Home / Dog food / Royal Canin / Royal Canin German Shepherd Puppy Dry Dog Food

product photo
coming soon
no verified photo yet — never a mockup

Royal Canin · brand facts & recall history →

Royal Canin German Shepherd Puppy Dry Dog Food

Dry food · puppy dogs

A formulated-to-meet, chicken-first dry food that's denser than 13% (you feed fewer cups). We don't have a cost per day for this food yet.

THE FACTS, ONE SENTENCE — data as JSON · reference dog 40 lb · updated 2026-07-11

Tell us about your dogevery number on this page updates live ↓
40 lb
For a 40-lb adult: 3 cupsper day not pricedper day 50 daysbag lasts 1 pass, 1 fail fit checks ↓

Joint, kidney, dental or heart concerns? Labels can't honestly answer those — that's vet territory. Why we don't checkmark them →

The evidence

The Verified Label

Every food on this site gets this exact panel — same fields, same order, sourced from the official label — so brands finally become comparable. Dots show where this food sits among all 494 dry foods we've verified.

Verified LabelThe standardized pet-food panel
VPFD № ROYAL-
verified 2026-07-11

Composition — dry-matter basis

why dry matter
Kibble is ~10% water, canned food ~78%, so as-fed numbers are on two different scales. As-fed values shown small. How the conversion works →
Protein 31.3%label: 28% min typical — the median dry food is 30%
Fat 15.6%label: 14% min typical — the median dry food is 16.7%
Fiber 4.4%label: 3.9% max lower than 69% of dry foods
Est. carbohydrates ash not disclosed → 8% assumed, so this is an estimate ≈39.8%computed anchor available once more brands disclose ash
Calcium / Phosphorus extended guarantees: Ca 1.08% · P 0.9% 1.20 : 1ratio, as fed within the AAFCO adult range (1:1 – 2:1)

Calories & cost — for your 40-lb adult dog

Calorie density 331 kcal/cup3639 kcal/kg lighter than 87% of dry foods (median 388) — you feed more cups
Daily serving3 cups
Cost per day—
30-lb bag lasts50 days

No cost per 1,000 kcal yet: we haven't matched this food to a current Amazon listing. Serving math uses standard veterinary energy formulas — see the formula.

Standards & ingredients

AAFCO statement
what this means
Two claims exist: formulated to meet a profile, or fed to real dogs in an AAFCO trial. Which is stronger, and how rare it is →
Formulated to meet · growth
First five ingredients (by pre-cooking weight)Chicken by-product meal · corn · wheat gluten · oat groats · brewers rice
Named animal protein first; named meals onlyYes
Legumes in first 10 (FDA DCM inquiry)None
BHA / BHT preservativesNone on label
Carrageenan (thickener)None
Ethoxyquin
why unknown
A preservative added by a fish-meal supplier need not appear on the finished label, so no label can prove its absence. Why we show gaps →
None — no fish meal in this recipe

Safety

FDA recalls — Royal Canin, since 2023None on record
ManufacturerNot confirmed from label
Label transparency 9 of 15 standard fields
Green = verified favorable · amber = gap in the record · red = verified unfavorable · gray = not disclosed / neutral fact.
Source: official label source (official) · anchors: 494 verified dry dog foods (360 priced) · how to read this label

The fit

For your dog, specifically

Checked for a 40-lb adult with a sensitive stomach — the same published criteria our finder uses. Change your dog above and these update.

✕
Not validated for adult maintenanceThe AAFCO statement on file covers growth only.
✓
Passes our sensitive-stomach checksNamed animal protein first, and no unnamed by-products in the ingredient list.
·
Contains chickenNot selected as a concern for your dog — shown here for reference.

The source material

The full ingredient list

Every flag above is computed from this list. Why order is by pre-cooking weight, and how splitting bends it →

Chicken by-product meal, corn, wheat gluten, oat groats, brewers rice, chicken fat, brewers rice flour, brown rice, natural flavors, dried plain beet pulp, corn protein meal, sodium aluminosilicate, monocalcium phosphate, fish oil, vegetable oil, pea fiber, calcium carbonate, potassium chloride, powdered psyllium seed husk, vitamins[DL-alpha tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), L-ascorbyl-2-polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), niacin supplement, D-calcium pantothenate, biotin, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin B6), riboflavin supplement, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), vitamin A acetate, vitamin B12 supplement, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement], fructooligosaccharides, sodium tripolyphosphate, salt, yeast extract, DL-methionine, choline chloride, rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid, taurine, L-lysine, glucosamine hydrochloride, trace minerals[zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, manganese proteinate, manganous oxide, copper sulfate, sodium selenite, calcium iodate, copper proteinate], marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), Yucca schidigera extract, carotene, chondroitin sulfate

13 ingredients in this list are ones we hold sourced evidence on , and 1 of them is genuinely contested rather than merely unpopular online.

