Home / Dog food / Blue Buffalo / BLUE Wilderness Adult Dog Healthy Weight Chicken with Wholesome Grains Recipe

product photo
coming soon
no verified photo yet — never a mockup

Blue Buffalo · brand facts & recall history →

Blue Buffalo BLUE Wilderness Adult Dog Healthy Weight Chicken with Wholesome Grains Recipe

Dry food · adult dogs

A formulated-to-meet, deboned-first dry food that's denser than 28% (you feed fewer cups). We don't have a cost per day for this food yet.

THE FACTS, ONE SENTENCE — data as JSON · reference dog 40 lb · updated 2026-07-11

Tell us about your dogevery number on this page updates live ↓
40 lb
For a 40-lb adult: 2¾ cupsper day not pricedper day 36 daysbag lasts passes 2 fit checks ↓

Joint, kidney, dental or heart concerns? Labels can't honestly answer those — that's vet territory. Why we don't checkmark them →

The evidence

The Verified Label

Every food on this site gets this exact panel — same fields, same order, sourced from the official label — so brands finally become comparable. Dots show where this food sits among all 494 dry foods we've verified.

Verified LabelThe standardized pet-food panel
VPFD № BLUE-B
verified 2026-07-11

Composition — dry-matter basis

why dry matter
Kibble is ~10% water, canned food ~78%, so as-fed numbers are on two different scales. As-fed values shown small. How the conversion works →
Protein 33.3%label: 30% min higher than 75% of dry foods
Fat 11.1%label: 10% min lower than 93% of dry foods
Fiber 11.1%label: 10% max higher than 98% of dry foods
Est. carbohydrates ash not disclosed → 8% assumed, so this is an estimate ≈35.6%computed anchor available once more brands disclose ash
Calcium / Phosphorus extended guarantees: Ca 1.4% · P 0.9% · Ω-3 0.5% 1.56 : 1ratio, as fed within the AAFCO adult range (1:1 – 2:1)

Calories & cost — for your 40-lb adult dog

Calorie density 357 kcal/cup3303 kcal/kg lighter than 72% of dry foods (median 388) — you feed more cups
Daily serving2¾ cups
Cost per day—
24-lb bag lasts36 days

No cost per 1,000 kcal yet: we haven't matched this food to a current Amazon listing. Serving math uses standard veterinary energy formulas — see the formula.

Standards & ingredients

AAFCO statement
what this means
Two claims exist: formulated to meet a profile, or fed to real dogs in an AAFCO trial. Which is stronger, and how rare it is →
Formulated to meet · maintenance
First five ingredients (by pre-cooking weight)Deboned Chicken · Chicken Meal (source of Chondroitin Sulfate) · Dried Chicken · Oatmeal · Barley
Named animal protein first; named meals onlyYes
Legumes in first 10 (FDA DCM inquiry)None
BHA / BHT preservativesNone on label
Carrageenan (thickener)None
Ethoxyquin
why unknown
A preservative added by a fish-meal supplier need not appear on the finished label, so no label can prove its absence. Why we show gaps →
Can't be determined from label

Safety

FDA recalls — Blue Buffalo, since 2023None on record
ManufacturerNot confirmed from label
Label transparency 11 of 15 standard fields
Green = verified favorable · amber = gap in the record · red = verified unfavorable · gray = not disclosed / neutral fact.
Source: official label source (official) · anchors: 494 verified dry dog foods (360 priced) · how to read this label

The fit

For your dog, specifically

Checked for a 40-lb adult with a sensitive stomach — the same published criteria our finder uses. Change your dog above and these update.

✓
Validated for adult dogsAAFCO statement covers adult maintenance.
✓
Passes our sensitive-stomach checksNamed animal protein first, and no unnamed by-products in the ingredient list.
·
Contains chickenNot selected as a concern for your dog — shown here for reference.

The source material

The full ingredient list

Every flag above is computed from this list. Why order is by pre-cooking weight, and how splitting bends it →

Deboned Chicken, Chicken Meal (source of Chondroitin Sulfate), Dried Chicken, Oatmeal, Barley, Potatoes, Brown Rice, Fish Meal (source of Omega 3 Fatty Acids), Powdered Cellulose, Natural Flavor, Chicken Fat (preserved with Mixed Tocopherols), Flaxseed (source of Omega 6 Fatty Acids), Potassium Chloride, Direct Dehydrated Alfalfa Pellets, Dried Tomato Pomace, Dicalcium Phosphate, L-Threonine, Calcium Carbonate, Alfalfa Nutrient Concentrate, Dried Chicory Root, DL-Methionine, Choline Chloride, Salt, preserved with Mixed Tocopherols, Sweet Potatoes, Carrots, Taurine, L-Carnitine, Zinc Amino Acid Chelate, Zinc Sulfate, Vegetable Juice for color, Ferrous Sulfate, Vitamin E Supplement, Iron Amino Acid Chelate, Blueberries, Cranberries, Barley Grass, Parsley, Turmeric, Dried Kelp, Yucca Schidigera Extract, Niacin (Vitamin B3), Calcium Pantothenate (Vitamin B5), L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of Vitamin C), L-Lysine, Copper Sulfate, Biotin (Vitamin B7), Vitamin A Supplement, Copper Amino Acid Chelate, Manganese Sulfate, Manganese Amino Acid Chelate, Glucosamine Hydrochloride, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Vitamin D3 Supplement, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Calcium Iodate, Dried Yeast, Dried Enterococcus faecium fermentation product, Dried Lactobacillus acidophilus fermentation product, Dried Aspergillus niger fermentation extract, Dried Trichoderma longibrachiatum fermentation extract, Dried Bacillus subtilis fermentation extract, Folic Acid (Vitamin B9), Sodium Selenite, Oil of Rosemary

