% max no corpus anchor for this food form
Est. carbohydrates ash not disclosed → 8% assumed, so this is an estimate ≈48.6%computed no corpus anchor for this food form
Calcium / Phosphorus extended guarantees: Ca 0.18% Not yet verifiedcalcium/phosphorus no ratio to anchor

Calories & cost — for your 40-lb adult dog

Calorie density 1118 kcal/kgper-serving value not disclosed no corpus anchor for this food form
Daily serving—
Cost per day—
Bag lasts—

No cost per 1,000 kcal yet: we haven't matched this food to a current Amazon listing. Serving math uses standard veterinary energy formulas — see the formula.

Standards & ingredients

AAFCO statement
what this means
Two claims exist: formulated to meet a profile, or fed to real dogs in an AAFCO trial. Which is stronger, and how rare it is →
Formulated to meet · maintenance
First five ingredients (by pre-cooking weight)Brown rice · chicken · yellow squash · kale · beef
Named animal protein first; named meals onlyNo
Legumes in first 10 (FDA DCM inquiry)None
BHA / BHT preservativesNone on label
Carrageenan (thickener)None
Ethoxyquin
why unknown
A preservative added by a fish-meal supplier need not appear on the finished label, so no label can prove its absence. Why we show gaps →
None — no fish meal in this recipe

Safety

FDA recalls — Royal Canin, since 2023None on record
ManufacturerNot confirmed from label
Label transparency 8 of 15 standard fields
Green = verified favorable · amber = gap in the record · red = verified unfavorable · gray = not disclosed / neutral fact.
Source: official label source (official) · anchors: 494 verified dry dog foods (360 priced) · how to read this label

The fit

For your dog, specifically

Checked for a 40-lb adult with a sensitive stomach — the same published criteria our finder uses. Change your dog above and these update.

✓
Validated for adult dogsAAFCO statement covers adult maintenance.
✕
Does not pass our sensitive-stomach checksDoes not lead with a named animal protein. See sensitive-stomach qualifiers →
·
Contains chickenNot selected as a concern for your dog — shown here for reference.

The source material

The full ingredient list

Every flag above is computed from this list. Why order is by pre-cooking weight, and how splitting bends it →

Brown rice, chicken, yellow squash, kale, beef, vegetable oil, fish oil, calcium carbonate, vinegar, dicalcium phosphate, citric acid (a preservative), trace minerals [magnesium phosphate, zinc gluconate, iron amino acid chelate, potassium iodide, copper gluconate, manganese gluconate, selenium amino acid chelate], taurine, salt, choline bitartrate, vitamins [L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), vitamin B12 supplement, vitamin E supplement, niacin supplement, thiamine mononitrate, pyridoxine hydrochloride, riboflavin supplement, folic acid, vitamin A palmitate, vitamin D3, calcium pantothenate], glucosamine hydrochloride, marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), natural flavors, tocopherols, chondroitin sulfate

5 ingredients in this list are ones we hold sourced evidence on , and none of them is contested in the veterinary literature.

  • Fish oil (EPA + DHA omega-3) · ingredient 7Well supportedMarine-source omega-3 fatty acids (EPA and DHA) from fish oil. A randomized, double-blinded controlled trial (Roush 2010) found improved weight-bearing in dogs with osteoarthritis, and a 2022 meta-analysis identified clear clinical analgesic efficacy for omega-3-enriched diets and supplements.
  • Mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin E) · ingredient 20Well supportedA blend of vitamin E forms (alpha-, beta-, gamma-, delta-tocopherol) used as a natural-source antioxidant to slow fat rancidity, commonly chosen as an alternative to synthetic preservatives. EFSA concluded that tocopherol-rich extracts are safe for all animal species and the consumer and are efficacious antioxidants in feed.
  • Taurine (supplemental) · ingredient 13NeutralA sulfur amino acid that dogs can normally synthesize from methionine and cysteine, so it is not classically essential for them. However, some breeds (e.g., golden retrievers) and some diets are linked to low taurine status and dilated cardiomyopathy: an observational study (Ontiveros 2020) associated non-traditional, largely grain-free diets with taurine deficiency and DCM-consistent echocardiographic changes in golden retrievers, though causation and mechanism remain under investigation.
  • Glucosamine · ingredient 17NeutralA popular joint supplement, usually paired with chondroitin. A 2022 systematic review and meta-analysis (Barbeau-Grégoire et al.) found a marked non-effect of glucosamine-chondroitin products for osteoarthritis pain and recommended they no longer be relied upon for joint pain management in dogs and cats.
  • Chondroitin sulfate · ingredient 21NeutralA joint supplement usually combined with glucosamine. The same 2022 meta-analysis (Barbeau-Grégoire et al.) that examined glucosamine reported a marked non-effect of chondroitin-glucosamine nutraceuticals for osteoarthritis pain and advised against relying on them for canine and feline joint pain.

Nutritional twins

Priced close matches

This food has no verified price yet — these are the closest label matches that do.

Label-composition matches only: same species, form, and growth stage; same primary protein where both are known; grain-free preserved; protein within 4 points and fat within 4 points, and estimated carbs within 8 points, on a dry-matter basis. Not a medical or quality recommendation.

The maker

Who makes this — and how they back it up

The five questions the WSAVA nutrition guidelines tell you to ask a pet-food company. Every answer is sourced or marked as an undisclosed gap — never guessed. This is the "is it made competently?" axis that star-rating sites skip.

Owns its manufacturing Owns its plants

Owns/operates its own plants; Mars opened a new $450M Royal Canin factory in Lewisburg, Ohio in 2025 (confirmed via mars.com press release).

source →
Employs a qualified nutritionist Yes — sourced

Official Royal Canin US page explicitly states board-certified veterinary nutritionists and PhD nutritionists on staff.

source →
AAFCO feeding trials Not stated

Ambiguous: Royal Canin's answer to WSAVA's feeding-trial question says 'nutrient profiles and/or feeding trials' and does not say which retail foods had AAFCO feeding trials. every one says 'formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles' and none carries an 'animal feeding tests' statement.

source →
Publishes quality-control testing Yes — sourced

covers: ingredient testing, finished-product analysis; same page: NIRS ingredient checks and mycotoxin testing. Royal Canin US answers to WSAVA's questions.

source →
Peer-reviewed research Yes — sourced

195 PubMed papers (animal/pet filtered) list Royal Canin in an author address; we checked 195 and 189 really name the company. A floor, not a total.

source →
Parent company Mars, Incorporated (Mars Petcare) ↗ Founded 1968 ↗ Headquarters / plant Aimargues, France ↗ FDA recalls on record 2 on record

Full company scorecard, sources, and every SKU we've verified for this brand: Royal Canin brand page →