  • Peas · ingredient 16ContestedA pulse (legume) used in many grain-free foods as a plant protein and carbohydrate source. Peas are central to an open FDA investigation, begun in July 2018, into a possible link between diets high in peas, other pulses, and potatoes and canine dilated cardiomyopathy (DCM); 93% of reported products contained peas and/or lentils.
  • Beet Pulp · ingredient 10Well supportedThe fibrous material left after sugar is extracted from sugar beets, included as a moderately fermentable fiber source (commonly around 5 to 7.5% of the diet). Controlled feeding studies show it supports firm, good-quality stools and short-chain fatty acid production without impairing overall nutrient digestibility, so the 'cheap filler' characterization is not supported by the evidence.
  • Fish oil (EPA + DHA omega-3) · ingredient 14Well supportedMarine-source omega-3 fatty acids (EPA and DHA) from fish oil. A randomized, double-blinded controlled trial (Roush 2010) found improved weight-bearing in dogs with osteoarthritis, and a 2022 meta-analysis identified clear clinical analgesic efficacy for omega-3-enriched diets and supplements.
  • Rosemary extract · ingredient 27Well supportedA plant-derived natural antioxidant (active compounds carnosic acid and carnosol) used to slow fat oxidation, frequently chosen as an alternative to synthetic preservatives. It is an authorized food antioxidant in the EU (E 392); JECFA established a temporary acceptable daily intake for rosemary extract expressed as carnosic acid plus carnosol.
  • Mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin E) · ingredient 28Well supportedA blend of vitamin E forms (alpha-, beta-, gamma-, delta-tocopherol) used as a natural-source antioxidant to slow fat rancidity, commonly chosen as an alternative to synthetic preservatives. EFSA concluded that tocopherol-rich extracts are safe for all animal species and the consumer and are efficacious antioxidants in feed.
  • By-Product Meal (Meat / Poultry By-Product Meal) · ingredient 1NeutralA rendered concentrate made from clean, non-muscle parts of the carcass (organs, necks, feet, and similar), defined by AAFCO. It is more variable and lower-transparency than a named muscle meal, but it is not inherently unsafe or low-nutrition: controlled feeding trials in dogs report high protein digestibility (roughly 92-95%) for poultry by-product-based diets, and some by-product organs are nutrient-dense.

Nutritional twins

Priced close matches

This food has no verified price yet — these are the closest label matches that do.

IAMS™ PUPPY LARGE BREEDsame maker family
31.1% protein (DM)$0.70 / 1,000 kcal
31.1% protein (DM)$2.39 / 1,000 kcal

Label-composition matches only: same species, form, and growth stage; same primary protein where both are known; grain-free preserved; protein within 4 points and fat within 4 points, and estimated carbs within 8 points, on a dry-matter basis. Not a medical or quality recommendation.

The maker

Who makes this — and how they back it up

The five questions the WSAVA nutrition guidelines tell you to ask a pet-food company. Every answer is sourced or marked as an undisclosed gap — never guessed. This is the "is it made competently?" axis that star-rating sites skip.

Owns its manufacturing Owns its plants

Owns/operates its own plants; Mars opened a new $450M Royal Canin factory in Lewisburg, Ohio in 2025 (confirmed via mars.com press release).

source →
Employs a qualified nutritionist Yes — sourced

Official Royal Canin US page explicitly states board-certified veterinary nutritionists and PhD nutritionists on staff.

source →
AAFCO feeding trials Not stated

Ambiguous: Royal Canin's answer to WSAVA's feeding-trial question says 'nutrient profiles and/or feeding trials' and does not say which retail foods had AAFCO feeding trials. every one says 'formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles' and none carries an 'animal feeding tests' statement.

source →
Publishes quality-control testing Yes — sourced

covers: ingredient testing, finished-product analysis; same page: NIRS ingredient checks and mycotoxin testing. Royal Canin US answers to WSAVA's questions.

source →
Peer-reviewed research Yes — sourced

195 PubMed papers (animal/pet filtered) list Royal Canin in an author address; we checked 195 and 189 really name the company. A floor, not a total.

source →
Parent company Mars, Incorporated (Mars Petcare) ↗ Founded 1968 ↗ Headquarters / plant Aimargues, France ↗ FDA recalls on record 2 on record

Full company scorecard, sources, and every SKU we've verified for this brand: Royal Canin brand page →