14 ingredients in this list are ones we hold sourced evidence on , and 1 of them is genuinely contested rather than merely unpopular online.

  • Potato · ingredient 6ContestedA starchy tuber used as the carbohydrate base in many grain-free foods (it is a vegetable, not a cereal grain). The FDA's open 2018 investigation into diet-associated canine DCM listed potatoes 'in various forms' as main ingredients of interest alongside pulses such as peas and lentils.
  • Named Muscle Meat (e.g., Deboned Chicken, Beef, Salmon) · ingredient 1Well supportedA named fresh muscle meat identifies both the species and that it is clean flesh (AAFCO defines 'meat' as the clean flesh of a specified slaughtered mammal, and 'poultry' as clean flesh and skin). Naming the species is what lets an owner verify a protein for allergy avoidance.
  • Named Meat/Poultry Meal (e.g., Chicken Meal, Lamb Meal) · ingredient 8Well supportedA rendered, water- and fat-reduced concentrate from a named species (AAFCO, e.g., 'chicken meal'). Because most moisture is removed it is a dense protein source (poultry meals commonly around 57-69% crude protein) and it names the species for allergy avoidance.
  • Mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin E) · ingredient 11Well supportedA blend of vitamin E forms (alpha-, beta-, gamma-, delta-tocopherol) used as a natural-source antioxidant to slow fat rancidity, commonly chosen as an alternative to synthetic preservatives. EFSA concluded that tocopherol-rich extracts are safe for all animal species and the consumer and are efficacious antioxidants in feed.
  • Rosemary extract · ingredient 67Well supportedA plant-derived natural antioxidant (active compounds carnosic acid and carnosol) used to slow fat oxidation, frequently chosen as an alternative to synthetic preservatives. It is an authorized food antioxidant in the EU (E 392); JECFA established a temporary acceptable daily intake for rosemary extract expressed as carnosic acid plus carnosol.
  • Chondroitin sulfate · ingredient 2NeutralA joint supplement usually combined with glucosamine. The same 2022 meta-analysis (Barbeau-Grégoire et al.) that examined glucosamine reported a marked non-effect of chondroitin-glucosamine nutraceuticals for osteoarthritis pain and advised against relying on them for canine and feline joint pain.

Wet ingredients like fresh deboned chicken shrink once cooked — which is why named meals appearing high on the list matter: they keep meaningful animal protein after moisture is removed.

Nutritional twins

Priced close matches

This food has no verified price yet — these are the closest label matches that do.

Label-composition matches only: same species, form, and growth stage; same primary protein where both are known; grain-free preserved; protein within 4 points and fat within 4 points, and estimated carbs within 8 points, on a dry-matter basis. Not a medical or quality recommendation.

The maker

Who makes this — and how they back it up

The five questions the WSAVA nutrition guidelines tell you to ask a pet-food company. Every answer is sourced or marked as an undisclosed gap — never guessed. This is the "is it made competently?" axis that star-rating sites skip.

Owns its manufacturing Mixed

Same source also states: 'Blue Buffalo sources and produces everything from its own facilities or from partners across the United States.' Indicates a mix of own facilities plus third-party co-manufacturers.

source →
Employs a qualified nutritionist Yes — sourced

Blue Buffalo's professional site states doctorate-level animal nutritionists on staff. Gaylord, DVM, DACVIM (Nutrition) — a board-certified veterinary nutritionist — and Matt Panasevich, PhD, work at Blue Buffalo.

source →
AAFCO feeding trials Yes — sourced

10 of 312 labels we checked carry an AAFCO feeding-trial substantiation statement.

source →
Publishes quality-control testing Yes — sourced

covers: pathogen/bacteriology (microbiology), finished-product nutrient analysis, shelf-life. Blue Buffalo veterinary site. bluebuffalo.com/why-choose-blue/quality-and-safety/ also describes a 6-point check incl. supplier ingredient testing per shipment, not quoted.

source →
Peer-reviewed research Yes — sourced

15 PubMed papers (animal/pet filtered) list Blue Buffalo Co. (General Mills) in an author address; we checked 15 and 13 really name the company. A floor, not a total.

source →
Parent company General Mills, Inc. ↗ Founded 2002 ↗ Headquarters / plant Wilton, CT ↗ FDA recalls on record 1 on record

Full company scorecard, sources, and every SKU we've verified for this brand: Blue Buffalo brand page →